"Principal Investigators and their institutions are responsible for ensuring all terms and conditions of awards are met. This includes the submission of final peer-reviewed manuscripts that arise directly from their awards, even if they are not an author or co-author of the paper. Principal Investigators and their institutions should ensure that authors are aware of and comply with the NIH Public Access Policy. -NIH
NIH Public Access Policy Dates
April 7, 2008 Policy Begins - All peer reviewed papers arising from NIH funds must be deposited into PubMed Central upon acceptance of publication.
May 25, 2008 Citing PMCID's - All NIH applications, proposals and progress reports must include the PubMed Central ID # (PMCID) when citing an article that arose from NIH grant(s).
August 21, 2009 NIHMS ID's become valid for 3 months - The NIHMS ID(NIH Manuscript Submission), assigned when the deposit process is started, is only valid for three months post-publication.
August 1, 2010 Using MyNCBI with eSNAP - NIH requires the use of the MyNCBI tool for managing publications in eSNAP Progress Reports.
July 18, 2011 MyNCBI NIH Login Link - When logging into MyNCBI, you will need to use the NIH login option and your eRA Commons Credentials.
July 7, 2013 Non-Compliant Funding delays - The NIH will begin to hold processing of non-competing continuation awards if publications arising from grant awards are not in compliance with the public access policy.
The NIH Public Access Policy ensures that the public has access to the published results of NIH-funded research. It requires scientists to submit the final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to the digital archive PubMed Central upon acceptance for publication. To help advance science and improve human health, the policy requires that these papers are accessible to the public on PubMed Central no later than 12 months after publication.
*from the NIH Public Access Homepage
How to Comply
There are 5 steps that need to be addressed to comply with Public Access Policy:
- Determine Applicability
- Address Copyright
- Deposit Paper into NIHMS Upon Acceptance
- Cite Appropriately
- Monitor Compliance
PubMed vs. PubMed Central
- Is a free database of searchable biomedical science citations/abstracts.
- Is an index of paper abstracts.
- PMIDs (PubMed IDs) link to abstracts in PubMed.
PMC (PubMed Central):
- Is an index of full text papers.
- Is an archive of biomedical & life sciences NIH-funded research.
- PMCIDs (PubMed Central IDs) link to full text papers in PubMed Central.