MGH Guides: Flu and Infection Prevention: Flu and Infection Prevention

Flu and Infection Prevention

Take a look at these materials to help your patients, clients, and caregivers learn about flu and other infection prevention.

Facts and Data

CDC Flu Information
Home page for CDC information about the Flu including flu prevention information, symptoms and diagnosis, treatment, and other resources.
World Health Organization FluNet
Flu information presented in charts, surveillance outputs, global influenza updates, and regional influenza data.
WHO Infection Prevention and Control
Latest news, publications, stories, infographics and more on infection prevention and control.
Infection Prevention and Control From the Joint Commission
Resources for infection prevention and control from the Joint Commission.

Evidence

Association of culturally competent care with influenza vaccination coverage in the United States
Paguio, J. A., Ojikutu, B. O., Alfonso, P. G., Yao, J. S., Amen, T. B., Dee, E. C., & Escota, G. V. (2022). Association of culturally competent care with influenza vaccination coverage in the United States. Vaccine, 40(46), 6607–6615. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.vaccine.2022.08.066
Racial disparities in influenza immunization during pregnancy in the United States: A narrative review of the evidence for disparities and potential interventions
Callahan, A. G., Coleman-Cowger, V. H., Schulkin, J., & Power, M. L. (2021). Racial disparities in influenza immunization during pregnancy in the United States: A narrative review of the evidence for disparities and potential interventions. Vaccine, 39(35), 4938–4948. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.vaccine.2021.07.028
Associations between Influenza Vaccination and Health Care Access among Adults in the United States
Morgan Gurel-Headley, Mariam Mamisashvili, Sheena CarlLee, Sharon Reece, Christina Chapman, Shashank Kraleti, Jennifer A. Andersen, James P. Selig, Don E. Willis, Ji Li, & Pearl A. McElfish. (2023). Associations between Influenza Vaccination and Health Care Access among Adults in the United States. Vaccines, 11(416), 416. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.3390/vaccines11020416
Trends in Hospitalization and Mortality for Influenza and Other Respiratory Viruses during the COVID-19 Pandemic in the United States
Adeel Nasrullah, Karthik Gangu, Ishan Garg, Anam Javed, Hina Shuja, Prabal Chourasia, Rahul Shekhar, & Abu Baker Sheikh. (2023). Trends in Hospitalization and Mortality for Influenza and Other Respiratory Viruses during the COVID-19 Pandemic in the United States. Vaccines, 11(412), 412. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.3390/vaccines11020412

Handouts and Brochures

CDC's Flu Brochures/Flyers
Print information available for the general population, family and children, high risk conditions, pregnant women, older adults, and more.
MA Department of Public Health Brochures/Flyers
Flu brochures, posters, and a flu vaccine guide from the MA Department of Public Health for the general audience, healthcare providers, and public health professionals.
EZIZ Brochures/Flyers
California's VFC program that provides immunization training and resources. Gives information for all ages, parents and caregivers, pregnant women, adults over the age of 65, healthcare workers, high risk condition, and more.
Infection Control Print Materials
Signs, posters, brochures, manuals, curricula, and other infection control materials from the Minnesota Department of Health.

Library Collection

You can borrow any of these items from the Community Health Collection. Visit the guide's home page for details about borrowing.

Posters

Got a cough? Cover it.
Poster 67
Remember...Wash Your Hands
Poster 40

Activities

Hide and Seek Germ Powder with UV Lamp
Call number: INF HYG HIDE
Glitterbug Hand Hygiene Kit
Call number: INF HYG GLITTER
Germ Smart: Children's Activities in Disease Prevention
Call number: INF HYG GERM
5 Minute Activities: Hygiene and Safety for Elementary Students
Call number: SAFE INJ FIVE
When I'm Sick/ Cuando me siento mal
Call number: INF HYG GOOD1

Understanding Infections by Jumo Health
Call Number: INF DIS UNDER
ISBN: 9781644553633
Publication Date: 2019-04

Information for Special Populations and about Medication and Vaccination

Some of these resources are available only to MGH employees and students.

Protect Against Flu: Caregivers of Infants and Young Children
A short document offering advice for caregiver such as when to get the vaccine, everyday preventative steps, and more.
Flu and People with Diabetes
Provides preventative information for people with diabetes including vaccinations and other actions, as well as treatment.
Key Facts About Seasonal Flu Vaccine
Information about who should be vaccinated, who should not be vaccinated, when to get vaccinated, and more information related to season influenza vaccination.
Cold or Flu, Antibiotics Don't Work for You.
Information from the CDC about antibiotics and how they do not work against viral infections, only bacterial. It specifically explains that antibiotics should not be used to treat the common cold or flu.
PubMed @MGH
The National Library of Medicine's database of health sciences related literature. Use this database to discover reputable sources about infection prevention.

Evidence

A National Network of Public Health and Faith-Based Organizations to Increase Influenza Prevention Among Hard-to-Reach Populations.
Kiser, M., & Lovelace, K. (2019). A National Network of Public Health and Faith-Based Organizations to Increase Influenza Prevention Among Hard-to-Reach Populations. American Journal of Public Health, 109(3), 371–377. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.2105/AJPH.2018.304826
Understanding the Barriers and Attitudes toward Influenza Vaccine Uptake in the Adult General Population: A Rapid Review.
Welch, V. L., Metcalf, T., Macey, R., Markus, K., Sears, A. J., Enstone, A., Langer, J., Srivastava, A., Cane, A., & Wiemken, T. L. (2023). Understanding the Barriers and Attitudes toward Influenza Vaccine Uptake in the Adult General Population: A Rapid Review. Vaccines, 11(1), 180. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.3390/vaccines11010180
Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Indirect Protection Afforded by Vaccinating Children Against Seasonal Influenza: Implications for Policy
Yin, J. K., Heywood, A. E., Georgousakis, M., King, C., Chiu, C., Isaacs, D., & Macartney, K. K. (2017). Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Indirect Protection Afforded by Vaccinating Children Against Seasonal Influenza: Implications for Policy. Clinical Infectious Diseases, 65(5), 719–728.