This is the "Find Articles" page of the "CAS in Reading" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CAS in Reading   Tags: disciplines  

Last Updated: Feb 24, 2017 URL: http://libguides.massgeneral.org/cas Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selecting a Search Engine

You have many choices for where to search for articles.  Here's a guide to some of the search engines that might be helpful to you.

PubMed Logo

The place every health professional and medical research goes to find literature.  It includes Medline as well as more life sciences journal and book citations.  This version will also link directly to Treadwell Library's eJournal subscriptions.  Need help with searching?

 

CINAHL Logo

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature can be a great supplement to PubMed for health professions literature.  It contains a combination of both scholarly research articles as well as articles from trade publications.  Need help with searching?

 

ERIC Logo

The Education Resources Information Center is the premier database for educational literature.  Good for information about school based interventions but also useful for information about school aged children, in general.



PsychInfo Logo

Created by the American Psychogical Association, it is the premier database for psychological, behavioral, and developmental topics. Need help with searching?

 

Cochrane Database of Systematic Review Logo

Just as the title states, this is a databse comprised entirely of full-text systematic reviews.  They are all created specifically for this collection and have not been published in journals.  These systematic reviews are considered to be of a very high standard.

 

Google Scholar Logo

A great place to start your search and to find articles across a wide range of disciplines.  You will want to set your preferences to show Treadwell's full-text links  (unfortunately only a limited number of their subscriptions work this way; you will need to check the Journals List for articles that do not have full-text links.).  Go to Settings, then Library Links (in the left navigation), Search for and select Massachusetts General Hospital - EBSCOhost Full Text.

 

Search Across all Databases

MGH Search Bar

The one stop shop for scholarly articles at the IHP!
 

Intro to Searching MGH OneSearch

 

Other Libraries

Not finding what you need at Treadwell?

  • Countway Library - Your MGH ID Badge gives you access to this Harvard Medical School library.  You have to visit in person, but once inside you have access to all of the electronic and print resources.

  • Boston Public Library - anyone with a Massachusetts address can get access to their electronic databases and journals.

Still no luck?  Try searching WorldCat in the box below.

 

Journals at Other Libraries

Can't find what you need at Treadwell? Many local libraries are open to the public and welcome visitors.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Don't forget to call ahead before visiting!

 

Document Delivery

Book Ballon Image

 No full-text? Request it!

Interlibrary Loan Form

This service is free to the IHP community.  Be sure to select MGH Institute of Health Professions in the Billing Information section.

Director of the Library

Profile Image
Jessica Bell
Contact Info
Library and Study Commons
Building 38, 4th Floor
Send Email

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Amanda Tarbet
Contact Info
B38 4th floor
M-Th 10:30 am to 6:30 pm
Send Email
 

Ask A Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip