MGH Guides: Asian American Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Health Resources: Mental Health Resources for Black, Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC)

Mental Health Resources for Black, Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC)

The content on this page was pulled from a collection of resources originally published by Mass General on March 18, 2021. This page is no longer posted online.

On the original page, they included the following note:

With special thanks to the Division of Public and Community Psychiatry (Drs. Luana Marques and Derri Shtasel) and the Psychiatry Center for Diversity (Drs. Nhi-Ha Trinh, Anne Emmerich and Nadia Quijije)

Local Resources

The Social Impact Center's Cory Johnson Program for Post-Traumatic Healing
Free weekly trauma support programming held at Roxbury Presbyterian Church, open to all
MGH Chelsea HealthCare Center
Offers mental health treatment services in languages other than English
MGH Revere HealthCare Center
Offers mental health treatment services in languages other than English

Mental Health Provider Directories

Inclusive Therapists
Virtual directory of culturally competent and social justice-oriented therapists; includes list of therapists currently offering reduced-fee teletherapy
Asian, Pacific Islander, and South Asian American (APISAA) Therapist Directory
Virtual directory of APISAA mental health providers
Latinx Therapy
Virtual directory of mental health providers for Latinx community
QTPoC Mental Health Practitioner Directory
Virtual directory of mental health practitioners across the country for queer and trans people of color, provided by the National Queer and Trans Therapists of Color Network
BEAM: Black Emotional and Mental Health Collective
BEAM is a national training, movement building, and grant making institution that is dedicated to the healing, wellness, and liberation of Black and marginalized communities.
Boris Lawrence Henson Foundation Resource Directory
Virtual directory of mental health providers, programs and resource materials for the African-American community
Black Mental Health Alliance
Virtual directory of culturally-competent and patient-centered licensed mental health professionals
Melanin & Mental Health Directory
Virtual directory of culturally competent mental health clinicians for Black & Latinx/Hispanic communities
Therapy for Black Girls Directory
Virtual directory of culturally competent therapy providers for Black women and girls, searchable by location. Fellowships and financial assistance are available through the Loveland Foundation
Therapy for Black Men Directory
Virtual directory of clinicians providing therapy for Black men

Online Support Groups

Therapy for Black Girls
Online space founded by Dr. Joy Bradford dedicated to encouraging the mental wellness of Black women and girls, including a free podcast aimed at making mental health topics accessible
Sister Afya Online Sister Support Group
Support group for learning from other women and learning life skills to improve mental well-being

Self-Guided Virtual Resources

Apps and Materials

The Safe Place
Free smartphone app focused on psychoeducation and self-care for minority mental health, geared towards the Black community (available on Apple devices)
Racial Trauma Guide
Virtual guide on coping with racial stressors and being an ally, developed by the EMPOWER (Engaging Minorities in Prevention Outreach Wellness Education & Research) Lab
Black Emotional and Mental Health (BEAM) Toolkit & Resources

Reads

The Link Between Experiences of Racism and Stress and Anxiety for Black Americans: A Mindfulness and Acceptance-Based Coping Approach
Article discusses link between experiences of racism and mental health, with a specific focus on anxiety; coping strategies that may be beneficial in the face of experiences of racism; and recognizing broader responsibilities outside individuals to reduce racism
COVID-19 Resources from the Asian American Psychological Association
A compilation of resources relevant for Asian American individuals for responding to racism/harassment and COVID-19 stress, potential resources for assistance, and a list of culturally relevant mental health organizations.

Other Resource Compilations

Further Resources for Clinicians

The Massachusetts General Hospital Textbook on Diversity and Cultural Sensitivity in Mental Health by Ranna Parekh (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461489177

Publication Date: 2013-11-23

Prominent researchers and clinicians examine the cultural and cross-cultural mental health issues of Native American, Latino, Asian, African American, Middle Eastern, Refugee and LGBQT communities. (e-Book. Click title for access.)