MGH Guides: Caring for Clients/Patients with Disabilities: Home

Overview

People with disabilities navigate the world differently, including the world of health care. As a health care provider, you will need to be aware of some of these differences in order to help your clients and patients get the best health care they can.

Websites

Accessible Health Care
This ADA fact sheet offers quick information on how whether or not a health care facility is accessible and other information on accessibility.
CDC Disability and Health Information for Health Care Providers
A good overview with links to resources for health care providers on how to provide effective and compassionate care for people with disabilities.
Communicating with People with Disabilities
In order to make patients and clients feel respected and comfortable, a health care professional must use appropriate verbal and nonverbal language. This resource provides basic information on how to respectfully communicate with people with various disabilities.
WHO Disability and Health
This WHO article provides a comprehensive description of disability and its effects on people's lives, the unmet need for health care, barriers to care, and many more topics.

Videos

Transcript: Navigating Healthcare with a Disability
Transcript document for the Navigating Healthcare with a Disability video.

Transcript: Improving Healthcare Access for People with Disabilities
Transcript document for the Improving Healthcare Access for People with Disabilities video.

Books in the Collection and E-Books

Care Work by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781551527383

Publication Date: 2018-10-30
Demystifying Disability by Emily Ladau
Call Number: DIV CULHU DEMYST

ISBN: 9781984858979

Publication Date: 2021
Health Literacy From A to Z: Practical Ways to Communicate Your Health Message, 3rd ed. [e-Book] by Helen Osborne
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781636181752
Physical activity in diverse populations : evidence and practice by Melissa Bopp (Editor)
Call Number: DIV CULHU PHYS

ISBN: 9781138674561

Publication Date: 2017-07-11
The Future of Disability in America by Marilyn J. Field (Editor); Alan M. Jette (Editor); Institute of Medicine (U.S.), Committee on Disability in America: a New Look Staff (Contribution by); Board on Health Sciences Policy Staff
Call Number: DIV CULHU FUTURE

ISBN: 9780309104722

Available electronically (follow the link) and in print on Bellack Library's shelves.

Data and Statistics

Disability Statistics
This website provides disability statistics on percentage of adults with a functional disability, disability and health, disability and healthcare access, and how to make a difference.
U.S. Department of Labor Statistics
The U.S. Department of Labor collects statistics on disability within the workforce to further research and policy initiatives.
Center for Research on Disability
"The Center for Research on Disability at the University of New Hampshire is a trusted source for research and statistics on the community participation of people with disabilities, examining key topics like employment, public programs, health, transportation, education, and more."
Annual Disability Statistics Compendium & Annual Reports (Center for Research on Disability)
"The mission of the Annual Disability Statistics Compendium is to make disability statistics easier to find and use. The Compendium gathers the most recent national statistics on people with disabilities from various federal programs and agencies. The Compendium provides current statistics and time trends related to the prevalence of disabilities as well as key indicators on employment, health, community living, and other outcomes of importance in monitoring the well-being of individuals with disabilities..." - FAQs page

Physical Disabilities

E-Books and Journals

Annual Reports - National Physical and Sensory Disability Database Committee
Provides information about health and personal social service use, future requirements for services, and general information about physical and sensory disabilities.
Physical Disabilities--Therapeutic Implications
An open-access book with information about therapeutic approaches, including both genetic and physical, to neurobiological disabilities.

Evidence

Explicit and implicit disability attitudes of healthcare providers.
VanPuymbrouck, L., Friedman, C., & Feldner, H. (2020). Rehabilitation Psychology, 65(2), 101–112. https://doi.org/10.1037/rep0000317
Mental health problems among adolescents and young adults with childhood-onset physical disabilities: A scoping review
Shalini Lal, Stephanie Tremblay, Danielle Starcevic, Melina Mauger-Lavigne, & Dana Anaby. (2022). Mental health problems among adolescents and young adults with childhood-onset physical disabilities: A scoping review. Frontiers in Rehabilitation Sciences, 3. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.3389/fresc.2022.904586
Effect of Social Determinants of Health Interventions on Adults Living With Disabilities: A Scoping Review
Angelelli, J., McCartney, D., Roehmer, C., Swart, E. C. S., Quinby, E., Darwin, J., & Dicianno, B. E. (2022). Effect of Social Determinants of Health Interventions on Adults Living With Disabilities: A Scoping Review. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 103(5), 1023–1033. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.apmr.2021.06.021
A protocol for removing environmental barriers to independent living (REBIL): An adapted evidence-based occupational therapy intervention to increase community participation for individuals aging with long-term physical disabilities.
Chen, S.-W., Somerville, E., Devine, M., & Stark, S. (2023). A protocol for removing environmental barriers to independent living (REBIL): An adapted evidence-based occupational therapy intervention to increase community participation for individuals aging with long-term physical disabilities. British Journal of Occupational Therapy, 86(5), 349–358. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1177/03080226221126901

Online Resources

Access to Medical Care for Individuals with Mobility Disabilities
This link is to a comprehensive reference packet about ADA guidelines for health care facilities.
People with Disability Face Barriers to Basic Health Care
A commentary on the lack of access to basic health care for people with physical disabilities, including the inaccessibility of most exam room and diagnostic equipment.
Housing Resources for People with Disabilities
Housing resources for people with disabilities in the state of Massachusetts
Disability & Health Resources
Resources for creating and using inclusion strategies to improve the health, well-being, and participation of people with disabilities in all aspects of life

Mental Health Disorders

Books and Journals at Bellack Library

Community Mental Health Journal
This journal provides information on community psychiatric practice as well as book and film reviews on community mental health theory, practice and research for professionals in the field.
Journal of Mental Health
Contains research regarding mental health evaluation, services, clinical reports, and policy issues.
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health
This journal covers a wide range of topics, including evaluation techniques, special problem areas, working with other disciplines, and communicating new information regarding OT in mental health.

Evidence

Exploring the Feasibility of New Dutch Mental Health Policy within a Large Primary Health Care Centre: A Case Study
Magnée, T., de Beurs, D. P., Kok, T. Y., Verhaaka, P. F., & Verhaak, P. F. (2018). Exploring the feasibility of new Dutch mental health policy within a large primary health care centre: a case study. Family Practice, 35(2), 186–192. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1093/fampra/cmx084
Family Doctors Providing Primary Care to Patients with Mental Illness in a Tertiary Care Facility
McCracken, R. K., Fung, L., Stratis, A. K., Cottick, K. R., & Dobson, S. (2018). Family doctors providing primary care to patients with mental illness in a tertiary care facility. Canadian Family Physician, 64(10), e440–e445.
Primary Healthcare: Stigma Against Individuals with Mental Disorders
Carvalho Cassiano, A. P., Fernando Marcolan, J., & Augusto da Silva, D. (2019). Primary healthcare: Stigma against Individuals with mental disorders. Journal of Nursing UFPE / Revista de Enfermagem UFPE, 13, 359–364. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.5205/1981-8963.2019.239668
General practitioners' views towards management of common mental health disorders: Τhe critical role of continuing medical education.
Papachristopoulos, I., Sazakli, E., & Leotsinidis, M. (2023). General practitioners’ views towards management of common mental health disorders: Τhe critical role of continuing medical education. BMC Primary Care, 24(1), 63. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1186/s12875-023-02017-5
The efficacy of psychological interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental health disorders in university students: A systematic review and meta-analysis
Barnett, P., Arundell, L.-L., Saunders, R., Matthews, H., & Pilling, S. (2021). The efficacy of psychological interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental health disorders in university students: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Journal of Affective Disorders, 280(Part A), 381–406. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.jad.2020.10.060

Online Resources

FAQs about the Collaborative Care Model
The American Psychiatric Association put together a list of FAQs for primary care physicians about integrating behavioral health care into primary care.

Transcript: The Collaborative Care Model
Transcript document for the Collaborative Care Model video.

National Alliance on Mental Illness-- Types of Mental Health Professionals
This website provides an overview of many of the healthcare providers involved in mental health care, include those who conduct assessment and those responsible for prescribing medication.

Learning Disabilities

E-Books

Caring for the Physical and Mental Health of People with Learning Disabilities
This is a guide that focuses on caring for individuals with learning disabilities in the community and what their health needs could be.

Online Resources and Articles

Providing Support to People with Learning Disabilities in Primary Care
A Nursing in Practice article about communication, adjustments to care, and other information about caring for patients with learning disabilities in primary care.
Learning Disability Resources
A list of websites and publications that will guide you to information on LD/ADHD, teaching, professionals in the field, disability rights and advocacy, and government agencies and resource centers

Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

E-Books and Journals

International Journal of Developmental Disabilities
This journal covers a wide variety of topics such as evaluation of abilities, learning interventions, and medication.
Journal of Intellectual and Developmental Disability
A journal that discusses the causes of intellectual or developmental disability, as well as interventions.
Measures for Children with Developmental Disabilities: An ICF-CY Approach
This book uses the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health to create chapters regarding outcome measures for children with developmental disabilities.

Evidence

Nurses' attitudes and emotions toward caring for adults with intellectual disabilities: Results of a cross-sectional, correlational-predictive research study.
Desroches, M. L., Sethares, K. A., Curtin, C., & Chung, J. (2019). Nurses’ attitudes and emotions toward caring for adults with intellectual disabilities: Results of a cross-sectional, correlational-predictive research study. Journal of Applied Research in Intellectual Disabilities : JARID, 32(6), 1501–1513. https://doi.org/10.1111/jar.12645
Attitudes of Health Care Professionals Toward People with Intellectual Disability: A Comparison with the General Population
Morin, D., Valois, P., Crocker, A.G., Robitaille, C, & Lopes, C. (2018). Journal of Intellectual Disability Research, 62(9), 746-758.
Managing Complexity in Care of Patients with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities: Natural Fit for the Family Physician as an Expert Generalist.
Grier, E., Abells, D., Casson, I., Gemmill, M., Ladouceur, J., Lepp, A., Niel, U.,Sacks, S., & Sue, K. (2018). Managing complexity in care of patients with intellectual and developmental disabilities: Natural fit for the family physician as an expert generalist. Canadian Family Physician/Medecin De Famille Canadien, 64(Suppl 2), S15–S22.
How to measure barriers in accessing mental healthcare? Psychometric evaluation of a screening tool in parents of children with intellectual and developmental disabilities.
Xiong, T., Kaltenbach, E., Yakovenko, I., Lebsack, J., & McGrath, P. J. (2022). How to measure barriers in accessing mental healthcare? Psychometric evaluation of a screening tool in parents of children with intellectual and developmental disabilities. BMC Health Services Research, 22(1), 1383. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1186/s12913-022-08762-0

Online Resources and Articles

Addressing Gaps in Health Care for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities
CDC videos from the 2019 Public Health Grand Rounds about the efforts for improving health outcomes for people with ID and how health care professionals can reach this goal. This page has been archived by the CDC, but you can watch the video below.

Transcript-Beyond the Data - Addressing Gaps in Health Care for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities
Transcript document for the Beyond the Data - Addressing Gaps in Health Care for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities video. This transcript was automatically created with YouVideo To Text Online Converter: https://www.youvideototext.com/

Caring for a Person with Who Has Intellectual or Developmental Disabilities
A resource for caregivers of a person with an intellectual disability, with information about their health, considerations, and questions to ask a physician.

Transcript: Adapting Medical Procedures for Patients with Developmental Disabilities
Transcript document for the Adapting Medical Procedures for Patients with Disabilities video.

Autism Spectrum Disorder and Sensory Processing Disorders

E-Books and Journals

Autism Spectrum Disorder in Under 19s
This guideline covers recognising and diagnosing autism spectrum disorder in children and young people from birth up to 19 years. It also covers referral. It aims to improve the experience of children, young people and those who care for them.
Nursing of Autism Spectrum Disorder: Evidence-Based Integrated Care Across the Lifespan
This book covers how nurses can provide evidence-based health care to individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder that meets their needs across the lifespan and different health care settings.

Evidence

Systematic Review of Disparities and Differences in the Access and Use of Allied Health Services Amongst Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders.
Dallman, A. R., Artis, J., Watson, L., & Wright, S. (2021). Systematic Review of Disparities and Differences in the Access and Use of Allied Health Services Amongst Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders. Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, 51(4), 1316–1330. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1007/s10803-020-04608-y
Examining Primary Care Health Encounters for Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder
Stein Duker, L.I., Kim, H.K.S., Pomponio, A., & Pfeiffer, B. (2019). Examining primary care health encounters for adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder. American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 73, 1-11.
Sensory Processing Disorder: Perceptions on the Clinical Role of Advanced Psychiatric Nurses
Lang, M., & du Plessis, E. (2019). Sensory processing disorder: Perceptions on the clinical role of advanced psychiatric nurses. Health SA Gesondheid: Journal of Interdisciplinary Health Sciences, 0. https://doi.og/ doi: 10.4102/hsag.v24i0.1197
Utilization of a Novel Pathway in a Tertiary Pediatric Hospital to Meet the Sensory Needs of Acutely Ill Pediatric Patients
Gupta, N., Brown, C., Deneke, J., Maha, J., & Kong, M. (2019). Utilization of a novel pathway in a tertiary pediatric hospital to meet the sensory needs of acutely ill pediatric patients. Frontiers in Pediatrics. https://doi.org/10.3389/fped.2019.00367

Online Resources

Adults With Autism Spectrum Disorder: Considerations for Healthcare Providers
This article is published by the Cleveland Clinic and covers several issues concerning healthcare providers, such as Asperger Syndrome no longer being a diagnosis, diagnosing an adult with ASD, and comorbid conditions.
CDC: Information on Autism Spectrum Disorder for Healthcare Providers
This website provides several resources for healthcare providers who are working with individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder including trainings, curriculums, and screenings.
Sensory Toolpacks
Boston Medical Center's website about different toolpacks they have developed for patients to feel more comfortable in the hospital, especially children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Women with Disabilities

E-Books and Journals

Health Care for Women International
Provides an interdisciplinary approach to health care and related topics that concern women. Focuses on the newest theories, skills, and procedures. Covers nursing, health care, psychology, sociology, & anthropology.
Partnerships for Women's Health: Striving for Best Practice Within the UN Global Compact
Every minute, at least one woman dies from pregnancy and childbirth complications; a further twenty suffer injury, infection or disease. Despite medical advances, and years of national and international policy declarations, this tragic situation remains particularly severe in developing countries, violating a fundamental human right. This book draws together insights and experiences of development practitioners, policy-makers, academic experts and private sector partners to describe the Women's Health Initiative (WHI). A public private partnership based in India, the WHI took a new approach to.

Evidence

Gynecologic Care for Women with Physical Disabilities: A Qualitative Study of Patients and Providers
Sonalkar, S., Chavez, V., McClusky, J., Hunter, T.A., & Mollen, C.J. (2019). Gynecologic care for women with physical disabilities: A qualitative study of patients and providers. Women's Health Issues.
Prevalence and factors associated with sexual and reproductive health services use among reproductive age women with disabilities: a community based cross-sectional study.
Rade, B. K., Tamiru, A. T., Aynalem, G. L., Taye, E. B., Melkie, M., Abera, A., Cherkos, E. A., & Asaye, M. M. (2023). Prevalence and factors associated with sexual and reproductive health services use among reproductive age women with disabilities: a community based cross-sectional study. BMC Women’s Health, 23(1), 1–11. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1186/s12905-023-02373-5

Online Resources

CDC: Disability and Health Information for Women with Disabilities
This website provides several resources for women with disabilities including breast and cervical cancer screenings, healthy living, and intimate partner violence.
United Nations: Women with Disabilities Fact Sheet
This website provides information about health, housing, employment , and education for women and girls with disabilities.

Transcript: Reproductive Health for Women with Disabilities
Transcript document for the Reproductive Health for Women with Disabilities video.

Caring for Clients/Patients with Disabilities

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973

Help us improve the LibGuide

Overview

Websites

Videos

Books in the Collection and E-Books

Data and Statistics

Physical Disabilities

E-Books and Journals

Evidence

Online Resources

Mental Health Disorders

Books and Journals at Bellack Library

Evidence

Online Resources

Learning Disabilities

E-Books

Online Resources and Articles

Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

E-Books and Journals

Evidence

Online Resources and Articles

Autism Spectrum Disorder and Sensory Processing Disorders

E-Books and Journals

Evidence

Online Resources

Women with Disabilities

E-Books and Journals

Evidence

Online Resources