The following tabs contain examples of real-world policies and perspectives that reflect religious influence on medicine in the United States and across the globe.
Swihart et al. (2023) wrote about the importance of incorporating religious competencies in clinical practice, as these beliefs are just as important to culturally competent care. They break down issues of concern from many religious and spiritual groups that are often encountered in healthcare environments, including Baha'i, Hinduism, Sikhism, and multiple types of Spirituality.
Aaron et al. (2003) explored how church attendance in a low-income, African American community correlated with positive healthcare practices. They cited social support for positive health-seeking behaviors, the church's "emphasis on respect for the body," and having direct and indirect access to health services as being part of the reasons why there was an increased likelihood of receiving care.
Although based out of Australia, Marjadi et al. (2023) shared twelve tips that can be implemented anywhere to provide more inclusive support in healthcare settings. These tips include ideas such as being wary of assumptions and stereotypes, using inclusive language, ensuring research inclusivity, and the importance of self-educating on diversity in all forms.
Kilbourne et al. (2006) outline three phases of research that should be done to combat health disparities: detection, understanding, and reducing. While this also talks about cultural competencies as a whole, it is still applicable in regard to religious beliefs as well.
Wehbe-Alamah et al. (2021) created a helpful outline of the Abrahamic religions (Judaism, Christianity, and Islam) that reviews their major tenets and beliefs related to health, dietary needs, modesty, contraception, and more.
The International Islamic Code for Medical and Health Ethics (2005) was created by the Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean as a general guide for medical ethics in the Islamic faith. There are sections on medical behavior, physicians' rights, and duties, ethical guidelines for biomedical research involving human subjects, and arguments of Islamic law ruling on recent medical issues.
Queensland Health and the Islamic Council of Queensland (2010) created a helpful handbook for caring for Muslim patients. It contains sections covering guidelines for health services and Islamic beliefs that may affect health care.
In this edition of Spirituality in Medicine, Lapsley (2021) interviews Sondos Kholaki, "board-certified staff chaplain at Hoag Hospital in Irvine, California and Muslim chaplain at Cedars-Sinai Hospital in Los Angeles, California." Kholaki provides guidance for practitioners who may be working with Muslim patients, including what providers should know about Islam, religious traditions, and what additional value comes from spiritual care.
Padela and Curlin (2012) looked at how Islamic values impact the health of Muslim Americans. They argued that strong religious beliefs should be considered separate from cultural barriers as an independent health factor. They also called for more research to be done to look into the etiology of religion-associated health disparities.
Levin & Prince (2011) provide an overview of the interplay between Judaism and health, focusing on the functions of "Jewish religious life for health and well-being".
Jordan Lapsley (2021) interviewed Rabbi Justin Kerber, "a board-certified staff chaplain and rabbi at Congregation Beth Shalom" to gain "insight on spiritual care for Jewish patients." Rabbi Kerber explores what providers should know about Judaism and how to best serve their Jewish patients, some of the major religious traditions and symbols. He also talks about the added value of spiritual care for all patients.
Goldsand et al. (2001) stated that "Jewish bioethics exemplifies how an ethical system based on duties may differ from the secular rights-based model prevalent in North American society."
In the United States, Catholic-based health care services follow ethical and religious directives, also known as ERDs, that are established by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This document serves as a guideline for outlining the social, pastoral, and spiritual responsibility of Catholic healthcare services, the professional-patient relationship, collaborative arrangements with other healthcare organizations, and specific sections dedicated to both beginning-of-life and end-of-life care.
The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America has the Caring for Health: Our Shared Endeavor (Department for Studies & Division for Church in Society of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, 2003). It provides a guideline to biblical and theological perspectives on health, illness, healing, and healthcare.
While there were no specific guidelines to ethics for Methodists in the United States, on their official website, they've outlined how health care is considered a basic human right (The United Methodist Publishing House, 2016). There is also a large portion of their site dedicated to promoting health and wholeness (The United Methodist Church, n.d.).
Queensland Health also has a handbook for caring for Hindu patients. Like the Muslim patient guide, the Health Care Providers’ Handbook on Hindu Patients contains sections on guidelines for health services and an overview of areas where Hindu beliefs may affect health care.
In this Spirituality in Medicine post, Lapsley (2021) interviews Sangeetha Kowsik, "a designer / artist, spiritual life advisor at New York University and founding member of the North American Hindu Chaplain Association (NAHCA)." Kowsik guides providers on several topics, including what they should do when working with patients who practice Hinduism, popular holidays for Hindus, symbols of Hinduism, and how chaplains can support physicians.
Kalra et al. (2018) " outlines the spiritual and ethical values which underlie Buddhist concern for the sick and gives an overview of lessons which health-care practitioners can imbibe from Buddhism."
In this Spirituality in Medicine post on Buddhism, Nikki Livingston (2021) interviews Rev. Donald Strikeleather, "a staff chaplain for IU Health Methodist Hospital and an ordained Buddhist through Dharma Ocean Foundation." Rev. Strikeleather provides additional information about the value of spiritual care, how chaplains can support physicians, what providers should know about Buddhism, and some of the religious traditions.
The Sikh Coalition (2021) created a guide for healthcare workers to learn more about issues their Sikh patients may face, how to care for them in a culturally sensitive manner, and a basic overview of Sikh faith.
Walsh (2010) explores how family therapists can address spiritual diversity in multifaith families as well as those who are non-religious. They included information about popular areas of potential conflict, including sexual orientation, patriarchy, childrearing, and divorce.
The Dictionary of Patients' Spiritual & Cultural Values for Health Care Professionals (Pastoral Care Leadership and Practice Group of HealthCare Chaplaincy, 2011) is a general guide to beliefs and practices that are found within a particular religious or cultural group.
Weber et al. (2017) examined "engagement with healthcare as a potential source of distress for nonbelievers" and found that a "lack of understanding between nonbelieving patients and their providers may contribute to poor communication."
