MGH Guides: Alumni Resources: Nursing

American Nurses Association (ANA) Membership

Organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses. Founded in 1896, and with members in all 50 states and U.S. territories.

Members can access:

American Nurse
Official journal of the American Nurses Association (ANA). Contains evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical data and information. Published monthly, 10 times in print and twice in electronic format (in August and December).
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing (OJIN)
Peer-reviewed publication that provides a forum for discussion of current topics of interest to nurses and other health care professionals. Presents different views on issues that affect nursing research, education, and practice. Indexed by Medline, CINAHL, and Scopus.
CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides indexing for 3,000+ journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines (English only). Also includes nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, and more.

Selected Professional Associations by Nursing Specialty

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) Membership

Members can access:

Journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (JAANP)
Peer-reviewed articles addressing clinical practice and management, health policy, research, education and other issues affecting NPs.
The Journal for Nurse Practitioners (JNP)
Published 10 times each year. Stay current with clinical and policy concerns affecting your day-to-day practice.
AANP SmartBrief Newsletter (no link)
Health-related information from national media sources delivered straight to your inbox every weekday.

Anyone can access:

The Voice of the Nurse Practitioner Podcast
Free access. Discussions on the most important topics and issues related to nurse practitioner (NP) practice, education, advocacy, research and leadership.

American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) Membership

Members can access:

Critical Care Nurse (CCN)
Bimonthly. Provides current clinical practice information about bedside care of critically and acutely ill patients.
American Journal of Critical Care (AJCC)
Bimonthly. Scientific journal offering current advances in clinical research, with features that highlight bedside applications of select research articles
AACN Advanced Critical Care
Quarterly. Covering the most current advice on a full range of critical care challenges.
AACN Bold Voices
Monthly magazine for members. Contains concise articles presenting the latest acute and critical care nursing evidence and news, and AACN initiatives.
Clinical Resources by topic

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) Membership

Professional association that represents certified nurse-midwives (CNMs) and certified midwives (CMs) in the United States. ACNM sets the standard for excellence in midwifery education and practice in the United States and strengthens the capacity of midwives in developing countries.

Members can access:

Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health (JMWH)
Official peer-reviewed journal of the American College of Nurse-Midwives. Presents new research and current knowledge across a broad range of clinical and interdisciplinary topics including maternity care, gynecology, primary care for women and newborns, public health, health care policy, and global health.
Quickening
Digital news site for the American College of Nurse-Midwives. For more than 35 years, Quickening has been sharing news, updates, and articles about the activities of ACNM and its members, clinical and practice-related topics, personal essays, profiles, and related subjects. Quickening content is written by and for ACNM members and staff.

Selected Open Access Journals

Lippincott Nursing Center: Nursing Journals
Create a free membership to enjoy free full-text articles from this respected publisher of 60+ nursing journals.
DOAJ's Nursing Journals, English only
Directory of Open Access Journals is a community-curated initiative that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Search by specialty within subject, Medicine. Includes more than 100 Nursing journals in English.

Portals for Open Access Scholarship

Amedeo's Free Medical Journals
Open access medical journals. Search by medical specialty.
BioMed Central
Peer-reviewed open access medical journals. Search by medical specialty.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Search by specialty within subject, Medicine. Includes many Nursing journals.
SpringerOpen Journals
Explore peer-reviewed open access journals by discipline. Example: Medicine and Public Health.