"The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) and Sleep Research Society (SRS) developed a consensus recommendation for the amount of sleep needed to promote optimal health in adults, using a modified RAND Appropriateness Method process"
Mastin, D., Bryson, J., & Corwyn, R. (2006). Assessment of Sleep Hygiene Using the Sleep Hygiene Index. Journal of Behavioral Medicine, 29(3), 223–227. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1007/s10865-006-9047-6
Lukowski, A. F., & Tsukerman, D. (2021). Temperament, sleep quality, and insomnia severity in university students: Examining the mediating and moderating role of sleep hygiene. PloS One, 16(7), e0251557. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0251557
Uthman Albakri, Elizabeth Drotos, & Ree Meertens. (2021). Sleep Health Promotion Interventions and Their Effectiveness: An Umbrella Review. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 18(5533), 5533. https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph18115533
Rakhimov, A., Whibley, D., & Tang, N. K. Y. (2022). Cognitive-behavioural pathways from pain to poor sleep quality and emotional distress in the general population: The indirect effect of sleep-related anxiety and sleep hygiene. PloS One, 17(1), e0260614. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0260614
The study of phenomena that occur during sleep has always aroused a great interest in various fields of human knowledge, both in religion and in philosophy, as well as in science. Hippocrates and Aristotle conducted different studies and observations on sleep and dreams, focusing on the changes that affect the state of consciousness between the waking and sleeping states. Freud even started from the observations and interpretation of dreams in the foundation of the psychoanalytic method. After the introduction of the electroencephalogram (EEG) by Hans Berger (1929), the beginning of modern sleep medicine began. Currently, the scientific literature in this field is very vast, gathering different aspects of many medical specialties, mainly including psychiatry, neurology, pneumology, cardiology, internal medicine, and others. Precisely because of this broad extension, it is not completely explorable by clinicians and is not always adequate for their needs.
Written by Richard Berry, MD, author of the popular Sleep Medicine Pearls, Fundamentals of Sleep Medicine is a concise, clinically focused alternative to larger sleep medicine references. A recipient of the 2010 AASM Excellence in Education award, Dr. Berry is exceptionally well qualified to distill today's most essential sleep medicine know-how in a way that is fast and easy to access and apply in your practice. Get clear guidance on applying the AASM scoring criteria. Reinforce your knowledge with more than 350 review questions. Get the answers you need quickly thanks to Dr. Berry's direct and clear writing style. Access the complete contents online at Expert Consult, including videos demonstrating parasomnias, leg kicks, and more. Provides the essentials needed to deliver accurate treatment.
Golem, D., Eck, K. M., Delaney, C. L., Clark, R. L., Shelnutt, K. P., Olfert, M. D., & Byrd-Bredbenner, C. (2019). “My stuffed animals help me”: the importance, barriers, and strategies for adequate sleep behaviors of school-age children and parents. Sleep Health: Journal of the National Sleep Foundation, 5(2), 152–160. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.sleh.2018.11.003
Since the early 20th century, parenting books, pediatricians, and other health care providers have dispensed recommendations regarding children's sleep that frequently involved behavioral and educational approaches. In the last few decades, however, psychologists and other behavioralscientists and clinicians have amassed a critical body of research and clinical recommendations regarding developmental changes in sleep, sleep hygiene recommendations from infancy through adolescence, and behaviorally oriented treatment strategies for children and adolescents.The Oxford Handbook of Infant, Child, and Adolescent Sleep and Behavior provides a comprehensive and state-of-the-art review of current research and clinical developments in normal and disordered sleep from infancy through emerging adulthood. The handbook comprises seven sections: sleep anddevelopment; factors influencing sleep; assessment of sleep and sleep problems; sleep challenges, problems, and disorders; consequences of insufficient sleep; sleep difficulties associated with developmental and behavioral risks; and prevention and intervention.Written by international experts in psychology and related disciplines from diverse fields of study and clinical backgrounds, this handbook is a comprehensive resource that will meet the needs of clinicians, researchers, and graduate students with an interest in the multidisciplinary and emergingfield of child and adolescent sleep and behavior.
Healthy Habits by Rebecca Weber
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
From one morning to the next, you can have a healthy day. See how exercise, rest, and good food should be everyone's Healthy Habits.
Helps to monitor when you are asleep and awake during the night. It can also be used to see when your best quality of sleep happens based off information you provide (when you consume caffeine, how late you stay up, etc.). This app will also wake you up during the right stage of sleep.
This app provides a variety of guided meditations to help individuals sleep more deeply. Individuals can create their own sleep program using a playlist feature which allows them to listen to up to six meditations in one session. There are options to listen to listen to voice alone or voice with music or nature sounds, and choose how long the background will continue after the voice guidance stops.
This app is for individuals who are engaged in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) for Insomnia with a health provider, or who have experienced symptoms of insomnia and would like to improve their sleep habits. This app provides a structured program that teaches strategies proven to improve sleep and help alleviate symptoms of insomnia. This app guides individuals through the process of learning about sleep, developing positive sleep routines, and improving their sleep environment.
The first comprehensive book on the subject, The Genetic Basis of Sleep and Sleep Disorders covers detailed reviews of the general principles of genetics and genetic techniques in the study of sleep and sleep disorders. The book contains sections on the genetics of circadian rhythms, of normal sleep and wake states and of sleep homeostasis. There are also sections discussing the role of genetics in the understanding of insomnias, hypersomnias including narcolepsy, parasomnias and sleep-related movement disorders. The final chapter highlights the use of gene therapy in sleep disorders. Written by genetic experts and sleep specialists from around the world, the book is up to date and geared specifically to the needs of both researchers and clinicians with an interest in sleep medicine. This book will be an invaluable resource for sleep specialists, neurologists, geneticists, psychiatrists and psychologists.
Sleep and Movement Disorders is the second edition of a successful book that was the first of its kind. Since its publication in 2002, significant progress has been made in our understanding of motor control in sleep and the relationship between sleep and movement disorders. All three editors are authorities on the subject and have assembled expert specialists for their chapter authors. This is a comprehensive resource, including all findings from the last 8 years of research. All the previous chapters have been revised with new materials and references. Several chapters have been added to address recent advances. The book is intended for all sleep and movement disorders specialists as well as those neurologists, internists including pulmonologists,psychiatrists, psychologists, otolaryngologists, pediatricians, neurosurgeons, dentists and family physicians who must deal with the many patients suffering from undiagnosed or underdiagnosed sleep disorders including sleep-related abnormal movements.
Sleep dysfunction is one of the primary symptoms reported by patients with psychiatric disorders, and specifically those suffering from anxiety and depressive disorders. Conversely, primary insomnia and other sleep disorders produce symptoms of mood disturbance that are quite similar to thosereported by patients with psychiatric disorders. Because of this overlap in the symptoms and treatments for insomnias and psychiatric disorders, it is important for clinicians to be able to accurately identify the root cause of sleep dysfunction in individual patients in order to optimize treatment.Part of the Oxford Psychiatry Library series, Sleep Disorders provides clinicians with an overview of current understanding of sleep physiology, the pathophysiology of sleep disturbance, and the diagnosis and treatment of sleep disorders. This second edition includes new sections covering sleepproblems in children, sleep in the elderly, and sleep in pregnancy and menopause, as well as new algorithms from the British Association of Psychopharmacology's (BAP's) new Consensus Guidelines on the management of sleep disorders.