MGH Guides: Complementary and Alternative Medicine: CAM Resources

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM)

Lexicomp's CRL Online Home of the MGH Formulary, this collection of drug handbooks also includes Natural Therapeutics. Search herb or supplement name to bring up brief entries in the Lexi-Natural Products Online database. MassGeneralBrigham access only.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Evidence-based, clinical information on natural medicines. Includes index by product name. Effectiveness checker. Personal profiles for drug interactions. Laboratory interactions. MGH Access.
Consumer Lab Provides evaluations of consumer products relating to health, wellness, and nutrition including herbal products, vitamins, minerals and other supplements.

Benson-Henry Institute for MindBody Medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital The BHI provides outpatient medical services, training for health professionals, corporate and school-based programs, women's health services, and affiliation for national and international health care systems.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine in Cancer Treatment From the National Cancer Institute. Includes links to fact sheets as well as links to information on specific topics and NCI sponsored research.
MedlinePlus Herbs and Supplements Scroll down on the MedlinePlus Drug Information page to find alphabetical access to monographs from Natural Standard. Evidence-based presentation. Provided by the National Library of Medicine.
International Traditional Medicine Clinical Trial Registry. A non-profit online register of clinical trials conducted in the field of traditional medicine. It is operated by the China Academy of Chinese Medical Sciences and The China Center For Evidence Based Traditional Chinese Medicine. It contributes data to the WHO ICTRP.

FDA Overview on Dietary Supplements Includes FDA regulatory information, factsheets for consumers and a link to a searchable listing of illness and injury reports associated with the use of nutritional supplements.
Office of Dietary Supplements Explores the role of dietary supplements in improving health care.
DailyMed A database from the National Library of Medicine containing labeling for prescription and nonprescription drugs submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. Includes some supplements.