MGH Guides: Dementia : Home

Overview and Data

Online Resources

Alzheimer's Association 2023 Disease Facts and Figures
A graphic with the prevalence, costs, percentage increase in death, and more.
Alzheimer's Association: Alzheimer's Causes and Risk Factors
Researchers believe there is not a single cause of Alzheimer's disease. The disease likely develops from multiple factors, such as genetics, lifestyle and environment. Scientists have identified factors that increase the risk of Alzheimer’s. While some risk factors — age, family history and heredity — can't be changed, emerging evidence suggests there may be other factors we can influence.
CDC Alzheimer's Disease
This page answers several questions, including: what is Alzheimer's Disease? Who has it? What do we know about it? And more.
National Institute of Aging Alzheimer's Disease Fact Sheet
Provides information regarding several aspects of Alzheimer's Disease including: How Does Alzheimer's Disease Affect the Brain?, Signs and Symptoms, Stages of Alzheimer's Disease
World Health Organization Dementia Key Facts
Key facts related to the definition, signs and symptoms, forms of dementia, rates of dementia, treatment and care, and more.

Books in the Collection

Dementia, culture, and ethnicity: Issues for all by Julia Botsford (Editor)
Call Number: DIV CULHU DEMENTIA
ISBN: 9781849054867
Publication Date: 2015
With contributions from experienced dementia practitioners and care researchers, this book examines the impact of culture and ethnicity on the experience of dementia and on the provision of support and services, both in general terms and in relation to specific minority ethnic communities.
Aging Mastery Program Kit
Call Number: ELD AGING MASTERY
A Caregiver's Guide to Dementia by Laura N. Gitlin; Catherine Verrier Piersol
ISBN: 9781933822907
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
A Caregiver's Guide to Dementia explores the use of activities and other techniques to prevent, reduce and otherwise manage the behavioral symptoms of dementia.
When It's Not Alzheimer's by Kristeen V. Wolf
ISBN: 9781631177446
Alzheimer's is only one of many dementia disorders; another 1.8 million people in the U.S. have some other form of dementia. Among all people with dementia, many are believed to have a mixed type of dementia that can involve more than one of the disorders. This book provides a general overview of various types of dementia, describes how the disorders are diagnosed and treated, and offers highlights of research that is supported by the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke and the National Institute on Aging, both part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Brain Model

Anatomical Brain and Partial Skull Model
Call Number: CHR BRAIN MODEL

Assessment and Treatment

Evidence

Effectiveness of cognitive stimulation for dementia: A systematic review and meta-analysis.
Cafferata, R. M. T., Hicks, B., & von Bastian, C. C. (2021). Effectiveness of cognitive stimulation for dementia: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Psychological Bulletin, 147(5), 455–476. https://doi.org/10.1037/bul0000325
Effects of play activities program for nursing home residents with dementia on pain and psychological well-being: Cluster randomized controlled trial.
Tse, M. M. Y., Lau, J. L., Kwan, R., Cheung, D., Tang, A. S. K., Ng, S. S. M., ... Yeung, S. S. Y. (2018). Geriatrics & Gerontology International, 18, 1485-1490.
Clinical Study of the Effectiveness of Constant Therapy in the Treatment of Clients With Dementia: Implications for Telepractice.
Edgar, D. L., & Bargmann, P. L. (2021). Clinical Study of the Effectiveness of Constant Therapy in the Treatment of Clients With Dementia: Implications for Telepractice. Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups, 6(3), 691–703. https://doi.org/10.1044/2021_PERSP-20-00123
The Early Diagnosis of Alzheimer's Disease: A Patient-Centred Conversation with the Care Team.
Nasreddine, Z., Garibotto, V., Kyaga, S., & Padovani, A. (2023). The Early Diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease: A Patient-Centred Conversation with the Care Team. Neurology & Therapy, 12(1), 11–23. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1007/s40120-022-00428-7
Effects of animal-assisted therapy on patients with dementia: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials
Chen, H., Wang, Y., Zhang, M., Wang, N., Li, Y., & Liu, Y. (2022). Effects of animal-assisted therapy on patients with dementia: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Psychiatry research, 314, 114619. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.psychres.2022.114619
Treatment of behavioral and psychological symptoms of dementia using transcranial magnetic stimulation: a systematic review
Murphy, K., Khan, A., Bachu, A., & Tampi, R. (2023). Treatment of behavioral and psychological symptoms of dementia using transcranial magnetic stimulation: a systematic review. International psychogeriatrics, 35(11), 611–622. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1017/S1041610223000091

Journals

Books in the Library

Occupational Therapy Practice Guidelines for Adults with Alzheimer's Disease and Related Major Neurocognitive Disorders by Catherine Verrier Piersol; Lou Jensen; American Occupational Therapy Association Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781569004029
Publication Date: 2017

Memory and Sensory Tools for Dementia

Online Resources

How Sensory Stimulation Can Help Alzheimer’s
Discusses what sensory stimulation is, the ways that it can affect Alzheimer's, and how sensory stimulation engages seniors.
Sensory Changes with Dementia
Discusses the ways that all major sensory systems may be impacted by dementia.

Evidence

The Impact of a Sensory Garden for People with Dementia.
Collins, H., Van Puymbroeck, M., Hawkins, B. L., & Vidotto, J. (2020). The Impact of a Sensory Garden for People with Dementia. Therapeutic Recreation Journal, 54(1), 48–63. https://doi.org/10.18666/TRJ-2020-V54-I1-10077
Assessment of a Cognitive-Motor Training Program in Adults at Risk for Developing Dementia.
Echlin, H. V., Gorbet, D. J., & Sergio, L. E. (2020). Assessment of a Cognitive-Motor Training Program in Adults at Risk for Developing Dementia. Canadian Geriatrics Journal, 23(2), 190–198. https://doi.org/10.5770/cgj.23.394
Increasing Physical Activity in Persons With Dementia: A Randomized Controlled Trial.
Pomiersky, R., Abel, B., Werner, C., Lacroix, A., Pfeiffer, K., Schäufele, M., & Hauer, K. (2020). Increasing Physical Activity in Persons With Dementia: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Journal of Aging & Physical Activity, 28(4), 588–597. https://doi.org/10.1123/japa.2019-0183
Effects of Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation on Memory of Elderly People with Mild Cognitive Impairment or Alzheimer's Disease: A Systematic Review.
da Silva, E. R., Rodrigues Menezes, I. R., & Brys, I. (2022). Effects of Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation on Memory of Elderly People with Mild Cognitive Impairment or Alzheimer’s Disease: A Systematic Review. Journal of Central Nervous System Disease, 1–11. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.1177/11795735221106887

Books in the Collection

Memory and Communication Aids for People with Dementia by Michelle S. Bourgeois
Call Number: ELD ALZ MEMORY
Publication Date: 2013
Strengthen your mind program: A course for memory enhancement by Kristin Einberger; Janelle Sellick
Call Number: ELD MEM STRENGTH
Publication Date: 2009

Communication Strategies for Caregivers and a Person with Dementia

Online Resources

Communication and Alzheimer's
Provides information about changes in communication and tips for interacting with a person who has Alzheimer's.
Alzheimer's and dementia: Tips for better communication
This website covers what to expect when communicating with someone who has Alzheimer's or dementia, as well as information about what can be done to help.

Evidence

Positive Changes in Certified Nursing Assistants’ Communication Behaviors With People With Dementia: Feasibility of a Coaching Strategy.
Douglas, N. F., & MacPherson, M. K. (2021). Positive Changes in Certified Nursing Assistants’ Communication Behaviors With People With Dementia: Feasibility of a Coaching Strategy. American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 30(1), 239–252. https://doi.org/10.1044/2020_AJSLP-20-00065
Experiences of Communicating with Older Adults with Alzheimer's Disease: A Phenomenological Study of Family Caregivers.
Patcharee Komjakraphan, & Sirikul Karuncharernpanit. (2021). Experiences of Communicating with Older Adults with Alzheimer’s Disease: A Phenomenological Study of Family Caregivers. Pacific Rim International Journal of Nursing Research, 25(1), 75–86.
Preserved Consciousness in Alzheimer’s Disease and Other Dementias: Caregiver Awareness and Communication Strategies
Alison Warren. (2021). Preserved Consciousness in Alzheimer’s Disease and Other Dementias: Caregiver Awareness and Communication Strategies. Frontiers in Psychology, 12. https://doi-org.treadwell.idm.oclc.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2021.790025

eBook

Hearing the Person with Dementia: Person-Centred Approaches to Communication for Families and Caregivers by Bernie McCarthy
ISBN: 9781849051866
Publication Date: 2011-01-15
Losing the ability to communicate can be a frustrating and difficult experience for people with dementia, their families and carers. As the disease progresses, the person with dementia may find it increasingly difficult to express themselves clearly, and to understand what others say. Written with both family and professional carers in mind, this book clearly explains what happens to communication as dementia progresses, how this may affect an individual's memory, language and senses, and how carers might need to adapt their approach as a result.

Books in the Collection

Augmentative Communication Strategies for Adults with Acute or Chronic Medical Conditions by David R. Beukelman (Editor); Kathryn L. Garrett (Editor); Kathryn M. Yorkston (Editor)
Call Number: CSD AAC AUG
Publication Date: 2007
Memory and Communication Aids for People with Dementia by Michelle S. Bourgeois
Call Number: ELD ALZ MEMORY
Publication Date: 2013
Help people with memory loss communicate and function more independently with the useful memory aids in this book, with accompanying downloadable resources.

Activities

Puzzles

These puzzles are innovative solutions designed especially for the benefit of Alzheimer's patients. Current research indicates jigsaw puzzles provide strong mental exercise. This puzzle creates opportunities to connect, communicate, and engage. It is designed as a one-on-one activity, providing an opportunity for caregivers, friend, and family to spend quality time with individuals living with Alzheimer's and dementia.

Puzzle with Me: Dog Puzzle
Call Number: ELD ALZ PUZDOG
Puzzle with me: Windmill Puzzle
Call Number: ELD ALZ PUZWIND
MindStart Spring Puzzle
Call Number: ELD ALZ SPRPUZ
MindStart Autumn Puzzle
Call Number: ELD ALZ PUZAUT
Springbok's Puzzles to Remember: Candy Galore
Call Number: ELD ALZ PUZCAN
Springbok's Puzzles to Remember: Colorful Fruit
Call Number: ELD ALZ PUZCOL

Cards

Sharpen Your Senses Cards: Sensory Activities to Stimulate the Brain and Enhance Memory
Call Number: ELD MEM SHARPEN
Expand Your Mind Cards: Boost Your Memory
Call Number: ELD MEM EXPAND
Mental Fitness Cards: 100 Exercises for a Healthy Brain
Call Number: ELD MEM MENTAL
Provides 4 x 6-inch activity cards and an instructional booklet. Includes categories like Wake Up Your Brain, Memory, Numbers, Words, Creative Problem Solving, Puzzles, and Brainstorming

Interactive Books

These books are designed to engage the reader with meaningful content and provide a connection to the past and the present. These books stimulate the mind and offer engagement opportunities for the reader. They can be read independently or shared with an individual.

Dogs and Puppies by Matthew Schneider; Deborah Drapac
Call Number: ELD ALZ PUZDOG
Publication Date: 2011
Wild animals: A collection of photographs and facts from the Animal Kingdom by Matthew Schneider; Deborah Drapac
Call Number: ELD ALZ MEMWILD
Publication Date: 2011
America by Matthew Schneider; Deborah Drapac
Call Number: ELD ALZ MEMAME
Publication Date: 2011
Fun and games: Childhood reflections on sports and leisure by Matthew Schneider; Deborah Drapac
Call Number: ELD ALZ MEMFUN
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
The sunshine on my face: A read - aloud book for memory - challenged adults by Lydia Burdick
Call Number: ELD ALZ SUN
Publication Date: 2004