Note. The time passed quick while she read stories. Adapted from Images from the History of Medicine (IHM), by Zwerdling, Michael, Theodor Eismann, between 1914 and 1918. (http://resource.nlm.nih.gov.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/101696328). In the public domain.
NLM’s Digital Collections allow searching and browsing numerous document collections: Images from the History of Medicine, World War 1, Medicine in the Americas 1610-1920, and many more. You can also search the collections for only images.
Are the resources copyrighted? (Source)
All content in Digital Collections is freely available to view using the built-in Book Viewer, Image Viewer and Video Player. Unless otherwise indicated, all content is in the public domain. Additional information about copyright and fair use of NLM materials is available at NLM Copyright Information and Historical Collections Copyright Information.
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)
IHM in NLM Digital Collections provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
The NLM Visible Human Project® has created publicly available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Man data set was publicly released in 1994 and the Visible Woman in 1995.
Origin, Goals, and Usage (Source)
The Visible Human Project® is an outgrowth of the NLM 1986 Long-Range Plan, which foresaw a future in which NLM “bibliographic and factual database services would be complemented by libraries of digital images, distributed over high speed computer networks and by high capacity physical media.”
The 1998 NLM Board of Regents report affirmed “the long-term goal of the Visible Human Project, which is to produce a system of knowledge structures that will transparently link visual knowledge forms to symbolic knowledge formats such as the names of body parts.” The report continued: “NLM support of research on image data sets and tools that offer the potential of generating new biomedical knowledge, and the means to develop and use such knowledge, in collaboration with U.S. and international research partners, is a valuable contribution to international health efforts. Such research should emphasize the tools, technologies, and technical standards for creating, managing, and accessing the large-scale image data sets like those being developed by the Visible Human Project.”
According to that report, by 1998 the Visible Human data sets had “been licensed for use worldwide by some 1000 research, academic, and industrial groups in 28 countries. The images are being used for teaching, modeling radiation absorption and therapy, equipment design, surgical simulation, and simulation of diagnostic procedures, ….”
National Eye Institute Media Library
The National Eye Institute Media Library provides images and other media from multiple categories: eye exams and medical care, infographics, anatomy, laboratory, eye disease simulations, etc.
Images and Video Usage (Source)
All photos and videos on this site belong to the National Eye Institute (NEI). Please credit ©NEI when you use any image or video from the library.
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge.
An open-access biomedical image search engine, all photos are free to use.
The National Cancer Institute offers a collection of featured medical images in several collections: science & technology, childhood cancer, Spanish-language images and diagrams, anatomy, historical images, and B-roll videos. The full collection is also searchable.
Use of Images (Source)
Each image or illustration included in the NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use).
Most of the images available in this library are in the public domain and are not subject to copyright restrictions. No special permission is required to use or reproduce public domain images. However, ANY reproduced images should acknowledge NCI as the originator, the NCI Web site, www.cancer.gov, as the source and/or the image creator.
The source can be cited as: The Web site of the National Cancer Institute (https://www.cancer.gov).
Some images are copyright protected. If an image is marked as copyright protected, you must contact the rights holder to obtain permission to reuse. Contact information for reuse is posted at the bottom of the details page for each copyrighted image. Permissions, including credit line and/or fees for use of privately owned material, must be negotiated directly with the private-sector contractor, independent of the government. NCI does not have the authority to grant usage for any copyrighted images in this library.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
This is a searchable collection of scientific photos, illustrations, and videos. The images and videos in this gallery are licensed under Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial ShareAlike 3.0. This license lets you remix, tweak, and build upon this work non-commercially, as long as you credit and license your new creations under identical terms.
Centers for Disease Control: Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
The Public Health Image Library offers a number of topical image collections on topics like influenza, bioterrorism, lab science, and more. Also of interest are image subsets selected for their interest to particular audiences: health care providers, teachers & trainers, librarians & researchers, students, consumers, and more.
What regulations govern the use of images in the PHIL? (Source)
Images are either "Public Domain" (free use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use)
