Search our A-to-Z list for all eTreadwell eBooks.
Or, see these books related to global health issues:
21st Century Global Health Diplomacy by
REVIEW VOLUME
Accountability And Responsibility In Health Care: Issues In Addressing An Emerging Global Challenge by
Serious scholarly analyses of the types and roles of accountability in health care first appeared in the late 1980s. That issue, along with the related issue of responsibility in health care, has continued to interest policymakers, analysts and scholars ever since. Indeed, there has been a renewed surge of interest in recent years, with growing attention to the notion of accountable care organizations in the US, clinical audits in the UK, and governance as stewardship in many other countries. Accountability and responsibility in health care was also the theme of a major international conference organized by the Israel National Institute for Health Policy Research, which was held in Jerusalem in 2009.This book is a collection of scholarly articles on the themes of accountability and responsibility in health care and seeks to be the premier book in that field. It includes selected papers from the 2009 Jerusalem Conference, analytic essays on how accountability and responsibility are playing out in eight different countries, and reprints of some of the classic articles in the field.The book will interest policymakers, managers, researchers and students, and many of the ideas presented here will help shape the development of this field in the years ahead. Some of these ideas have appeared in other forums; the unique contribution of this volume is that it is the first to bring together so many different perspectives on accountability and responsibility in health care. This volume will both acquaint readers with some of the latest thinking on accountability and responsibility in health care, and will serve as a catalyst for future reflection, research and writing in this area.
Ciottone's Disaster Medicine by
The most comprehensive resource of its kind, Ciottone's Disaster Medicine, 2nd Edition, thoroughly covers isolated domestic events as well as global disasters and humanitarian crises. Dr. Gregory Ciottone and more than 200 worldwide authorities share their knowledge and expertise on the preparation, assessment, and management of both natural and man-made disasters, including terrorist attacks and the threat of biological warfare. Part 1 offers an A-to-Z resource for every aspect of disaster medicine and management, while Part 2 features an exhaustive compilation of every conceivable disaster event, organized to facilitate quick reference in a real-time setting. Quickly grasp key concepts, including identification of risks, organizational preparedness, equipment planning, disaster education and training, and more advanced concepts such as disaster risk reduction, tactical EMS, hazard vulnerability analysis, impact of disaster on children, and more. Understand the chemical and biologic weapons known to exist today, as well as how to best manage possible future events and scenarios for which there is no precedent. Be prepared for man-made disasters with new sections that include Topics Unique to Terrorist Events and High-Threat Disaster Response and Operational Medicine (covering tactical and military medicine). Get a concise overview of lessons learned by the responders to recent disasters such as the earthquake in Haiti, Hurricane Sandy, the 2014 Ebola outbreak, and active shooter events like Sandy Hook, CT and Aurora, CO. Learn about the latest technologies such as the use of social media in disaster response and mobile disaster applications. Ensure that everyone on your team is up-to-date with timely topics, thanks to new chapters on disaster nursing, crisis leadership, medical simulation in disaster preparedness, disaster and climate change, and the role of non-governmental agencies (NGOs) in disaster response - a critical topic for those responding to humanitarian needs overseas. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine by
Test your knowledge in tropical medicine with Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine! Boasting an easily accessible, highly templated format and full-color photographs throughout, this medical reference book is designed to help anyone in the field better identify the tropical diseases they'll encounter. As a companion product to Manson's Tropical Diseases, Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine offers over 75 cases covering today's most prevalent diseases. It's an ideal study tool for infectious diseases fellows, doctors preparing for exams, primary care doctors with patients returning from abroad, and global health nurses and practitioners alike. "...Clinical Cases should serve as a powerful learning tool for years to come!" Foreword by: Peter Hotez, Feb 2015 Stay at the forefront of tropical medicine with in-depth coverage of the latest research, including tropical neurology and AIDS- and HIV-associated diseases and treatments. Study as efficiently as possible with help from a Q&A format and succinct summary boxes. Expand your knowledge concerning rare and neglected tropical diseases, as well as how diagnosis and treatment takes place in resource-poor settings. Gain a complete understanding of tropical diseases with this companion product to Manson's Tropical Diseases, 23rd Edition (ISBN: 978-0-7020-5101-2). A reading list at the end of each case will directly refer to a corresponding chapter in Manson's, further expediting study.
Ethics for International Medicine : A Practical Guide for Aid Workers in Developing Countries by
In recent years, international medicine has become a growth industry. International aid organizations, religious organizations, and medical schools all provide opportunities for health care workers to travel to developing countries to provide needed medical care to the world’s poorest citizens. Ethics for International Medicine explores the many challenges faced by these medical aid workers from the West: They serve in settings with limited medical supplies, facilities, and personnel. Their patients speak different languages, have different cultures, and may even have different interpretations of disease. With limited time in which to provide medical care to hundreds of people or more, ethical dilemmas abound, and many health care practitioners, both novice and expert, are unprepared to manage them. This volume uses a series of cases studies to provide medical aid workers with a method for identifying, analyzing, and resolving ethical issues within the context of international medicine. It is an invaluable tool for individuals and health organizations seeking to serve in developing countries throughout the world.
GLOBAL HEALTH CARE : Issues and Policies by
Global Health Care: Issues and Policies, Third Edition provides students with current information on various global health topics. Written by academic authors, scientists and health practitioners, the text prepares students with a basic perspective of health policy issues from various geographical regions, and explains how they are affected by significant world events. The text addresses international health and healthcare at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.
Global Health Disparities by
One hundred countries--more than half of the world's population--have made significant strides in the last 30 years, improving life expectancy and the health of their populations. Despite socioeconomic limitations, extended wars, embargos, and geographic limitations, these countries managed to provide basic health care, primary education, and clean water for their populations.In this unique book, the author puts these, and many other countries, under the microscope through a detailed examination of best practices and best outcomes. Anchored on landmark UN declarations, and based on numerous indices including the World Development Index, Global Health Disparities: Closing the Gap Through Good Governance covers relevant policies and laws in international health and offers many data, tables, and figures. Discussion questions are included in each chapter to be used as assignments, debate topics, and to facilitate classroom learning. Ideal for graduate level global/international public health courses as well as courses in international relations and international policy.
Global Health Nursing : Building and Sustaining Partnerships by
Primarily, the book covers different global health partnerships and initiatives, focusing on what works/what doesn't work and providing guidance for future partnerships. This is ideal for readers who focus their work in this area."--Doody's Medical Reviews This innovative text for graduate and undergraduate nursing students fills a void in global health nursing literature by providing essential tools and strategies for building and sustaining productive international partnerships. Based on the premise that partnership is paramount for sustainable outcomes, the book demonstrates how nurses can build sustainable health programs that will improve health outcomes worldwide. Written by two highly experienced global nurses, the book offers expert guidance gained from many years of successful involvement in international collaboration that is supported by detailed real-life examples. It will be of particular interest to nurse educators who undertake projects with their students to ensure that both students and host partners are able to meet their collaborative goals. Additionally, the text provides information that will help nurse educators to perpetuate a successful educational program even after they depart or funding ends. Case studies from many different perspectives demonstrate positive change effected by nurses working across international boundaries and within their own countries. The text builds on the Conceptual Framework for Partnership and Sustainability in Global Health Nursing developed by Leffers and Mitchell (2010). Additionally, the book reflects the focus on global health competence for nurses in the future (IOM, 2011) as well as that of the American Academy's of Nursing's recently established committee on Global Health. Key Features: Provides expert, essential guidance for nurses who work internationally to build successful partnerships for sustainable programs Recommends global solutions to the challenges facing international nursing collaboration Includes detailed case studies of successful collaboration Based on the Conceptual Framework for Partnership and Sustainability in Global Health Nursing Chapters end with reflective questions challenging the reader to apply "lessons learned."
Global Health Nursing : Narratives From the Field by
The narratives in this book offer rare and much-needed insight into the lived experiences and contributions of the largest cadre of global health workers: The nurses who have dedicated their careers and their lives to serving the world's poor. --Paul Farmer, MD, PhD, Kolokotrones University Professor Harvard University; Co-Founder, Partners in Health Global health nursing--as a career or as a time-limited experience in personal and professional growth--is a rapidly growing specialty area. This unique book presents firsthand accounts from nurses at all professional levels, who share their life-changing experiences and insights with nurses interested in the global health arena. Written with compassion and humor, their stories emphasize the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursing. Contributors describe their motivation for working in global health, along with the rewards and challenges. The authors discuss the importance of approaching global nursing with humility, respect, and appreciation for what they will learn from their colleagues. They describe how global health work has enhanced their ability to provide quality care to diverse populations, which include recent immigrants living in the United States. In addition to these vivid accounts, the book discusses the parameters of global health nursing, how to prepare for this nursing experience, key resources, global nursing research, and nurses as global health consultants. Woven throughout the book are descriptions of how these nurses have encouraged--through teaching and mentoring--the next generation of global health nurses. The book also provides coverage of domestic global health initiatives. Key Features: Presents firsthand accounts of the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursing Describes assumptions challenged and lessons learned Written for nurses at all stages of professional life Discusses varied opportunities in global health nursing, which includes research and consulting Covers domestic global health initiatives Assists faculty to prepare themselves and their students for global health endeavors
Global Health Nursing in the 21st Century by
This text is designed specifically for nurses and nursing students who have an interest in global health as a specialty, regardless of experience or education level. It reflects both the unique contributions of the nursing profession and of other disciplines, which is in keeping with the editors¿ perspective on how to bring about lasting change. The text views global health through a nursing lens, but maintains this awareness and appreciation of interprofessionalism throughout. The editors and contributors have firsthand experience of the complex dynamics in achieving global health, and bring a wealth of knowledge to this important field, which has grown as a course and specialty. The text depicts the worldwide expansion of nursing partnerships between resource-rich and resource-limited countries, discusses challenges and obstacles, and provides cases and guidance on how to achieve global health. It will appeal to all nurses, from student nurses embarking on a global health experience to more experienced global health nurses who offer professional nursing expertise from around the world.
The text responds to a recent WHO mandate, which seeks the input of nurses and midwives as part of an interprofessional team of key strategists for facilitating global health. The Lancet report is also an important document used throughout the text, and an interview with Dr. Julio Frenk, author of that report, is included. Social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental factors - including climate change - are integrated into determinants of global health. The text covers the foundations of global health, including the emerging concept of climate justice, the ethical context of global health, and the importance of interprofessional education. It addresses key issues of global health with a focus on poor and vulnerable individuals - particularly women and children - and those living in areas of conflict. In addition to describing notable accomplishments toward achieving global health, the book focuses on the need for increasing access to primary care, improving clinical practice through expanded education, and engaging interdisciplinary researchers in discovery of viable solutions. The book includes the perspectives of nurses and colleagues from other disciplines in both resource-rich and resource-limited countries. References provide resources for additional study, and PowerPoint slides and a test bank for instructors accompany the text.
Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Disease by
Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Disease is your comprehensive, go-to resource on the health conditions that arise in the tropics! From infectious diseases through environmental issues, poisoning and toxicology, animal injuries, and nutritional and micronutrient deficiencies, this medical reference book provides you with all the guidance you need to diagnose and manage even the most exotic health concerns. Stay at the forefront of this ever-changing field with Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Disease! Understand the common characteristics and methods of transmission for each disease, and learn all the applicable diagnosis, treatment, control, and prevention techniques. Get the information you need in the most organized way with infectious agents arranged by syndromes, as they typically present. Stay abreast of the latest maladies seen in returning travelers through useful chapters on delusional parasitosis, international adoptions, transplant patients, medical tourism, and more. Access the most up-to-date information on emerging and re-emerging diseases (such as H1N1), and see how progression occurs through all-new illustrative life cycles. Hone your techniques with a new skills-based section which includes dentistry, neonatal pediatrics and ICMI, and surgery in the tropics, and a service-based section covering transfusion in resource-poor settings, microbiology, and imaging. Learn everything you need to know about infrequently encountered tropical drugs and their practical application in the clinical setting. Seamlessly search the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com.
Infectious Diseases : A Geographic Guide by
This concise and practical guide describes infections in geographical areas and provides information on disease risk, concomitant infections (such as co-prevalence of HIV and tuberculosis) and emerging bacterial, viral and parasitic infections in a given geographical area of the world. Infectious Diseases: A Geographic Guide is divided according to United Nations world regions and addresses geographic disease profiles, presenting symptoms and incubation periods of infections. Each chapter contains a section on the coverage of the childhood vaccination programs in the countries included in that region. Chapters also include descriptions of infectious disease risk and problems with resistant bacteria in each region (e.g. antibiotic resistance in Salmonella infections in Southeast Asia). For the clinician, this book is a tool to generate differential diagnoses by considering the geographical history, as well the presenting symptoms and duration of illness. For the travel medicine specialist, this book provides information on risks of different diseases at various destinations and is particularly useful in advising long-term travelers.
Integrating Clinical Research into Epidemic Response by
The 2014 "2015 Ebola epidemic in western Africa was the longest and most deadly Ebola epidemic in history, resulting in 28,616 cases and 11,310 deaths in Guinea, Liberia, and Sierra Leone. The Ebola virus has been known since 1976, when two separate outbreaks were identified in the Democratic Republic of Congo (then Zaire) and South Sudan (then Sudan). However, because all Ebola outbreaks prior to that in West Africa in 2014 "2015 were relatively isolated and of short duration, little was known about how to best manage patients to improve survival, and there were no approved therapeutics or vaccines. When the World Heath Organization declared the 2014-2015 epidemic a public health emergency of international concern in August 2014, several teams began conducting formal clinical trials in the Ebola affected countries during the outbreak. Integrating Clinical Research into Epidemic Response: The Ebola Experience assesses the value of the clinical trials held during the 2014 "2015 epidemic and makes recommendations about how the conduct of trials could be improved in the context of a future international emerging or re-emerging infectious disease events.
International Handbook Of Psychiatry: A Concise Guide For Medical Students, Residents, And Medical Practitioners by
This handbook will be a concise guide to important topics in psychiatry with an international focus. It constitutes a precis of the field of psychiatry with emphases on the therapeutic approach to the patient and on the proper diagnosis of major psychiatric disorders.
Manson's Tropical Diseases by
From the difficult to diagnose to the difficult to treat, Manson's Tropical Diseases prepares you to effectively handle whatever your patients may have contracted. Featuring an internationally recognized editorial team, global contributors, and expert authors, this revised and updated medical reference book provides you with the latest coverage on parasitic and infectious diseases from around the world. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Incorporate the latest therapies into your practice, such as recently approved drugs and new treatment options.Find what you need easily and apply it quickly with highlighted key information, convenient boxes and tables, extensive cross-referencing, and clinical management diagrams.Make the most accurate Tropical Disease diagnoses through a completely redesigned and modernized format, which includes full-color images throughout.Apply the latest treatment strategies for HIV/AIDS, tropical neurology, malaria, and much more. Put the latest international expertise to work for you and your patients with new chapters covering Global Health; Global Health Governance and Tropical Diseases; Non-communicable Diseases; Obesity in the Tropics; and Emergency and Intensive Care Medicine in Resource-poor Settings.See which diseases are most prevalent in specific areas of the tropics through a new index of diseases by country, as well as online-only maps that provide additional detail.Better understand the variations in treatment approaches across the globe.
The Neglected Dimension of Global Security by
Since the 2014 Ebola outbreak many public- and private-sector leaders have seen a need for improved management of global public health emergencies. The effects of the Ebola epidemic go well beyond the three hardest-hit countries and beyond the health sector. Education, child protection, commerce, transportation, and human rights have all suffered. The consequences and lethality of Ebola have increased interest in coordinated global response to infectious threats, many of which could disrupt global health and commerce far more than the recent outbreak. In order to explore the potential for improving international management and response to outbreaks the National Academy of Medicine agreed to manage an international, independent, evidence-based, authoritative, multistakeholder expert commission. As part of this effort, the Institute of Medicine convened four workshops in summer of 2015. This commission report considers the evidence supplied by these workshops and offers conclusions and actionable recommendations to guide policy makers, international funders, civil society organizations, and the private sector.
A New Era in Global Health : Nursing and the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development by
This unique text elucidates the relationship between global nursing and global health. It underscores the significance of nurses' contributions in furthering the post-2015 agenda of the United Nations regarding global health infrastructures and examines opportunities for nurses to promote the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to foster health and healthy environments worldwide. While past nursing literature has emphasized nursing's potential involvement and influence in the global arena, this is the first book to identify, validate, and promote nurses' proactive and multidimensional work in furthering current transnational goals for advancing health on a global scale. The book includes an introduction to global health; clarification of terms and roles; perspectives on education, research, and theory related to global nursing; a history of the partnership between the United Nations and the nursing profession; and an in-depth exploration of the 17 SDGs and relevant nursing tasks. It is based on recent and emerging developments in the transnational nursing community and establishes a holistic dialogue about opportunities for nurses to expand their roles as change agents in a global context. The personal reflections of contributors animate such topics as global health ethics, the role of caring in a sustainable world, creating a shared humanity, cultural humility, and many others. KEY FEATURES: Written by leading nurses from around the world, this unique text integrates international initiatives and describes a proactive nursing role in the future of global health.Organized into three units, the book opens with 10 key chapters that outline the importance of nursing in global health, education, and research, highlighting the history of the United Nations as it relates to the nursing profession and examining the legacy of Florence Nightingale.Unit II includes chapters devoted to each of the 17 SDGs and outlines succinctly how nurses can help effect them.
Oxford Handbook of Tropical Medicine by
The Oxford Handbook of Tropical Medicine, fourth edition is the definitive resource for medical problems in tropical regions, and in low-resource settings. Comprehensive in scope, and concise in style, this portable guide ensures that you always have the vital information you need at yourfingertips.Fully revised and updated for its fourth edition, it includes brand new chapters on humanitarian crises, poisoning and envenoming, nosocomial infections, and antibiotic resistance. The paediatric illness sections have been expanded, and website links have been fully updated and extended. With theclear, easy-reference style of the trusted Oxford Handbook format, written and reviewed by an international team of clinical experts, this is a truly global handbook and an essential resource. Make sure you never leave home without it!
Pharmacy on a Bicycle : Innovative Solutions to Global Health and Poverty by
Despite $21 billion spent on health-related projects, every year millions of people in poor countries die from diseases that are easy and inexpensive to prevent or cure. We know exactly what these people need, we just don't know how to get it to them effectively. People are dying not because we can't solve a medical problem but because we can't solve a logistics problem. The solution is a new kind of bottom-up health care that is delivered at the source. We need micro-clinics, micro-pharmacies, and micro-entrepreneurs located in the remote, hard-to-reach communities they serve. By building a new model that 'scales down' to train and incentivize health care workers in their own villages and towns, we can create an army of health professionals who can prevent tragedy at a fraction of the cost of top-down bureaucratic programs. The key is to unleash the same forces of innovation and entrepreneurship that work in first-world business cultures, and to train, aid, and incubate health workers on site. The book is filled with practical solutions for governments, NGOs, and local and global businesses. It also contains examples of dozens of exemplary programs on the ground that are implementing these innovative solutions and saving lives.
Public Mental Health : Global Perspectives by
Mental health is a fundamental public health priority, and this stimulating and comprehensive book brings together all of the key issues to offer an overview for students and practitioners alike. Written by a team of leading international experts, the book summarizes the evidence base and asks the key questions at the heart of a range of topics from community development to public mental health in schools and recovery and well-being. The book includes: Mini toolkits at the end of each chapter that include tips for effective practice, reflection points and questions to consider Case studies exploring real world examples of public mental health in action Discussion and opinion encouraging readers to question and debate the issues at the core of public mental health policy The book also includes a chapter written by Kate E. Pickett and Richard G. Wilkinson, authors of the best selling book The Spirit Level. Public Mental Health: Global Perspectives is an invaluable tool to give readers the confidence to develop effective mental health tools and programs that will improve public mental health. Contributors: John Ashton, Jane Barlow, Annette Beautrais, Peter Byrne, Sandra Carlisle, Mima Cattan, Elaine Church, Cary Cooper, Patrick Corrigan, Mary O'Hagan, Phil Hanlon, Eva Jané-Llopis, Anthony Jorm, Gregory Luke Larkin, Crick Lund, Jane Mathieson, Margaret Maxwell, Maura Mulloy, Michael Nash, Inge Petersen, Kate Pickett, Nicola Reavley, Nicholas Rüsch, Jude Stansfield, Sarah Stewart-Brown, Mark Weist and Richard Wilkinson. "This book is written by renowned experts from a wide range of disciplines who carefully explore issues and tensions within the field. It will be a great resource not just for those working in public health practice but also for all those whose work has an influence on this vitally important aspect of human life." Professor Lindsey Davies, President of the Faculty of Public Health "The book provides a convincing account of the many ways in which our society could become more mentally healthy. It should be read by businessmen, teachers and politicians as much as by clinicians" Prof Lord Layard
Reimagining Global Health : An Introduction by
Bringing together the experience, perspective and expertise of Paul Farmer, Jim Yong Kim, and Arthur Kleinman, Reimagining Global Health provides an original, compelling introduction to the field of global health. Drawn from a Harvard course developed by their student Matthew Basilico, this work provides an accessible and engaging framework for the study of global health. Insisting on an approach that is historically deep and geographically broad, the authors underline the importance of a transdisciplinary approach, and offer a highly readable distillation of several historical and ethnographic perspectives of contemporary global health problems. The case studies presented throughout Reimagining Global Health bring together ethnographic, theoretical, and historical perspectives into a wholly new and exciting investigation of global health. The interdisciplinary approach outlined in this text should prove useful not only in schools of public health, nursing, and medicine, but also in undergraduate and graduate classes in anthropology, sociology, political economy, and history, among others.
Sande's HIV/AIDS Medicine by
Access the latest information available in the challenging area of HIV/AIDS management with Sande's HIV/AIDS Medicine, 2nd Edition. Authored by a veritable "who's who" of current global experts in the field, this medical reference book will provide you with all the practical, indispensable guidance you'll need to offer your patients the best possible care. Access reliable, up-to-the-minute guidance that addresses the realities of HIV/AIDS management in your geographical region, thanks to contributions from a global cast of renowned expert clinicians and researchers. Locate the clinically actionable information you need quickly with an organization that mirrors the current state of the AIDS epidemic and the different needs of Western vs. developing-world patients and clinicians. Diagnose AIDS manifestations confidently by comparing them to clinical images. Improve patient outcomes with the latest findings on the management of AIDS as a chronic illness. Efficiently review essential data through numerous at-a-glance tables. Get the most relevant information available on pediatric HIV and AIDS issues; anti-retroviral drugs, including integrase inhibitors; and the use of second- and third-line anti-retroviral drugs in resource-poor settings. Stay current on the latest actionable information, such as using antiretroviral therapy in patients with tuberculosis and drug-resistant tuberculosis; antiretroviral therapy; immune reconstitution inflammatory syndromes (IRIS); and implementation of the HPV vaccine. The very latest in HIV/AIDS management from global experts with a concise approach and a clinical/practical focus.
Tropical Infectious Diseases by
Tropical Infectious Diseases: Principles, Pathogens and Practice, by Drs. Richard L. Guerrant, David H. Walker, and Peter F. Weller, delivers the expert, encyclopedic guidance you need to overcome the toughest clinical challenges in diagnosing and treating diseases caused by infectious agents from tropical regions. Sweeping updates to this 3rd edition include vaccines, SARS, hepatitis A-E, Crimean-Congo hemorrhagic fever virus, tick-borne encephalitis and Omsk hemorrhagic fever, human papilloma virus, and mucormycosis. New full-color images throughout allow you to more accurately view the clinical manifestations of each disease and better visualize the life cycles of infectious agents. And, full-text online access at www.expertconsult.com enables you to perform quick searches and rapidly locate and download images. Definitive, state-of-the-art coverage of pathophysiology as well as clinical management makes this the reference you'll want to consult - online and in print - whenever you are confronted with tropical infections, whether familiar or unfamiliar! Obtain complete and trustworthy advice from hundreds of the leading experts on tropical diseases worldwide, including cutting-edge summaries of pathophysiology and epidemiology as well as clinical management. Get the latest answers on vaccines, SARS, hepatitis A-E, Crimean-Congo hemorrhagic fever virus, tick-borne encephalitis and Omsk hemorrhagic fever, human papilloma virus, mucormycosis, and much more. Implement best practices from all over the world with guidance from almost twice as many international authors - over 100 representing more than 35 countries. Accurately view the clinical manifestations of each disease and visualize the life cycles of infectious agents with new full-color images throughout. Access the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com, rapidly searchable; rapidly locate and download all of the images in either PowerPoint or JPEG format; and follow links to PubMed abstracts for most references. Reference the book more easily thanks to a new streamlined, single-volume format, with all of the references online. Be fully prepared to treat both the expected and the unfamiliar with Guerrant, Walker and Weller's ultimate encyclopedic guide to tropical medicine.
Thousands of electronic journals are available via Treadwell Virtual Library. Click the "Titles A-Z" tab in the MGH OneSearch box, select the "eJournals only" option, and type the title of the journal into the search box. Also, some journals are freely available online, as indicated by OPEN ACCESS notation.
The following selected online journals often cover global health issues:
