MGH Guides: Nutrition: Nutrition

Nutrition

Here are a selection of Nutrition resources available in the Community Health library. In addition to these resources, we have various curriculum binders and books. We can't list everything we have here, so get in touch with us if you're looking for something specific! librarian@mghihp.edu

Data

Dietary Guidelines for Americans: 2015 - 2020
From health.gov
Choose My Plate
From the USDA
Healthy Eating
From heart.org
Data on Nutrition and Obesity in the US: 2020
From the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
Nutrition Data and Statistics
From the CDC
Family Participation Rates in Nutrition Assistance Programs: 2015
From census.gov

Handouts

USDA MyPlate Graphics files

30 MyPlate Steps to Healthier You (handout)

MyPlate Daily Checklist (handout)

MyPlate Tips Sheets (handouts)

USDA: Nutrition Education Materials

DASH (Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension)

Evidence

Nutrition Journals

Nutrition Articles

The Development, Implementation, and Evaluation of Innovative Strategies to Reduce Food Insecurity among Children in the United States
Burke, M., Singh, A., Berman, D., & Law, K. (2021). The Development, Implementation, and Evaluation of Innovative Strategies to Reduce Food Insecurity among Children in the United States. Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, 121(1), S5–S8. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jand.2020.10.025
A communication inequalities approach to disparities in fruit and vegetable consumption: Findings from a national survey with U.S. adults
(2021) This study assessed whether socioeconomic disparities in fruit and vegetable consumption and its differences by social capital are accounted for by exposure to media information about fruits and vegetables and reflective integration of that information.
Nutrition therapy in critical illness: a review of the literature for clinicians
Lambell, Kate J, Oana A Tatucu-Babet, Lee-Anne Chapple, Dashiell Gantner, and Emma J Ridley. 2020. “Nutrition Therapy in Critical Illness: A Review of the Literature for Clinicians.” Critical Care (London, England) 24 (1): 35. doi:10.1186/s13054-020-2739-4.
Decreasing Trends in Heavy Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Consumption in the United States, 2003 to 2016
(2020) Although previous studies have documented declines in intake from sugar-sweetened beverages (SSB) in the United States, it is important to examine whether heavy SSB intake (≥500 kcal/day) is decreasing in parallel. Examining the intake patterns of heavy SSB consumers is imperative because these individuals face the greatest health risks and thus may benefit the most from targeted policy and programmatic efforts to reduce intake.
Trends in types of protein in US adolescents and children: Results from the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey 1999-2010
Kim, Hyunju, Laura E Caulfield, Casey M Rebholz, Rebecca Ramsing, and Keeve E Nachman. 2020. “Trends in Types of Protein in US Adolescents and Children: Results from the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey 1999-2010.” PloS One 15 (3): e0230686. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0230686.

Nutrition for Kids

MyPlate for Children
Nutrition for Children
Provides a collection of links on food and nutrition for kids
Childhood Nutrition Facts
The CDC provides facts on nutrition for children and a link to their American Dietary Guidelines
School Health Guidelines
The CDC provides guidelines for schools to promote health and nutrition for students
Dietary Recommendations for Children
The AHA provides dietary recommendations for healthy children such as eating patterns and portions by age and gender
Child Nutrition
The USDA contains a variety of links relevant to child nutrition

Yummy Fruits and Vegetables Game

PHY NUT YUMFRU

The Best Homemade Kids' Snacks on the Planet by Laura Fuentes
Call Number: PHY NUT BEST
ISBN: 9781592336616
Publication Date: 2015-06-15
If you're a parent or a caregiver, you know that kids are hungry all the time. And while you want to give them the best, snack time can be a true test. How do you avoid the convenient-but-unhealthy storebought treats and instead provide something that not only tastes good, but is good for them them too? With The Best Homemade Kids' Snacks on the Planet, you'll find more than 200+ great ideas for solving the snack conundrum. Recipes and ideas you can whip up in minutes, without fuss in the kitchen, or fuss from your kid! So whether you're packing snacks for your purse, the school bag, the sports bag, or the can't-make-it-until-dinner whining hour, you'll find quick and healthy ideas everyone in your family will love.
How to Teach Nutrition to Kids, 4th Edition by Connie Liakos Evers; Carol J. Buckle (Illustrator)
Call Number: PHY NUT HOWTO
ISBN: 0964797003
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Teaching nutrition to children early and often is the key to developing healthy eating habits. The fourth edition of How to Teach Nutrition to Kids includes over 200 cross-curricular activities featuring the MyPlate food guide, childrens books, gardening, recipes, food art, label reading, fitness and more. Fun, integrated, and behavior-focused, How to Teach Nutrition to Kids weaves nutrition education with math, science, language arts, social studies, performing arts, physical education, health education and the school cafeteria. Packed with ideas that empower children to evaluate nutrition information, make smart food choices and creatively prepare food, this book is used in schools, hospitals, scouting programs, 4-H, summer camps, and many other youth-focused initiatives.
The Healthy Lunchbox by Marie McLendon; Cristy Shauck; American Diabetes Association Staff
Call Number: PHY NUT MEAL
Publication Date: 2005
Dozens of easy menus and tips to help you give your children healthy lunch-on-the-go alternativesThis upbeat guide is full of healthy alternatives to junk food–laden lunches. Drawing on her years of experience as both an educator and a mother, Marie McLendon has created a book loaded with recipes, menus, tips, and suggestions. This resource rescues you from the mundane and stressful task of figuring out how to pack a healthy lunch that your kids will actually eat.

Nutrition for Older Adults

Evidence

High Protein Intake at Lunch Is Negatively Associated with Blood Pressure in Community-Dwelling Older Adults: A Cross-Sectional Study
(2023) The present study was conducted to explore the association between protein intake across the main meals and hypertension (HTN)-related parameters in community-dwelling Brazilian older adults.
Nutrition and Healthy Ageing in Asia: A Systematic Review.
(2023) In the present study, we aimed to conduct a systematic review to assess the impact of nutrition on healthy ageing in Asia.
Adequacy of Nutrient Intake and Malnutrition Risk in Older Adults: Findings from the Diet and Healthy Aging Cohort Study.
(2023) The aim was to report on the nutrient intake and prevalence of malnutrition risk in a community sample of older adults in Singapore.

Online Resources

MyPlate for Older Adults
Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging's adaptation of the USDA's My Plate guidelines.
What's on Your Plate? Smart Food Choices for Healthy Aging
Basic facts for making good food choices
Nutrition.gov's Elderly Individuals
Collection of links to mainly US government sites relevant to nutrition in older adults.
Healthy Eating for Older Adults
Healthy eating recommendations from the Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

Borrow from the Library

Handbook of Nutrition in the Aged by Ronald R. Watson (Editor); Alyssa Wittore (Editor)
Call Number: ELD NUT HAND
Publication Date: 2008
The New American Heart Association Cookbook by American Heart Association
Call Number: CHR CVD AHACOOK
Publication Date: 2017
800 recipes that cut saturated fat and cholesterol -- including updated heart-health information, strategies and tips for meal planning, shopping, and cooking healthfully