Finding Medical Images and Multimedia: Resources

MGH Resources:

• ClinicalKey From the “All Types” drop-down menu, click “Multimedia.” Register (free) to access Presentations and download images to PowerPoint. MGH access only.
• JoMI: Journal of Medical Insight Video journal publishing peer-reviewed surgical video articles.
• JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments World's first peer-reviewed scientific video journal. MGH access only.
• MGH Journals@Ovid Full text database.  After doing your search, click "Additional Limits" and then click "Articles with Graphics." MGH access only.
• Massachusetts General Hospital's YouTube site 
• Medscape Reference Click Slideshow Collections. Free registration required. MGB access only.
• Videos in clinical medicine From the New England Journal of Medicine. MGH access only.

General Sites:

• MedPix, from the National Library of Medicine, is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics
• Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine from the National Library of Medicine “enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.”
• PMC Advanced Search To search for articles with  images, select the "All Fields" drop-down and choose "Figure/Table Caption." Then, enter your search term(s) and click Search. 
• Visible Human National Library of Medicine's complete representations of the normal male and female human bodies.
• Wellcome Images from the Wellcome Library Find contemporary medical images and historical images.

Medical Specialty Sites:

• Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education Over 1900 images from the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library, University of Utah.
• Public Health Image Library (PHIL) From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), this contains single images, image sets and multimedia files of people, places and science.
• Whole Brain Atlas Harvard Medical School. Normal and diseased brain images.

Images from the History of Medicine:

• Dream Anatomy Drawn from the collections of the National Library of Medicine, this site depicts the anatomical imagination from 1500 to the present.
• Historical Anatomies on the Web From the National Library of Medicine's History of Medicine Division.
• Prints and Photographs Collection From the National Library of Medicine's History of Medicine Division

Treadwell Library

Request help