MGH Guides: Tests + Measures: Finding Test + Measures

Full-text Instruments

Most established testing instruments require a license (and usually payment to go along with it), but these databases contain many instruments you can instantly download at no cost to you.

PsycTESTS
Contains a combination of downloadable instruments and summaries of instruments; summaries will include info about how to acquire the instrument.
Rehabilitation Measures Database
Combination of free and pay rehabilitation instruments
HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources)
Database of research resources created by the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology. Full-text links available for free resources, but predominantly pay for access instruments.

Test + Measures Databases

The following databases mostly contain descriptions of tests available for purchase.

COMBI Featured Scales
The Center for Outcome Measurement in Brain Injury's list recommended scales.
ETS Test Link
Educational Testing Service's database of tests. Full instruments are available for purchase
Mental Measurements Yearbook w/Tests in Print
The essential database for evaluating commercially available test instruments. Contains reviews of and information about how to access instruments.

Finding Tests in the Databases

Many tests are not formally published but instead simply appear in articles that publish the results of the research for which they were used. Many databases have features that can help you find them.

If you know the specific test you'd like to use...

Finding information about a specific test or instrument in any database (including Google Scholar):

Type the name of the instrument into the search box.
If appropriate, uncheck the box for subject mapping:
- Medline & PsycInfo: uncheck Map Term to Subject Heading
- CINAHL: uncheck Suggest Subject Terms
Search the database.

If you would like to explore tests and measures by topic...

CINAHL

Perform a search for your topic.
Back at the search screen, type Research Instrument into the search box, and select Publication Type in the dropdown menu next to it. Then search.
Combine the two searches by checking the boxes next to them and clicking on the button Search with AND.

PsycInfo

Perform a search for your topic.
Back at the search screen, click on the button for Additional Limits.
Select the check box next to Tests & Measures.
Click the Limit a Search button and take a look at your results.

Getting Permission to use Tests and Measures

Some tests may require permission from the copyright holder before they can be used for research purposes. The copyright holder may be the author of the test or it may be a publishing company. The link below is an excellent guide to copyright/permissions for tests/measures, and includes a template to use when asking an author for permission to use their test.

Tests + Measures

Need Help?

Getting Permission to use Tests and Measures