MGH Guides: Community Health Collection: Home

Welcome!

The Community Health Collection is located on the 4th floor of Building 38, with entries on 2nd and 3rd (ramp access) Avenues. Your IHP ID badge will give you access in the elevator. If you would like help exploring the collection, please send an email to librarian@mghihp.edu.

Borrowing: Self-service check-out allows you to borrow anytime the library is open. Please use the self-checkout station to borrow items and the drop-box near the elevator to return items.

Hours:

Monday-Friday, 7AM-10PM
Saturday, 8AM-10PM
Sunday, 11AM-10PM

With a librarian, by appointment.

For questions, or set up an appointment: librarian@mghihp.edu.

What is the Community Health Collection?

The Community Health Collection is a small collection of resources that support health promotion projects and community health outreach programs. In addition to 1000+ books, the library has interactive models, posters, curriculums, and more that you can borrow to bring on site for your program.

Search the Collection

Books are the majority of the collection. We have handbooks, story books, reference books, biographies, research, directories and more. For a complete list of subjects that we collect, please click here.
	Visual Aids are materials like posters, 3-dimensional models, flip charts, and displays.
Curricula are available in a number of subjects, and most are intended for child and adolescent audiences. They often include worksheets, activity ideas, and media supplements.
	Kits are a unique resource type that combine items such as visual aids, pamphlets, curricula, etc. into a single package of materials that complement each other.
A limited number of Games are available for certain subjects. These resources may be board games, card games, etc.
	The library also has some DVDs available.

Essential Web Resources

These websites are authoritative sources for ideas and printable handouts.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time.

Community and Public Health Journals

Some of these resources are available only to MGH staff and students.

Journal of Community Health
- This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Community Health, a peer-reviewed publication, offers original articles on the practice, teaching, and research of community health. Coverage includes preventive medicine, new forms of health manpower, analysis of environmental factors, delivery of health care services, and the study of health maintenance and health insurance programs.
American Journal of Public Health
- This link opens in a new window
The American Journal of Public Health is a monthly peer-reviewed public health journal published by the American Public Health Association covering health policy and public health.
Health Education Research
- This link opens in a new window
Publishing original, refereed papers, Health Education Research deals with all the vital issues involved in health education and promotion worldwide - providing a valuable link between the health education research and practice communities
Family & Community Health
- This link opens in a new window
Family & Community Health is a quarterly journal that aims to advance the science of understanding and addressing health inequities among marginalized and vulnerable populations. Despite many existing definitions of health inequity, what is common across them is that differences in risk, incidence, prevalence, treatment, or outcomes between defined populations are systematic, preventable, and unjust.
Journal of Urban Health
- This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Urban Health is the premier and authoritative source of rigorous analyses to advance the health and well-being of people in cities. The Journal provides a platform for interdisciplinary exploration of the evidence base for the broader determinants of health and health inequities needed to strengthen policies, programs, and governance for urban health.