MGH Guides: Finding Federally Funded Health Information & Alternatives: Backups of Federal Health Data

Backups of CDC Data Sets

Public Environmental Data Project. Includes the CDC’s Social Vulnerability Index.
Collection of CDC data (Internet Archive)
Healthy Regions Policy Lab (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign). Backups of guidelines from The Center for Disease Control (CDC), The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
CDC datasets uploaded to the Internet Archive before January 28th, 2025.
Archives of Public Data Sets (University of California, Santa Barbara): raw HTML files scraped from Cancer.gov, SAMHSA, AHRQ, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the NIH, CDC Social Vulnerability Index, Indian Health Service (IHS), National Library of Medicine (maintains PubMed), SchoolSafety.gov and others.
STAT is backing up and monitoring CDC data in real time

CDC.gov (content stops at January 26, 2025)
Restored CDC (prior to January 2025)
COVID.gov (as of April 11, 2025)
Data.gov: A regularly updated mirror of all data files linked from data.gov provided by the Harvard Library Innovation Lab Team.
CMS.gov (stops at January 26, 2025)
NIH.gov (stops at February 12, 2025)
FDA.gov (stops at January 26, 2025)
ReproductiveRights.gov (stops at January 15, 2025)
Backups and alternatives to Census.gov

Freilich, J., & Kesselheim, A. S. (2025). Data manipulation within the US Federal Government. The Lancet. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(25)01249-8

Government Information Tracker
IPUMS. Census and survey data
End of Term Web Archive (Archive.org)
Data Rescue Project. Check the backups list to see which sites have been preserved and where a backup can be located.
DataLumos (University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research). Contains the NIH Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System Data Sets, national health surveys and other data sets.
Find Lost Data (BUSPH's Center for Health Data Science)
Harvard Dataverse
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) (University of Michigan) and openICPSR. Includes data collections published by the NIH and other agencies.
Digital Federal Depository Library Program. Provides decentralized and distributed preservation of documents published by the U.S. Federal Government.

Disappearing Federal Data: Implications for Addressing Health Disparities (KFF)
Govspeak Errors (University of California San Diego). Link checks to catalog which .gov websites are down.
Silencing Science Tracker (Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Climate Science Legal Defense Fund)
Missing Federal Websites. Downloads as an Excel file.
Health Care Sabotage Tracker (Protect Our Care)