Skip to main content

NP-732 Primary Care Across the Lifespan

Selecting a Search Engine

Different databases specialize in different types of literature and disciplines.  Here are descriptions of databases that may be helpful to you for this assignment.  Look for the team designation next to each database to know if this one is right for your topic.

 

Pubmed Home Page (Teams 1-4)

The place every health professional and medical research goes to find literature.  It includes Medline as well as more life sciences journal and book citations.  This version will also link directly to Treadwell Library's eJournal subscriptions.  Need help with searching?

 

CINAHL Home Page (Teams 1-4)

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature can be a great supplement to PubMed for health professions literature.  It contains a combination of both scholarly research articles as well as articles from trade publications.  Need help with searching?

.

 (Teams 1 and 4)

Created by the American Psychogical Association, it is the premier database for psychological, behavioral, and developmental topics. Need help with searching?

 

National Guideline Clearinghouse Logo (Teams 1-4) 

A database of clinical practice guidelines created by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, and division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Tutorial LibGuides

Visit the LibGuides for these databases to find useful tutorials.

PubMed Libguide Logo

*******************************

CINAHL LibGuide Logo



Ovid Libguide Logo

   (Medline, PsycInfo, Ovid Nursing)