Global Health & International Literature

This guide contains global health information, including lists of regional databases (with a focus on biomedical and scientific databases), health agencies, resources for gathering statistics, MGB programs, and access initiatives for free or low-cost scholarly literature.

This page lists regional databases and registries. Some require institutional subscriptions. These resources have been adapted from the Cochrane Handbook's supplement and expanded upon. Some of the registries listed are included in the WHO's ICTRP.

Are we missing anything? Let us know!

Australia and New Zealand

• ANZCTR trial registry
• Informit

Brazil

• ReBEC trial registry

Canada

• Health Canada trial registry

China

• China Academic Journals (CAJ)
• Chinese Biomedical Literature database (CBM)
• Chinese Medical Current Content (CMCC)
• Chinese Scientific Journals database (CSJD-VIP)
• China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI)
• ChiCTR trial registry
• Health Research and Development Information Network (HERDIN)
• ITMCTR trial registry (traditional medicines) 
• SinoMed
• Wanfang

Cuba

• RPCEC trial registry

Czech Republic

• Medvik

Finland

• Medic

Germany

• AUO trial registry (urological oncological studies)
• Current Contents Medicine
• DRKS trial registry

Hong Kong

• HKUCTR trial registry

Hungary

• Magyar Orvosi Bibliografia (Bibliographia Medica Hungarica)

Iran

• IranMedex
• IRCT trial registry

Iraq

• Iraqi Academic Scientific Journals

India

• CTRI trial registry
• Indexing of Indian Medical Journals (INDMED)

Japan

• CiNii Research
• Ichushi-Web
• Integbio Database Catalog
• J-STAGE
• UMIN CTR trial registry 

Korea

• KoreaMed
• Korean Medical Citation Index
• Synapse

Lebanon

• LBCTR trial registry

The Netherlands

• Overview of Medical Research in the Netherlands trial registry

Pakistan

Poland

• Polish Medical Bibliography

Russia

• Russian Medicine and Public Health Journals
• State Register of Medicines

Saudi Arabia

• Saudi Digital Library

Singapore

• HSA Clinical Trials Registry

South Africa

• SANCTR trial registry
• Sabinet African Journals

South Korea

• CRiS trial registry

Sri Lanka

• SLCTR trial registry

Switzerland and Neighboring Countries

• Swiss National Clinical Trials Portal

Thailand

• TCTR trial registry
• Thai Journal Citation Index Centre
• Thai Medical Index

Turkey

• TR Index

United Kingdom

• AgeInfo
• Be Part of Research trial registry
• Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database, Centre for Reviews and Dissemination

• ISRCTN trial registry

Africa

• African Index Medicus
• African Journals OnLine (AJOL)
• Africa Wide
• Pan African Clinical Trial Registry

Europe

• EMBASE
• EU Clinical Trials Register
• Clinical Trials Information System: EU Member States, European Economic Area countries and the European Commission. 
• EudraCT 
• Europe PMC
• OpenGrey Repository

Eastern Mediterranean

• Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR)
• Virtual Health Sciences Library (VHSL)

Latin America and/or the Caribbean

• 31 Dialnet
• Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information (BIREME) 
• CAPES Periódicos Portal
• Cuidatge
• Cuiden
• Enfispo
• LA Referencia
• Literature in the Health Sciences in Latin America and the Caribbean (LILACS)
• Latindex (Regional Cooperative Online Information System for Scholarly Journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal)
• PERIide (Index of Latin American Journals in Science)
• Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)
• Redalyc

Middle East, Africa and Asia

• Al Manhal

Muslim World

• Index Islamicus
• Islamic Medical Manuscripts at the National Library of Medicine (historical)
• Islamic World Science Citation Center (ISC) Science Citation Database
• The Islamic Medical and Scientific Ethics (IMSE) Project

Southeast Asia

• Index Medicus for the South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR)

Western Pacific

• Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRIM)

• International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP)
• Global Index Medicus
• Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network Database (Gideon)
• Global Health
• SafetyLit. Abstracts from research throughout the world related to prevention of injuries.
• PTSDpubs. Worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.