MGH Guides: Pediatric Health: Pediatric

Communicating with Children

Tips

All of the principles on this page apply to children as well, but here are some additional tips for communicating with this population.

Be age appropriate
Find out your audience's typical reading level as well as the level of conceptual difficulty they can handle. Consider the appropriate image to text ratio.
Incorporate audience participation into any learning activity, even if you cannot directly interact with your audience.
Address the whole child in your learning activities
Compartmentalizing is not a strong skill for most children; therefore consider any physical, emotional, social, and cognitive needs that may be present and incorporate them into your approach.
Use positive messages that focus on strengths.
Let children imagine what they can be, not what they shouldn't be. This includes using images that let children see themselves in positive ways.

(adapted from UNICEF's Communicating with Children)

Articles

The relationship between health literacy and health conceptualizations: An exploratory study of elementary school-aged children.
Bhagat, K., Howard, D. E., & Aldoory, L. (2018). The Relationship Between Health Literacy and Health Conceptualizations:An Exploratory Study of Elementary School-Aged Children. Health Communication, 33(2), 131–138. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1080/10410236.2016.1250188
Communication strategies for empowering and protecting children.
Bell, J., & Condren, M. (2016). Communication Strategies for Empowering and Protecting Children. The journal of pediatric pharmacology and therapeutics : JPPT : the official journal of PPAG, 21(2), 176–184. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.5863/1551-6776-21.2.176
Communicating with children and young people.
Dryden, P., & Greenshields, S. (2020). Communicating with children and young people. British Journal of Nursing, 29(20), 1164–1166. https://doi.org/10.12968/bjon.2020.29.20.1164
Public Libraries as Supportive Environments for Children’s Development of Critical Health Literacy
Catherine L. Jenkins, Susie Sykes, & Jane Wills. (2022). Public Libraries as Supportive Environments for Children’s Development of Critical Health Literacy. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 19(11896), 11896. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.3390/ijerph191911896

Nutrition for Children

Nutrition for Kids

MyPlate for Children
Nutrition for Children
Provides a collection of links on food and nutrition for kids
Childhood Nutrition Facts
The CDC provides facts on nutrition for children and a link to their American Dietary Guidelines
School Health Guidelines
The CDC provides guidelines for schools to promote health and nutrition for students
Dietary Recommendations for Children
The AHA provides dietary recommendations for healthy children such as eating patterns and portions by age and gender
Child Nutrition
The USDA contains a variety of links relevant to child nutrition

Fun + Games

Kids Farmers Market Scavenger Hunt

Yummy Fruits and Vegetables Game
At Bellack Library: PHY NUT YUMFRU

The Best Homemade Kids' Snacks on the Planet by Laura Fuentes
Call Number: PHY NUT BEST
ISBN: 9781592336616
Publication Date: 2015-06-15
How to Teach Nutrition to Kids, 4th ed. by Connie Liakos Evers; Carol J. Buckle (Illustrator)
Call Number: PHY NUT HOWTO
ISBN: 0964797003
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
The Healthy Lunchbox by Marie McLendon; Cristy Shauck; American Diabetes Association Staff
Call Number: PHY NUT MEAL
Publication Date: 2005

Physical Activity for Children

Evidence

Accessing Physical Activity and Health Disparities among Underserved Hispanic Children: The Role of Actual and Perceived Motor Competence.
Zhang, Tao, Joonyoung Lee, Tsz Lun Alan Chu, Changzhou Chen, and Xiangli Gu. 2020. “Accessing Physical Activity and Health Disparities among Underserved Hispanic Children: The Role of Actual and Perceived Motor Competence.” International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health 17 (9). doi:10.3390/ijerph17093013.
Associations between objective measures of physical activity, sleep, and stress levels among preschool children
Dagny Y. Eythorsdottir, Peder Frederiksen, Sofus C. Larsen, Nanna J. Olsen, and Berit L. Heitmann. 2020. “Associations between Objective Measures of Physical Activity, Sleep and Stress Levels among Preschool Children.” BMC Pediatrics 20 (1): 1–7. doi:10.1186/s12887-020-02108-7.
Evaluation of Gross Motor Coordination and Physical Fitness in Children: Comparison between Soccer and Multisport Activities
Popović, B., Gušić, M., Radanović, D., Andrašić, S., Madić, D.M., Mačak, D., Stupar, D., Đukić, G., Grujičić, D., & Trajković, N. (2020). Evaluation of Gross Motor Coordination and Physical Fitness in Children: Comparison between Soccer and Multisport Activities. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 17(5902), 5902. https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph17165902
Physical activity and brain structure, brain function, and cognition in children and youth: A systematic review of randomized controlled trials
Gunnell, K. E., Poitras, V. J., LeBlanc, A., Schibli, K., Barbeau, K., Hedayati, N., Ponitfex, M. B., Goldfield, G. S., Dunlap, C., Lehan, E., & Tremblay, M. S. (2019). Physical activity and brain structure, brain function, and cognition in children and youth: A systematic review of randomized controlled trials. Mental Health and Physical Activity, 16, 105–127. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mhpa.2018.11.002
Effects of a Strength-Dominated Exercise Program on Physical Fitness and Cognitive Performance in Preschool Children.
Wick, K., Kriemler, S., & Granacher, U. (2021). Effects of a Strength-Dominated Exercise Program on Physical Fitness and Cognitive Performance in Preschool Children. Journal of Strength & Conditioning Research (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins), 35(4), 983–990. https://doi.org/10.1519/jsc.0000000000003942

Handouts

Energy Balance: Energy In and Energy Out
Use this worksheet to better understand how balancing energy in and energy out can help your family maintain a healthy weight.
Families Finding the Balance: A Parent Handbook
From the US Department of Health and Human Services. Offers practical tips to help parents help their families find the right balance of eating well and being physically active to maintain a healthy weight.
Parent Tips: Be Active and Have Fun!
Try these tips from We Can!® to help increase daily physical activity and have fun at the same time.
Take Charge of Your Health: A Guide for Teenagers
A booklet from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases that is designed to help teenagers take small and simple steps to keep a healthy weight. It provides basic facts about nutrition and physical activity, and offers practical tools to use in everyday life, from reading food labels and selecting how much and what foods to eat, to replacing TV time with physical activities.

Activities

Indoor Physical Activity Ideas for Families
Physically active games that can be played indoors from the University of Rochester Medical Center
Adapted Physical Activities
Physical activities and games with suggestions on how to adapt for children with disabilities

Borrow from the Library

The Fitness Station
Call Number: PHY FIT FITSTA
Kit contains a dozen posters and a DVD to teach students in grades K-6 about exercise
Taking care of yourself: Getting exercise by Rebecca Rissman; Sian Smith
Call Number: PHY FIT GETT
Publication Date: 2012
Teach young readers about basic personal hygiene in this simple, easy-to-read series. This book uses clear photographs and easy-to-follow instructions to help children get exercise and stay fit. A simple picture glossary reinforces new vocabulary.
You are a lion! and other fun yoga poses by Taeeun Yoo
Call Number: PHY FIT YOU
Publication Date: 2012
With simple instructions and bright, clear illustrations, award-winning artist Taeeun Yoo invites children to enjoy yoga by assuming playful animal poses. And she sparks their imagination further by encouraging them to pretend to be the animal - to flutter like a butterfly, hiss like a snake, roar like a lion and more. Yoga is great for kids because it promotes flexibility and focus - and it's relaxing good fun! The charming pictures of children and animals and the lyrical text make this gentle introduction to yoga a book to be treasured.
Activity Cards for Promoting Physical Activity in the Classroom
Call Number: PHY FIT CLASS
More than 260 activities that can be implemented quickly and easily – utilizing limited space and equipment.
Yoga Spinner Game by ThinkFun
Call Number: PHY FIT SPINNER
Yoga Spinner helps spin kids into 54 yoga poses, training them to become flexible, focused, and firm in both body and mind. Designed for kids ages 5 and up.

Yoga and Mindfulness for Kids

Sitting Still Like a Frog by Eline Snel
Call Number: MEH MINDFUL FROG
Publication Date: 2013
Yoga Spinner Game by ThinkFun
Call Number: PHY FIT SPINNER
How to Raise a Mindful Eater by Maryann Jacobsen
Call Number: MEH MINDFUL EATER
Publication Date: 2016
You are a lion! : and other fun yoga poses by Taeeun Yoo
Call Number: PHY FIT YOU
Publication Date: 2012
I Can Handle It! by Laurie Wright; Ana Santos (Illustrator)
Call Number: MEH MINDFUL ICAN
Publication Date: 2017
Mindful games activity cards: 55 fun ways to share mindfulness with kids and teens by Whitney Stewart; Mina Braun (Illustrator)
Call Number: MEH MINDFUL GAMES
Publication Date: 2017
The Mindful Games Deck by Susan Kaiser Greenland; Annaka Harris (Contribution by)
Call Number: MEH MINDFUL KIDS
Publication Date: 2017
100 Yoga Activities for Children by Shobana R. Vinay
ISBN: 9781510719590
Publication Date: 2017-04-25
Animal Asanas by Leila Kadri Oostendorp; Elsa Bahia (Illustrator)
ISBN: 3791372750
Publication Date: 2017-04-25

Internet Safety for Children and Teens

Internet Safety for Children and Teens

General Information

Online Safety for Children and Teens
Reviews the most common threats to internet safety and what parents can do to combat them.

A Parent's Guide to Online Safety by Doug Fodeman; Marje Monroe
Call Number: SAFE ONL APARE
Publication Date: 2013
The authors cover the digital citizenship topics all parents should be aware of and provide advice for setting limits for your child.
Safe practices for life online: A guide for middle and high school by Doug Fodeman; Marje Monroe
Call Number: SAFE ONL SAFEPR
Publication Date: 2012
This new edition offers practical advice to help middle and high school students stay safe online by making better choices and minimizing their risks. Cyberbullying, identity theft, phishing schemes, false advertising, the challenges of Facebook, and more are all fully explained.

Cyberbullying

Cyber Bullying: A prevention curriculum for grades 3-5 by Sue Limber; Robin M. Kowalski; Patricia W. Agatston
Call Number: VIO BUL CYBER
ISBN: 9781592857159
Publication Date: 2009-01-28
One in five 'tweens', or students from ages 8 to 12, report knowing a friend who has been bullied online. Seven per cent of tweens report having been bullied online themselves. This title provides age-appropriate activities that help students communicate respectfully with others when using cyber technology.
Cyber Bullying: A prevention curriculum for grades 6-12 by Susan P. Limber
Call Number: VIO BUL CYBER
ISBN: 9781592855964
Publication Date: 2008-09-08
This eight session program is designed specifically for students in middle school and high school. Using stories based on actual news events, students participate in small group discussions that center on real-life issues that teens face on the Internet everyday. At the end of the program, students work in small groups to create a plan for their own social networking Web site*. *Students do not actually create a social networking site.

Library Resources

The Good Teen by Richard M. Lerner; Roberta Israeloff (As told to)
Call Number: YOUTH CHAR GOOTEE
ISBN: 0307347575
Publication Date: 2007-10-09
Children of Color, 2nd ed. [print] by Jewelle Taylor Gibbs (Editor)
ISBN: 0787962686
Publication Date: 2003-04-14
Teaching stress management: Activities for children and young adults by Nanette E. Tummers
Call Number: MEH STR TEACH
Publication Date: 2011
What to do when you worry too much: A kid's guide to overcoming anxiety by Dawn Huebner; Bonnie Matthews (Illustrator)
Call Number: MEH STR WHAT
ISBN: 9781591473145
Publication Date: 2005
The Struggle to Be Strong by Al Desetta (Editor); Sybil Wolin (Editor)
ISBN: 1575420791
Publication Date: 2000-01-15
A Kids' Guide to Hunger and Homelessness by Cathryn Berger Kaye
ISBN: 9781575422404
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
Kids explore what others in the world (including young people) have done and are doing to address the issues, find out what their community needs, and develop a service project. The workbook includes facts, quotations, real-life examples, write-on pages, resources, a note to adults--and a lot of inspiration to get out there and make a difference in the world. Includes exclusive interviews with author and activist Francis Moor Lappé, and Lindsey Lee Johnson, author of Soul Moon Soup, the story of a girl living on the streets with her mother.