The ADA website provides information about the law/regulations, enforcement, design standards, and technical assistance materials, as well as information about service animals and a place to file a complaint.
This is a link that provides an example of how Section 504 is applied to a child with diabetes in a school-setting. This covers the requirements of the school nurse, teachers, and other school professionals in ensuring that the child receives appropriate support in order to participate.
In order to make patients and clients feel respected and comfortable, a health care professional must use appropriate verbal and nonverbal language. This resource provides basic information on how to respectfully communicate with people with various disabilities.
This WHO article provides a comprehensive description of disability and its effects on people's lives, the unmet need for health care, barriers to care, and many more topics.
Library Books and Kits
Anti-Discriminatory Practice in Mental Health Care for Older People
by Peter Cockersell (Contribution by); Maria Castro Romero (Contribution by); Afreen Huq (Contribution by); Maureen McIntosh (Contribution by); Musthafar Oladosu (Contribution by); Rena Kydd-Williams (Contribution by); Siobhan Spencer (Contribution by); Rachel Tribe (Editor); Ajit Shah (Contribution by); Pauline Lane (Editor); Matt Broadway-Horner (Contribution by)
Call Number: DIV CULHU MENTAL
Exploring the key issues around anti-discriminatory practice for professionals working in mental health services, this book looks at ways to improve the health and social care of older people from minority and excluded communities. The chapters explore the issues involved in working with individuals from a range of minority groups, such as LGBT people, people with learning disabilities, people from black and minority ethnic communities, homeless people and people with dementia. The chapters cover important theory and research into discrimination, ageing and identity. Contributions from experts in the fields of mental health and working with minority groups provide practical insights into developing anti-discriminatory practice.There is also practical advice on culturally appropriate support for carers, cultural competency in end of life care, working with interpreters, and celebrating diversity, accompanied by supporting practical resources. This comprehensive book will provide mental health practitioners and students with an essential understanding of anti-discriminatory practice.
The Future of Disability in America
by Marilyn J. Field (Editor); Alan M. Jette (Editor); Institute of Medicine (U.S.), Committee on Disability in America: a New Look Staff (Contribution by); Board on Health Sciences Policy Staff
Call Number: DIV CULHU FUTURE
The future of disability in America will depend on how well the U.S. prepares for and manages the demographic, fiscal, and technological developments that will unfold during the next two to three decades. Building upon two prior studies from the Institute of Medicine (the 1991 Institute of Medicine's report Disability in America and the 1997 report Enabling America), The Future of Disability in America examines both progress and concerns about continuing barriers that limit the independence, productivity, and participation in community life of people with disabilities. This book offers a comprehensive look at a wide range of issues, including the prevalence of disability across the lifespan; disability trends the role of assistive technology; barriers posed by health care and other facilities with inaccessible buildings, equipment, and information formats; the needs of young people moving from pediatric to adult health care and of adults experiencing premature aging and secondary health problems; selected issues in health care financing (e.g., risk adjusting payments to health plans, coverage of assistive technology); and the organizing and financing of disability-related research. The Future of Disability in America is an assessment of both principles and scientific evidence for disability policies and services. This book's recommendations propose steps to eliminate barriers and strengthen the evidence base for future public and private actions to reduce the impact of disability on individuals, families, and society.
Handbook on Accessibility and Inclusion
by The Medical Foundation
Call Number: DIV CULHU HANACC
Provides an introduction to and information about the ADA, accessibility, producing materials in alternative formats, assistive equipment, and much more.
Health Literacy from A to Z
by Helen Osborne
Call Number: HLC COMM ATOZ
A Best-Seller on Amazon! Health Literacy From A to Z, Second Edition is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles. Doody's Review Service, 5 Stars, Score 100! AWARDS for The Second Edition: Two-time winner of New England Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association awards: 2012 Will Solimene Award for Excellence in Medical Communication 2012 Neil Duane Award of Distinction 2012 Medical Book Awards: Honorable Mention in the Non-Physicians category Clear communication of your health message can make all the difference in effective patient care. Health Literacy from A to Z: Practical Ways to Communicate Your Health Message, Second Edition is an easy to use handbook designed for the busy health professional. Filled with ideas and strategies that can be used in everyday practice, Health Literacy from A to Z is a first-of-its-kind resource. Learn the key principles and strategies of effective health communication presented in a simple, informal manner by one of the nation's leading experts in health literacy. Whether you are a physician, nurse, pharmacist, allied health professional, case manager, public health specialist, practice manager, health care educator, student or family caregiver this book is for you. Instructor Resources include a Sample Syllabus and PowerPoint Presentations. What's New in the Second Edition of Health Literacy from A to Z The Second Edition is updated and revised to reflect current health literacy research and practice with new information about timely health literacy topics. This edition has 14 new chapters including 4 chapters about "Technology" and 7 chapters focused on "Know Your Audience." Highlights * "Starting Points" with an introduction to key information. * "Strategies, Ideas, and Suggestions" with lots of practical, how-to tips. * "Stories from Practice" showcasing real-life experiences from a wide range of perspectives to help make key points come alive. * "Sources to Learn More" including an extensive list of books, articles, websites, podcasts, and other resources. New Topics * Business Side of Health Literacy * Communicating When Patients Feel Scared, Sick, and Overwhelmed * General Public: Talking with Patients about What They Learn from the Media * Organizational Efforts, Advocacy, and Collaborations * Regulatory and Legal Language * Website Writing * Blogs and Social Media * Audio Podcasts * Email and Text Messages * Interactive Multimedia * Sections focusing on, "Know Your Audience" with in-depth information about: Children and Youth Emotions and Cognition Hearing Loss Language and Culture Literacy Older Adults Vision Problems The First Edition was the 2006 Winner of the New England Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association, Will Solimene Award for Excellence in Medical Communication!
Physical Activity in Diverse Populations
by Melissa Bopp (Editor)
Call Number: DIV CULHU PHYS
The health benefits associated with regular physical activity are now widely recognized. This book examines how social determinants such as race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation and disability can impact on physical activity and its associated health outcomes. It explores the social, cultural, political and environmental factors that influence engagement in physical activity in a range of diverse populations and presents evidence-based, culturally appropriate strategies for targeting and promoting physical activity participation. Each chapter considers how the social determinants that impact on health are formed by the environments in which people live, work, learn and play. Incorporating a series of original case studies, this book analyzes physical activity behaviors in groups such as: African Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans and Native Americans military veterans and physically disabled populations low-income populations rural populations LGBT populations. It also includes a variety of useful features such as key terms, summary points and critical thinking questions, as well as a chapter on international perspectives. Physical Activity in Diverse Populations: Evidence and Practice is vital reading for any course touching on social factors in physical activity behavior.
by Carrie M. Hall; Lori Thein Brody
Call Number: REHAB PRAC PT THERAPEXC
Therapeutic Exercise: Moving Toward Function, Third Edition provides a conceptual framework for learning how to make clinical decisions regarding the prescription of therapeutic exercise--from deciding which exercise(s) to teach, to how to teach them, to the dosage required for the best outcome. Readers will learn how to use therapeutic exercise and related interventions to treat the impairments that correlate to functional limitations and disability and to work toward optimal function. Highlights of this Third Edition include case studies in each chapter and more than 200 new photographs and illustrations.
Vision Simulator Glasses Set
Call Number: CHR LOWVIS SIMGLASS
Contains 7 pairs of simulation glasses for the following: combination loss, central field loss, peripheral loss, overall blur, hemifield/hemianopia, low contrast, and color simulator.
Satchidanand, N., Gunukula, S.K., Lam, W.Y., McGuigan, D., New, I., Symons, A.B., Withiam-Leitch, M., & Akl, E.A. (2012). Attitudes of healthcare students and professionals toward patients with physical disability: A systematic review. American Journal of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 91(6). 533-545. https://doi.org/10.1097/PHM.0b013e3182555ea4
Mahmoudi, E., & Meade, M. A. (2015). Disparities in access to health care among adults with physical disabilities: analysis of a representative national sample for a ten-year period. Disability And Health Journal, 8(2), 182–190. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dhjo.2014.08.007
McMillan, C., Lee, J., Milligan, J., Hillier, L. M., & Bauman, C. (2016). Physician perspectives on care of individuals with severe mobility impairments in primary care in Southwestern Ontario, Canada. Health & Social Care in the Community, 24(4), 463–472. http://dx.doi.org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1111/hsc.12228
Todd, F.C., Sellman, J.D., & Robertson, P.J. (2002). Barriers to optimal care for patients with coexisting substance use and mental health disorders. Australian & New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry, 36(6), 792–799.
Magnée, T., de Beurs, D. P., Kok, T. Y., Verhaaka, P. F., & Verhaak, P. F. (2018). Exploring the feasibility of new Dutch mental health policy within a large primary health care centre: a case study. Family Practice, 35(2), 186–192. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1093/fampra/cmx084
McCracken, R. K., Fung, L., Stratis, A. K., Cottick, K. R., & Dobson, S. (2018). Family doctors providing primary care to patients with mental illness in a tertiary care facility. Canadian Family Physician, 64(10), e440–e445.
Carvalho Cassiano, A. P., Fernando Marcolan, J., & Augusto da Silva, D. (2019). Primary healthcare: Stigma against Individuals with mental disorders. Journal of Nursing UFPE / Revista de Enfermagem UFPE, 13, 359–364. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.5205/1981-8963.2019.239668
Alborz, A., McNally, R., & Glendinning, C. (2005). Access to health care for people with learning disabilities in the UK: Mapping the issues and reviewing the evidence. Journal Of Health Services Research & Policy, 10(3), 173–182.
Slevin, E., & Sines, D. (1996). Attitudes of nurses in general hospitals towards people with learning disabilities: influences of contact, and graduate-non-graduate status, a comparative study. Journal of Advanced Nursing, 24(6), 1116–1126. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1111/j.1365-2648.1996.tb01016.x
Webb, J., & Stanton, M. (2009). Working with primary care practices to improve service delivery for people with learning disabilities -- a pilot study. British Journal of Learning Disabilities, 37(3), 221–227.
Ali, A., Scior, K., Ratti, V., Strydom, A., King, M., & Hassiotis, A. (2013). Discrimination and other barriers to accessing health care: perspectives of patients with mild and moderate intellectual disability and their carers. Plos One, 8(8).
Grier, E., Abells, D., Casson, I., Gemmill, M., Ladouceur, J., Lepp, A., Niel, U.,Sacks, S., & Sue, K. (2018). Managing complexity in care of patients with intellectual and developmental disabilities: Natural fit for the family physician as an expert generalist. Canadian Family Physician/Medecin De Famille Canadien, 64(Suppl 2), S15–S22.
This guideline covers recognising and diagnosing autism spectrum disorder in children and young people from birth up to 19 years. It also covers referral. It aims to improve the experience of children, young people and those who care for them.
Raymaker, D.M., McDonald, K.E., Ashkenazy, E., Gerrity, M., Baggs, A.M., Kripke, C., Hourston, S., & Nicolaidis, S. (2017). Barriers to healthcare: Instrument development and comparison between autistic adults and adults with and without other disabilities. Autism, 21, 972-984.
Stein Duker, L.I., Kim, H.K.S., Pomponio, A., & Pfeiffer, B. (2019). Examining primary care health encounters for adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder. American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 73, 1-11.
Warfield, M., Crossman, M., Delahaye, J., Weerd, E., & Kuhlthau, K. (2015). Physician perspectives on providing primary medical care to adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, 45, 2209-2217.
Lang, M., & du Plessis, E. (2019). Sensory processing disorder: Perceptions on the clinical role of advanced psychiatric nurses. Health SA Gesondheid: Journal of Interdisciplinary Health Sciences, 0. https://doi.og/ doi: 10.4102/hsag.v24i0.1197
Gupta, N., Brown, C., Deneke, J., Maha, J., & Kong, M. (2019). Utilization of a novel pathway in a tertiary pediatric hospital to meet the sensory needs of acutely ill pediatric patients. Frontiers in Pediatrics. https://doi.org/10.3389/fped.2019.00367
This article is published by the Cleveland Clinic and covers several issues concerning healthcare providers, such as Asperger Syndrome no longer being a diagnosis, diagnosing an adult with ASD, and comorbid conditions.
Boston Medical Center's website about different tools they have developed, including a sensory toolbox, for patients to feel more comfortable in the hospital, especially children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.
Provides an interdisciplinary approach to health care and related topics that concern women. Focuses on the newest theories, skills, and procedures. Covers nursing, health care, psychology, sociology, & anthropology.
Every minute, at least one woman dies from pregnancy and childbirth complications; a further twenty suffer injury, infection or disease. Despite medical advances, and years of national and international policy declarations, this tragic situation remains particularly severe in developing countries, violating a fundamental human right. This book draws together insights and experiences of development practitioners, policy-makers, academic experts and private sector partners to describe the Women's Health Initiative (WHI). A public private partnership based in India, the WHI took a new approach to.
Sonalkar, S., Chavez, V., McClusky, J., Hunter, T.A., & Mollen, C.J. (2019). Gynecologic care for women with physical disabilities: A qualitative study of patients and providers. Women's Health Issues.
Wisdom, J.P., McGee, M.G., Horner-Johnson, W., Michael, Y.L., Adams, E., & Berlin, M. (2010). Health disparities between women with and without disabilities: A review of the research. Social Work in Public Health, 25(3), 368-386.