MGH Guides: Veterans: Veterans

Veterans

These resources can be helpful for clinicians working with veterans and/or their families. Read more to learn about veteran population data, the evidence on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and traumatic brain injury (TBI), and home base trainings.

Veteran Population Data

National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics
From the U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs, this website provides veteran population information by state, as well as for the country. It also includes information in the form of infographics.
U.S. Census Bureau Veterans
This website includes demographic, social, and economic data on veterans collected by the Census Bureau.
The Changing Face of America's Veteran Population
From the Pew Research Center, a 2017 article about the changing demographics of veterans in the U.S.
USA Facts of Veterans
Provides veteran population data including unemployment rates and educational attainment as well as government spending on veterans.

Health Disparities in Veterans

Evaluation of disparities in impact of mental health intensive case management on 6-month symptoms, functioning, and quality of life between black and white veterans diagnosed with schizophrenia
Browne, J., & Mohamed, S. (2021). Evaluation of disparities in impact of mental health intensive case management on 6-month symptoms, functioning, and quality of life between black and white veterans diagnosed with schizophrenia. Schizophrenia Research. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.schres.2021.07.002
Assessing the Well-being of Sexual Minority Soldiers at a Military Academic Institution.
McDonald, J. L., Ganulin, M. L., Dretsch, M. N., Taylor, M. R., & Cabrera, O. A. (2020). Assessing the Well-being of Sexual Minority Soldiers at a Military Academic Institution. Military Medicine, 185, 342–347. https://doi.org/10.1093/milmed/usz198
Evaluation of a collaborative VA network initiative to reduce racial disparities in blood pressure control among veterans with severe hypertension
Burkitt, K. H., Rodriguez, K. L., Mor, M. K., Fine, M. J., Clark, W. J., Macpherson, D. S., Mannozzi, C. M., Muldoon, M. F., Long, J. A., & Hausmann, L. R. M. (2021). Evaluation of a collaborative VA network initiative to reduce racial disparities in blood pressure control among veterans with severe hypertension. Healthcare, 8(Supplement 1). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.hjdsi.2020.100485
Mental health care utilization and stigma in the military: comparison of Asian Americans to other racial groups.
Chu, K. M., Garcia, S. M. S., Koka, H., Wynn, G. H., & Kao, T.-C. (2021). Mental health care utilization and stigma in the military: comparison of Asian Americans to other racial groups. Ethnicity & Health, 26(2), 235–250. https://doi.org/10.1080/13557858.2018.1494823
Gender Differences in Mental Health Screening Outcomes Among U.S. Marines in Combat Support Occupations.
MacGregor, A. J., Dye, J. L., & Dougherty, A. L. (2020). Gender Differences in Mental Health Screening Outcomes Among U.S. Marines in Combat Support Occupations. Women’s Health Issues, 30(6), 470–476. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.whi.2020.08.004
Understanding Gender Sensitivity of the Health Care Workforce at the Veterans Health Administration
Than, C., Chuang, E., Washington, D. L., Needleman, J., Canelo, I., Meredith, L. S., & Yano, E. M. (2020). Understanding Gender Sensitivity of the Health Care Workforce at the Veterans Health Administration. Women’s Health Issues, 30(2), 120–127. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.whi.2020.01.001

PTSD - Posttraumatic Stress Disorder

Facts and Data

Diagnosis and Treatment Guidelines

DSM-5 Diagnostic Criteria for PTSD
Recognizing PTSD and Co-Morbidities (Home Base Program)
APA's Clinical Practice Guideline for the Treatment of Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) in Adults (2017)
The guideline recommends interventions for the treatment of PTSD in adults. Recommendations are based on a systematic review of the scientific evidence, a weighing of the benefits and harms of interventions, consideration of what is known about patient values and preferences, and consideration of the applicability of the evidence across demographic groups and settings.

Evidence

PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS)
A database dedicated to the literature about PTSD

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

How does PTSD treatment affect cardiovascular, diabetes and metabolic disease risk factors and outcomes? A systematic review
(2022) The aim of this study is to systematically review studies which determine whether treatment for PTSD is associated with better cardiovascular and metabolic outcomes.
Metabolic and Inflammatory Response in Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD): A Systematic Review on Peripheral Neuroimmune Biomarkers.
(2023) This systematic review aims to summarize the current evidence on the role of inflammation and immunological dysregulations in PTSD, investigating possible peripheral biomarkers linked to the neuroimmune response to stress.
PTSD and opioid use: Implications for intervention and policy.
(2020) This article examines the relationship between PTSD and Opioid Use Disorder and how to treat them together
Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment to Prevent Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder After Gunshot Wounds
(2022) Taken from the abstract: "Screening, brief intervention, and referral to treatment (SBIRT) is an intervention originally developed to prevent and deter substance abuse. Adaptation of the SBIRT model to prevent post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) may potentially reduce acute stress symptoms after traumatic injury. We conducted a prospective randomized control study of adult patients admitted for gunshot wounds."
Treating Post-traumatic Stress Disorder with Neuromodulation Therapies: Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation, Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation, and Deep Brain Stimulation.
(2020) Taken from the abstract: "Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) is a prevalent and debilitating illness. While standard treatment with pharmacotherapy and psychotherapy may be effective, approximately 20 to 30% of patients remain symptomatic. These individuals experience depression, anxiety, and elevated rates of suicide. For treatment-resistant patients, there is a growing interest in the use of neuromodulation therapies, including transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS), transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS), and deep brain stimulation (DBS). We conducted a systematic review on the use of neuromodulation strategies for PTSD and pooled 13 randomized clinical trials (RCTs), 11 case series, and 6 case reports for analysis."
A Randomized Trial of an Online, Coach-Assisted Self-Management PTSD Intervention Tailored for Women Veterans.
(2021) Taken from the abstract: "Scalable, efficiently delivered treatments are needed to address the needs of women Veterans with PTSD. This randomized clinical trial compared an online, coach-assisted cognitive behavioral intervention tailored for women Veterans with PTSD to phone monitoring only."

Cochrane Systematic Reviews

Internet-based cognitive and behavioural therapies for post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) in adults.
(2021) The objective of this study was to assess the effects of Internet-based cognitive and behavioral therapy (I-C/BT) for PTSD in adults.
Couple and family therapies for post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).
Suomi, A., Evans, L., Rodgers, B., Taplin, S., & Cowlishaw, S. (2019). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2019(12).
Early pharmacological interventions for universal prevention of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).
(2022) The objective of this study was to assess the efficacy and acceptability of pharmacological interventions for universal prevention of PTSD in adults exposed to a traumatic event.

Books in the Library Collection

The Complex PTSD Workbook by Arielle Schwartz
Call Number: MEH TRAUMA COMPLEX
Publication Date: 2017
The PTSD Workbook by Mary Beth Williams; Soili Poijula
Call Number: MEH TRAUMA PTSDWORK
Publication Date: 2016
Veterans: Surviving and Thriving after Trauma by Carol A. Butler, Ester R.A. Leutenberg
Call Number: MEH TRAUMA VETERANS
Publication Date: 2013
A reproducible workbook created for facilitators to use with returning veterans and their families
101 Trauma-Informed Interventions by Linda Curran
Call Number: MEH TRAUMA 101
ISBN: 193612842X
Publication Date: 2013

Traumatic Brain Injury

Facts and Data

Traumatic Brain Injury (National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke)
Traumatic Brain Injury & Concussion (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
Traumatic Brain Injury
The American Brain Foundation provides information regarding what are traumatic brain injuries, risk factors, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, treatment options, and research efforts.

Diagnosis and Treatment Guidelines

Evidence

NIDILRR and the TBI National Database
The TBI Model System National Database is the largest longitudinal TBI database in the world, funded by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR).

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

The additional burden of PTSD on functioning and depression in veterans with traumatic brain injury
Moriarty, H., Robinson, K. M., & Winter, L. (2021). The additional burden of PTSD on functioning and depression in veterans with traumatic brain injury. Nursing Outlook, 69(2), 167–181. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.outlook.2020.11.003
Association of remote traumatic brain injury and military employment with late-life trajectories of depressive symptom severity
Kumar, R. G., Jayasinghe, N., Walker, R. L., Gibbons, L. E., Power, M. C., Larson, E. B., Crane, P. K., & Dams-O’Connor, K. (2021). Association of remote traumatic brain injury and military employment with late-life trajectories of depressive symptom severity. Journal of Affective Disorders, 281, 376–383. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jad.2020.12.003
Post-concussive symptom endorsement and symptom attribution following remote mild traumatic brain injury in combat-exposed Veterans: An exploratory study
Merritt, V. C., Jurick, S. M., Sakamoto, M. S., Crocker, L. D., Sullan, M. J., Hoffman, S. N., Davey, D. K., & Jak, A. J. (2020). Post-concussive symptom endorsement and symptom attribution following remote mild traumatic brain injury in combat-exposed Veterans: An exploratory study. Journal of Psychiatric Research, 130, 224–230. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpsychires.2020.08.006
Posttraumatic Stress Disorder, Traumatic Brain Injury, Sleep, and Performance in Military Personnel
Moore, B. A., Brock, M. S., Brager, A., Collen, J., LoPresti, M., & Mysliwiec, V. (2020). Posttraumatic Stress Disorder, Traumatic Brain Injury, Sleep, and Performance in Military Personnel. Sleep Medicine Clinics, 15(1), 87–100. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jsmc.2019.11.004
Understanding the Link Between Traumatic Brain Injury Accompanied by Loss of Consciousness and Well-Being: A Sample of UK Military Veterans.
Hendrikx, L. J., & Murphy, D. (2021). Understanding the Link Between Traumatic Brain Injury Accompanied by Loss of Consciousness and Well-Being: A Sample of UK Military Veterans. Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation, 36(1), 34–43.

Cochrane Systematic Reviews

Cognitive rehabilitation for adults with traumatic brain injury to improve occupational outcomes.
Kumar, K. S., Samuelkamaleshkumar, S., Viswanathan, A., & Macaden, A. S. (2017). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2017(6).
Pharmacotherapy for chronic cognitive impairment in traumatic brain injury.
Dougall, D., Poole, N., & Agrawal, N. (2015). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2015(12).
Psychological treatment for anxiety in people with traumatic brain injury.
Soo, C., & Tate, R. (2012). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2012(4).

Borrow from the Library

Occupational Therapy Practice Guidelines for Adults with Traumatic Brain Injury by Kathleen Golisz
Call Number: Course Reserve
ISBN: 9781569002582
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
This guideline provides an overview of the occupational therapy process for adults with traumatic brain injury (TBI).
Neuroanatomy in Clinical Context by Duane E. Haines
Call Number: ANATOMY NEURO NEURO
ISBN: 9781451186253
Publication Date: 2014-05-31
This textbook provides everything needed to master the anatomy of the central nervous system, all in a clinical setting.
Cognitive and Perceptual Rehabilitation: Optimizing Function by Glen Gillen
Call Number: Course Reserve
ISBN: 9780323046213
Publication Date: 2008-03-20
This clinical resource summarizes, highlights, and constructively critiques the state of cognitive and perceptual rehabilitation.
Vision, Perception, and Cognition: A Manual for the Evaluation and Treatment of the Adult with Acquired Brain Injury by Barbara Zoltan
Call Number: Course Reserve
ISBN: 9781556427381
Publication Date: 2007-01-18
This textbook expertly addresses clinical reasoning and decision making for the entire evaluation and treatment process of the adult with acquired brain injury.

Women Veterans Health Care

Facts and Data

Treatment Guidelines

Evidence

Study of Barriers for Women Veterans to VA Health Care
The VA Office of Women's Health Services examined potential barriers to women veterans' access and utilization of VA health care services. Altarum Institute, a non-profit independent health research organization, conducted a nation-wide telephone survey of more than 8,400 women veterans who currently use and do not use VA services in order to understand the challenges of women veterans accessing healthcare.

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

Female soldiers at higher risk for pelvic floor disorders.
Carr, L. (2020). Female soldiers at higher risk for pelvic floor disorders. Contemporary OB/GYN, 65(11), 34.
Health Profiles of Military Women and the Impact of Combat-Related Injury.
MacGregor, A. J., Zouris, J. M., Dougherty, A. L., & Dye, J. L. (2021). Health Profiles of Military Women and the Impact of Combat-Related Injury. Women’s Health Issues, 31(4), 392–398. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.whi.2021.03.009
The Correlation between Female Veteran Mental Health and Branch of Military Service
Shields, M., Thomas, K. H., Bernard, C., & Lumsden, D. (2020). The Correlation between Female Veteran Mental Health and Branch of Military Service. Journal of Health Education Teaching, 11(1), 14–23.
Interpersonal Violence Throughout the Lifespan: Associations With Suicidal Ideation and Suicide Attempt Among a National Sample of Female Veterans.
Holliday, R., Forster, J. E., Schneider, A. L., Miller, C., & Monteith, L. L. (2021). Interpersonal Violence Throughout the Lifespan: Associations With Suicidal Ideation and Suicide Attempt Among a National Sample of Female Veterans. Medical Care, 59(2), S77–S83. https://doi.org/10.1097/MLR.0000000000001447
Identifying contextual factors that impact community reintegration in injured female Veterans.
Griffiths, H. K., Hawkins, B. L., & Crowe, B. M. (2020). Identifying contextual factors that impact community reintegration in injured female Veterans. Journal of Military, Veteran & Family Health, 6(1), 38–47. https://doi.org/10.3138/jmvfh-2018-0043

Borrow from the Library

Promoting Health for Working Women by Athena Linos, Wilhelm Kirch, & Karen Messing
Call Number: COM HEAP PROM
ISBN: 9780387730370
Publication Date: 2007-12-06
This book focuses on issues that predominantly or exclusively affect women and gender-specific implications due to workplace inequalities.
Seeing Patients by Augustus A. White & David Chanoff
Call Number: DIV CULHU SEEING
ISBN: 9780674049055
Publication Date: 2011-01-15
This book brings together insights from the worlds of social psychology, neuroscience, and clinical practice to define the issues clearly and, most importantly, to outline a concrete approach to fixing this fundamental inequity in the delivery of health care.
Community Health Nursing by Judith Ann Allender, Kristine Warner, & Cherie Rector
Call Number: COM NURS COMM
ISBN: 9780781765848
Publication Date: 2009-02-03
This comprehensive text provides unique coverage of vulnerable aggregate populations while using the levels of prevention approach.
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves by Laura Erickson-Schroth & Jennifer Finney Boylan
Call Number: PHY WELL TRANS
ISBN: 9780199325351
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
A comprehensive, reader-friendly guide for transgender people, with each chapter written by transgender or genderqueer authors. Each chapter takes the reader through an important transgender issue, such as race, religion, employment, medical and surgical transition, mental health topics, relationships, sexuality, parenthood, arts and culture, and many more.
The Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health by Harvey Makadon, Kenneth Mayer, Hillary Goldhammer, Kenneth H. Mayer, & Jennifer Potter
Call Number: PHY WELL FENW
ISBN: 9781930513952
Publication Date: 2007-10-31
Provides guidance, guidelines, and discussions of clinical issues pertinent to the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender patients and community. This book is intended for healthcare professionals seeking further knowledge and guidance on sexual minority health care.

Veterans Experiencing Homelessness

Facts and Data

National Coalition for Homeless Veterans
5 Key Facts About Homeless Veterans
The National Alliance to End Homelessness provides 5 key facts about homeless veterans, efforts to secure permanent housing for veterans, and the remaining barriers to this issue.

Treatment Guidelines

Evidence

National Healthcare for the Homeless Council
The National Healthcare for the Homeless Council (NHCHC) has a multitude of resources on understanding homelessness, clinical practice (with topics of best practices, ethical and cultural issues, and special populations), and policy/advocacy. The website is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

The Problem of Veteran Homelessness: An Update for the New Decade
Tsai, J., Pietrzak, R. H., & Szymkowiak, D. (2021). The Problem of Veteran Homelessness: An Update for the New Decade. American Journal of Preventive Medicine, 60(6), 774–780. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.amepre.2020.12.012
Delayed Homelessness After Military Discharge: Examination of a Sleeper Effect
Tsai, J., Szymkowiak, D., & Pietrzak, R. H. (2020). Delayed Homelessness After Military Discharge: Examination of a Sleeper Effect. American Journal of Preventive Medicine, 59(1), 109–117. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.amepre.2020.03.001
Top 10 presenting diagnoses of homeless veterans seeking care at emergency departments
Tsai, J., Szymkowiak, D., & Kertesz, S. G. (2021). Top 10 presenting diagnoses of homeless veterans seeking care at emergency departments. American Journal of Emergency Medicine, 45, 17–22. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ajem.2021.02.038
Health Care Utilization Among Homeless Veterans in Chicago.
Raad, J. H., Tarlov, E., Kho, A. N., & French, D. D. (2020). Health Care Utilization Among Homeless Veterans in Chicago. Military Medicine, 185(3/4), e335–e339. https://doi.org/10.1093/milmed/usz264
The association of opioid use disorder and homelessness nationally in the veterans health administration
Manhapra, A., Stefanovics, E., & Rosenheck, R. (2021). The association of opioid use disorder and homelessness nationally in the veterans health administration. Drug and Alcohol Dependence, 223. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.drugalcdep.2021.108714

Borrow from the Library

Community Health Nursing by Judith Ann Allender, Kristine Warner, & Cherie Rector
Call Number: COM NURS COMM
ISBN: 9780781765848
Publication Date: 2009-02-03
This comprehensive text provides unique coverage of vulnerable aggregate populations while using the levels of prevention approach.
Substance Abuse Prevention: A Multicultural Perspective by Kar B. Snehendu
Call Number: DIV MUL SUBABU
ISBN: 0895031949
Publication Date: 1999-06-15
Analyses, concerns, and conclusions in several domains including the: meaning and dynamics of multiculturalism affecting prevention intervention, relative risks and knowledge gaps across ethnic groups, social trends affecting health risks and substance abuse, lessons learned from substance abuse research and prevention, role of the media, promises and limits of the new public health paradigm for assessment, policy development, assurance of preventive services, and social action and empowerment for prevention in partnership with the public.

Addiction & Substance Use Disorder

Facts and Data

Evidence

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

DSM-5 criteria for substance use disorders: Recommendations and rationale.
Hasin, D. S., O'Brien, C. P., Auriacombe, M., Borges, G., Bucholz, K., Budney, A., ... Grant, B. F. (2014). American Journal of Psychiatry, 170(8), 834-851.
Substance misuse and substance use disorders: Why do they matter in healthcare?
McClellan, A. T. (2017). Transactions of the American Clinical and Climatological Association, 128, 112-130.
Systematic Review of Criminal and Legal Involvement After Substance Use and Mental Health Treatment Among Veterans: Building Toward Needed Research.
Timko, C., Nash, A., Owens, M. D., Taylor, E., & Finlay, A. K. (2020). Systematic Review of Criminal and Legal Involvement After Substance Use and Mental Health Treatment Among Veterans: Building Toward Needed Research. Substance Abuse: Research & Treatment, 14, 1–13. https://doi.org/10.1177/1178221819901281
Rapid Transition From Methadone to Buprenorphine Utilizing a Micro-dosing Protocol in the Outpatient Veteran Affairs Setting.
De Aquino, J. P., Fairgrieve, C., Klaire, S., & Garcia-Vassallo, G. (2020). Rapid Transition From Methadone to Buprenorphine Utilizing a Micro-dosing Protocol in the Outpatient Veteran Affairs Setting. Journal of Addiction Medicine, 14(5), e271–e273. https://doi.org/10.1097/ADM.0000000000000618
Nicotine dependence in US military veterans: results from the National Health and Resilience in Veterans Study.
Baldassarri, S. R., Kachadourian, L. K., Esterlis, I., & Pietrzak, R. H. (2020). Nicotine dependence in US military veterans: results from the National Health and Resilience in Veterans Study. Addiction Research & Theory, 28(2), 160–164. https://doi.org/10.1080/16066359.2019.1613523
Heightened healthcare utilization & risk of mental disorders among Veterans with comorbid opioid use disorder & posttraumatic stress disorder
Mahoney, C. T., Moshier, S. J., Keane, T. M., & Marx, B. P. (2021). Heightened healthcare utilization & risk of mental disorders among Veterans with comorbid opioid use disorder & posttraumatic stress disorder. Addictive Behaviors, 112. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.addbeh.2020.106572

Cochrane Systematic Reviews

Psychological interventions for co-occurring depression and substance use disorders.
Hides, L., Quinn, C., Stoyanov, S., Kavanagh, D., & Baker, A. (2019). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2019(11).
Psychosocial interventions to reduce alcohol consumption in concurrent problem alcohol and illicit drug users.
Klimas, J., Fairgrieve, C., Tobin, H., Field, C.-A., O'Gorman, C. S. M., Glynn, L. G., ... Cullen, Walter. (2018). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2018(12).
Interventions for the reduction of prescribed opioid use in chronic non-cancer pain.
Eccleston, C., Fisher, E., Thomas, K. H., Hearn, L., Derry, S., Stannard, C., ... Moore, A. R. (2019). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2019(9).
Psychosocial interventions for cannabis use disorder.
Gates, P. J., Sabioni, P., Copeland, J., Le Foll, B., & Gowing, L. (2020). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2020(1).
Mobile phone text messaging and app-based interventions for smoking cessation.
Whittaker, R., McRobbie, H., Bullen, C., Rodgers, A., Gu, Y., & Dobson, R. (2019). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2019(10).

Library Collection

Borrow these items from the library.

Books

Harm Reduction by G. Alan Marlatt (Editor)
Call Number: AOD TREAT HARM
ISBN: 1572303972
Publication Date: 1998-10-08
Harm reduction principles and strategies are designed to minimize the destructive consequences of illicit drug use and other behaviors that may pose serious health risks.
Ethnicity and Substance Abuse by Grace Xueqin Ma (Editor); George Henderson (Editor)
Call Number: DIV MUL ETHN
ISBN: 0398073309
Publication Date: 2002-08-01
This book offers a fresh interdisciplinary approach to understanding drug abuse problems within the U.S. ethnic minority community.

DVDs

Older Adults and Addiction by Stephanie Brown
Call Number: ELD AOD OLDER
ISBN: 9781592854660
Publication Date: 2007-07-05
The two presenters in this DVD provide easy-to-follow methods of effectively screening, assessing, and conducting brief interventions for older adults experiencing addiction.

Community Reintegration

Online Resources

Staff Perspective: Reintegration Experiences of Service Members and Veterans - Challenges and Changes!
Written by a veteran, a blog post about the challenges, surprises, VA experiences, and recommendations when integrating into society.
VA Community Provider Toolkit: Common Challenges During Readjustment
A list of the aspects of reentry that veterans might have difficulty with.

Evidence

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

Identifying contextual factors that impact community reintegration in injured female Veterans
Griffiths, H. K., Hawkins, B. L., & Crowe, B. M. (2020). Identifying contextual factors that impact community reintegration in injured female Veterans. Journal of Military, Veteran & Family Health, 6(1), 38–47. https://doi.org/10.3138/jmvfh-2018-0043
Connecting veterans and their community through narrative: Pilot data on a community strengthening intervention
Mamon, D., Scoglio, A. A. J., Calixte, R. M., Tuval-Mashiach, R., Patton, B., & Drebing, C. E. (2020). Connecting Veterans and Their Community Through Narrative: Pilot Data on a Community Strengthening Intervention. Community Mental Health Journal, 56(5), 804–813. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10597-019-00540-3
Exploring Community Integration Among Formerly Homeless Veterans in Project-Based Versus Tenant-Based Supportive Housing.
Chinchilla, M., Gabrielian, S., Glasmeier, A., & Green, M. F. (2020). Exploring Community Integration Among Formerly Homeless Veterans in Project-Based Versus Tenant-Based Supportive Housing. Community Mental Health Journal, 56(2), 303–312. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10597-019-00473-x
Association between technology use and social integration among veterans with disabilities
Stacy, M., Lindsey, H., & Tsai, J. (2020). Association Between Technology Use and Social Integration Among Veterans With Disabilities. Journal of Nervous & Mental Disease, 208(4), 306–311. https://doi.org/10.1097/NMD.0000000000001132
Veterans' Experiences With Outpatient Care: Comparing The Veterans Affairs System With Community-Based Care.
Vanneman, M. E., Wagner, T. H., Shwartz, M., Meterko, M., Francis, J., Greenstone, C. L., & Rosen, A. K. (2020). Veterans’ Experiences With Outpatient Care: Comparing The Veterans Affairs System With Community-Based Care. Health Affairs (Project Hope), 39(8), 1368–1376. https://doi.org/10.1377/hlthaff.2019.01375

E-Books

Returning Home From Iraq and Afghanistan: Preliminary Assessment of Readjustment Needs of Veterans, Service Members, and Their Families
This initial book presents findings on the most critical challenges, and lays out the blueprint for the second phase of the study to determine how best to meet the needs of returning troops and their families.
Treating Young Veterans: Promoting Resilience Through Practice and Advocacy
The editors of Treating Young Veterans and the authors of the individual chapters provide practitioners with essential information about the needs, desires, and possibilities for veterans and their families. This book represents a thoughtful, sensitive, and sensible approach to working with military personnel and veterans who have been deployed to wars in the Persian Gulf, Iraq, and Afghanistan

Borrow from the Library

Physical Activity in Diverse Populations by Melissa Bopp (Editor)
Call Number: DIV CULHU PHYS
ISBN: 9781138674561
Publication Date: 2017-07-11
This book explores the social, cultural, political and environmental factors that influence engagement in physical activity in a range of diverse populations and presents evidence-based, culturally appropriate strategies for targeting and promoting physical activity participation.
Veterans: Surviving and Thriving after Trauma by Ester R. A. Leutenberg; Carol Butler; Amy L. Brodsky (Illustrator); John Sippola (Foreword by)
Call Number: MEH TRAUMA VETERANS
ISBN: 1570252696
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Designed to assist professional facilitators to help veterans adapt after serving their country, this workbook will help facilitators working with veterans individually, in groups and in conjunction with their families.

Home Base Trainings

Home Base is a joint effort of the Red Sox Foundation and Massachusetts General Hospital to bring clinical and counseling care to veterans and their families regardless of discharge status or ability to pay.

They also offer a wealth of online trainings for health care workers to help them learn about the unique concerns when caring for this population. You only need sign up for a free account in their Training Institute to access these courses.

Here is a sample of the courses they offer. For a full list, please visit the website.

Veterans

Veterans

Veteran Population Data

Health Disparities in Veterans

PTSD - Posttraumatic Stress Disorder

Facts and Data

Diagnosis and Treatment Guidelines

Evidence

Cochrane Systematic Reviews

Books in the Library Collection

Traumatic Brain Injury

Facts and Data

Diagnosis and Treatment Guidelines

Evidence

Cochrane Systematic Reviews

​Borrow from the Library

Women Veterans Health Care

Facts and Data

Treatment Guidelines

Evidence

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

Borrow from the Library

Veterans Experiencing Homelessness

Facts and Data

Treatment Guidelines

​Evidence

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

​Borrow from the Library

Addiction & Substance Use Disorder

Addiction & Substance Use Disorder

Facts and Data

Evidence

Cochrane Systematic Reviews

Library Collection

Borrow these items from the library.

Books

DVDs

Community Reintegration

Online Resources

Evidence

E-Books

Borrow from the Library

Home Base Trainings

Borrow from the Library

Evidence

Borrow from the Library