MGH Guides: Tobacco Cessation: Tobacco Cessation

Tobacco Cessation

There are a variety of materials available in the library to support smoking cessation campaigns, presentations, or projects. Curricula, models, and posters are just some of the resources pictured here. To see more, visit the library or contact a librarian to set up a consultation.

Tobacco and Smoking Use

Journals

Tobacco Control
Covers the nature and consequences of tobacco use worldwide; each issue contains a section dedicated to tobacco control in low and middle income countries supported by Bloomberg and the Gates Foundation.
Tobacco Use Insights
Tobacco Use Insights is an international, peer reviewed, open access journal that looks at all aspects of the health impacts of tobacco use and smoking cessation. The journal is multidisciplinary and includes research from the social, psychological, epidemiological, prevention, economic, and treatment arenas.

E-Books

Handbook of Smoking and Health
This new book presents and discusses current research in the study of smoking habits and the various health effects which arise due to this activity. Topics discussed include pharmacotherapies for smoking cessation; tobacco use by adolescents and young adults; genetic susceptibility to second-hand smoke; passive smoking in oral health research; influence of smoking during pregnancy on newborn health; teenage smoking and parental awareness; lung cancer in a perspective of evolutionary and dietary habits and the effects of cigarette smoking on the human plasma tocopherols levels.
Nicotine Addiction: Prevention, Health Effects and Treatment Options
Smoking tobacco presents serious social problems with major impacts on public health. It is estimated that 25-30% of the general population in western countries are currently smoking. Tobacco use is the major preventable cause of death in the United States, responsible for more than 400,000 deaths annually. Within the USA and Europe, 70% of all smokers have tried to quit smoking at least once, but only about 6% of these succeeded in maintaining abstinence. This book covers the latest nicotine-related research. The selection of chapters has a certain unity as physiologic, pathologic and psychological themes run through the book and supply the logical connections between the various authors. This work is intended as a contribution to the reversal of the current tobacco epidemic and thereby to preventing many of the deaths attributable to tobacco predicted in this century.
Smoking Prevention and Cessation
Smoking was and remains one of the most important public healthcare issues. It is estimated that every year six million people die as a result of tobacco consumption. Several diseases are caused or worsened by smoking: different cancer types, heart disease, stroke, lung diseases and others. In this book we describe the different toxic effects of smoke on the human body in active and in passive smokers. It is also well known that many people who smoke wish to quit, but they rarely succeed. Smoking prevention and cessation are of utmost importance, thus we also describe different strategies and aspects of these issues. We hope that this book will help readers to understand better the effects of smoking and learn about new ideas on how to effectively help other people to stop smoking.

Online Data on Tobacco Use

CDC Data and Statistics
Access to fact sheets, survey data, and other resources about tobacco cessation and tobacco control programs.
HHS Tobacco Reports and Publications
The website provides links to reports by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of the Surgeon General with information about smoking cessation, preventing tobacco use, and more.
Youth Tobacco Use: Results from the National Youth Tobacco Survey
This survey looked at the use of e-cigarettes in middle and high school students. It reports the frequency and reasons why students uses it.
NCD Facts and Data on Tobacco Use
The NCD Alliance provides data and factors regarding the health impacts of the tobacco epidemic, new challenges, and hopes for tobacco control.

Health Effects of Smoking

Online Resources

Health Effects of Cigarette Smoking
This CDC website has the health effects broken down by categories such as respiratory disease, cardiovascular disease, and cancer.
Health Risks of Smoking Tobacco
This American Cancer Society Website has information about the variety of different cancers that can be caused by smoking tobacco, as well as the other effects to the body such as COPD and emphysema.
Why You Should Quit-- Health Effects
This website is dedicated to going through all of the ways that smoking effects the different parts of the body. It not only covers aspects such as lung cancer and heart disease, but also addresses the effects on hormones, the eyes, etc.

Models, Kits, and Posters in the Library's Collection

Models

Model of Lung of Smoker

Smoked lung

Model of Healthy Lung

Healthy lung

Posters

Poster of Human Body with Written Effects of Smoking

Harmful Effects of Smoking

Poster with 12 Facts about Smoking

Facts About Smoking

Poster Comparing Healthy Lung to a Smoker's Lung

How Smoking Affects Your Lungs

X-Ray of Teeth and Warning of Effects of Smoking

Smoking Causes Gum Disease

Smoke cloud and warning about chemicals inside it

Chemicals in Cigarette Smoke

Kits

Model of a tobacco-damaged mouth with accessories

Tobacco-damaged Mouth

Tobacco Cessation Interventions and Services

Evidence

State Medicaid Coverage for Tobacco Cessation Treatments and Barriers to Accessing Treatments - United States, 2008-2018.
DiGiulio, A., Jump, Z., Babb, S., Schecter, A., Williams, K.-A. S., Yembra, D., & Armour, B. S. (2020). State Medicaid coverage for tobacco cessation treatments and barriers to accessing treatments - United States, 2008-2018. MMWR. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, 69(6), 155–160. https://doi.org/10.15585/mmwr.mm6906a2
The Utilization of National Tobacco Cessation Services among Female Smokers and the Need for a Gender-Responsive Approach.
Lee, A., Lee, K.-S., Lee, D., Ahn, H., Lee, H.-K., Kim, H., Lee, J., & Seo, H.-G. (2021). The Utilization of National Tobacco Cessation Services among Female Smokers and the Need for a Gender-Responsive Approach. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 18(10). https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph18105313
Interventions for Tobacco Cessation in Adults, Including Pregnant Persons: Updated Evidence Report and Systematic Review for the US Preventive Services Task Force.
Patnode, C. D., Henderson, J. T., Coppola, E. L., Melnikow, J., Durbin, S., & Thomas, R. G. (2021). Interventions for Tobacco Cessation in Adults, Including Pregnant Persons: Updated Evidence Report and Systematic Review for the US Preventive Services Task Force. JAMA, 325(3), 280–298. https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2020.23541
Multidisciplinary barriers to addressing tobacco cessation during an inpatient psychiatric hospitalization.
Schnitzer, K., AhnAllen, C. G., Beck, S., Oliveira, Y., Fromson, J. A., & Evins, A. E. (2021). Multidisciplinary barriers to addressing tobacco cessation during an inpatient psychiatric hospitalization. Addictive Behaviors, 120, 106988. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.addbeh.2021.106988
Community pharmacy technicians’ engagement in the delivery of brief tobacco cessation interventions: Results of a randomized trial
Corelli, R. L., Merchant, K. R., Hilts, K. E., Kroon, L. A., Vatanka, P., Hille, B. T., & Hudmon, K. S. (2022). Community pharmacy technicians’ engagement in the delivery of brief tobacco cessation interventions: Results of a randomized trial. Research in Social and Administrative Pharmacy, 18(7), 3158–3163. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.sapharm.2021.09.001

Online Resources

American Heart Association Resources
The American Heart Association has compiled a list of resources, both online and via phone, as well as information about the different medications and other intervention programs.
CVS Minute Clinic
CVS has put together its own smoking cessation intervention program through its minute clinic.
Smokefree
This website was created by the National Cancer Institute and is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It has access to many types of information for people who have quit recently or are looking to quit. They also have separate information for veterans, women, teenagers, and older adults.
Smoking Cessation Materials
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) website
Tobacco Free Life
Information for patients trying to quit smoking from the Tobacco Free Life Organization.

Vaping/E-Cigarettes and Smoking Cessation

Evidence

Understanding decisions to use e‐cigarettes or behavioural support to quit tobacco: a qualitative study of current and ex‐smokers and stop smoking service staff.
Hartwell, G., Egan, M., & Petticrew, M. (2020). Understanding decisions to use e‐cigarettes or behavioural support to quit tobacco: a qualitative study of current and ex‐smokers and stop smoking service staff. Addiction, 115(3), 518–526. https://doi.org/10.1111/add.14844
Flavor and Nicotine Effects on E-cigarette Appeal in Young Adults: Moderation by Reason for Vaping.
Leventhal, A. M., Mason, T. B., Cwalina, S. N., Whitted, L., Anderson, M. K., & Callahan, C. E. (2020). Flavor and Nicotine Effects on E-cigarette Appeal in Young Adults: Moderation by Reason for Vaping. American Journal of Health Behavior, 44(5), 732–743. https://doi.org/10.5993/AJHB.44.5.15
A Qualitative Study of Factors Influencing Adherence among Pregnant Women Taking Part in a Trial of E-Cigarettes for Smoking Cessation.
Ford, A., Uny, I., Lowes, J., Naughton, F., Cooper, S., Coleman, T., Hajek, P., Przulj, D., Myers Smith, K., Bauld, L., Sinclair, L., Walton, R., Clark, M., & Ussher, M. (2021). A Qualitative Study of Factors Influencing Adherence among Pregnant Women Taking Part in a Trial of E-Cigarettes for Smoking Cessation. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 18(2). https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph18020430
Do the associations between the use of electronic cigarettes and smoking reduction or cessation attempt persist after several years of use? Longitudinal analyses in smokers of the CONSTANCES cohort.
Airagnes, G., Lemogne, C., Le Faou, A.-L., Matta, J., Romanello, L., Wiernik, E., Melchior, M., Goldberg, M., Limosin, F., & Zins, M. (2021). Do the associations between the use of electronic cigarettes and smoking reduction or cessation attempt persist after several years of use? Longitudinal analyses in smokers of the CONSTANCES cohort. Addictive Behaviors, 117, 106843. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.addbeh.2021.106843
Are electronic cigarettes and vaping effective tools for smoking cessation? Limited evidence on surgical outcomes: a narrative review.
Famiglietti, A., Wang Memoli, J., & Gaur Khaitan, P. (2021). Are electronic cigarettes and vaping effective tools for smoking cessation? Limited evidence on surgical outcomes: a narrative review. Journal of Thoracic Disease, 13(1), 384–395. https://doi.org/10.21037/jtd-20-2529
Delivering vaping cessation interventions to adolescents and young adults on Instagram: protocol for a randomized controlled trial
Joanne Chen Lyu, Sarah S. Olson, Danielle E. Ramo, & Pamela M. Ling. (2022). Delivering vaping cessation interventions to adolescents and young adults on Instagram: protocol for a randomized controlled trial. BMC Public Health, 22(1), 1–10. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1186/s12889-022-14606-7

Online Resources

Adult Smoking Cessation—The Use of E-Cigarettes
This CDC website describes evidence related to the use of vaping products/e-cigarettes in order to quit smoking. They also include proven strategies to help quit smoking.
E-cigarettes: effective cessation tool or new gateway to smoking tobacco?
This Union for International Cancer Control's article discusses studies that look at the safety of vaping products/e-cigarettes, as well as their position as to whether these products should be banned.
Smoking Cessation/E-Cigarettes
This is an article covers topics about smoking cessation like nicotine replacement therapy, pharmacotherapy, and e-cigarettes.

FDA Campaign - The Real Cost

The FDA has launched a new multimedia campaign to prevent youth smoking. TheRealCost.gov seeks to reduce the number of teens who experiment with smoking and become lifelong tobacco users. It uses a thoroughly researched ad campaign and scientific facts to convey the negative impacts of smoking on health.

Smoking Cessation Apps

The following are apps that can be used with clients to assist in developing and maintaining a healthy lifestyle:

quitSTART
This app allows the user to record moods and cravings for a cigarette. This app tracks smoking-cessation performance in graphs and in a history list and helps to identify factors that trigger the desire to smoke. This app provides tips and virtual rewards for staying smoke free.
Smoke Free
This app provides advice on quitting smoking. The app records and displays the amount of money that the user has saved by not smoking, the number of days the user has remained smoke free, and the number of cigarettes that would otherwise have been smoked. This app provides information on the user's energy levels, information on the condition of the user's circulatory system, and on the user's potential respiratory problems. There is also a 'diary' function that encourages the user to record simple smoke-related personal facts.