Vaping/E-Cigarettes

Provides information about e-cigarettes, nicotine and kids, what is in e-cigarette aerosol, marketing, and more.

This website contains an overview of vaping/e-cigarettes, their affect on youth/teenagers, and how to take action.

This NIH webpage provides information on vaping/e-cirgarettes including what they are, how they work, and the health effects of using them.

The Truth Initiative is a non-profit public health organization dedicated to making tobacco use a thing of the past. Their website has many information about many issues related to tobacco use and youth, especially focusing on vaping/e-cigarettes.

The FDA provides information regarding general health and safety information, youth use and prevention, and problems and potential violations on e-cigarettes, vapes, and other electronic nicotine delivery system (ENDS) products.

To help you better understand the issues surrounding the use of e-cigarettes in teens and young adults, we are now bringing together published articles on e-cigarettes in one custom collection, giving you easy access through this collection to a compendium of studies and findings on this important topic. This custom collection will be continually updated online as we publish more articles on e-cigarettes, so please check this collection frequently for new studies and information that we hope you will share with your patients when they ask about concerns regarding the safety and risks of using e-cigarettes.

Smoking tobacco presents serious social problems with major impacts on public health. It is estimated that 25-30% of the general population in western countries are currently smoking. Tobacco use is the major preventable cause of death in the United States, responsible for more than 400,000 deaths annually. Within the USA and Europe, 70% of all smokers have tried to quit smoking at least once, but only about 6% of these succeeded in maintaining abstinence. This book covers the latest nicotine-related research. The selection of chapters has a certain unity as physiologic, pathologic and psychological themes run through the book and supply the logical connections between the various authors. This work is intended as a contribution to the reversal of the current tobacco epidemic and thereby to preventing many of the deaths attributable to tobacco predicted in this century.

Millions of Americans use e-cigarettes. Despite their popularity, little is known about their health effects. Some suggest that e-cigarettes likely confer lower risk compared to combustible tobacco cigarettes, because they do not expose users to toxicants produced through combustion. Proponents of e-cigarette use also tout the potential benefits of e-cigarettes as devices that could help combustible tobacco cigarette smokers to quit and thereby reduce tobacco-related health risks. Others are concerned about the exposure to potentially toxic substances contained in e-cigarette emissions, especially in individuals who have never used tobacco products such as youth and young adults. Given their relatively recent introduction, there has been little time for a scientific body of evidence to develop on the health effects of e-cigarettes.

Public Health Consequences of E-Cigarettes reviews and critically assesses the state of the emerging evidence about e-cigarettes and health. This report makes recommendations for the improvement of this research and highlights gaps that are a priority for future research.

An explanation by FDA leadership of what they are doing to regulate vaping/e-cigarette products.

This website provides an interactive map where you can see laws related to vaping and e-cigarettes by state.

The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) provides information on perspectives, capacities, challenges, and opportunities to implement state-based tobacco control and prevention initiatives.

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives provide information regarding preventing online sales of e-cigarettes to minors, postal bans on shipping vapes, and tax compliance. They also provide a link to a registration form that all sellers must fill out in order to sell electronic nicotine delivery systems (ENDS).

The American Lung Association has a lot of information about e-cigarettes and their impacts on the lungs, including a summary of the literature.

This CDC website provides an overview and updates on what they know about lung injury associated with vaping and e-cigarettes.

This FDA website provides an incident overview, FDA actions, lab analysis, and information for consumers related to lung injuries associated with vaping/e-cigarette products.

This is an article put out by Stanford Medicine that summarizes how vaping liquid affects endothelial cells, the use of vaping products in the U.S., and a comparison of nicotine levels.

A study in Time Magazine summarizing a study that compared the hearts of non-smokers, smokers, and e-cigarette smokers.

This is an article put together by the Truth Initiative (a non-profit public health organization) about the 4 main marketing strategies used to target youth: scholarships, social media, music festivals/events, and flavors/packaging.

"Youth e-cigarette use remains an ongoing concern as the survey found that more than 2 million U.S. middle school and high school e-cigarette users used e-cigarettes in 2021, and almost 85 percent of youths using e-cigarettes used flavored products."

This CDC website has information about people's experiences talking to students about e-cigarettes and vaping, current research related to youth and vaping, and the resources for parents, teachers, coaches, and health care providers.

A fact sheet written by the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids that provides a summary of the research about e-cigarette use and youth, as well as the marketing strategies and public health issues related to youth.

This CDC website describes evidence related to the use of vaping products/e-cigarettes in order to quit smoking. They also include proven strategies to help quit smoking.

This Union for International Cancer Control's article discusses studies that look at the safety of vaping products/e-cigarettes, as well as their position as to whether these products should be banned.

This is an article covers topics about smoking cessation like nicotine replacement therapy, pharmacotherapy, and e-cigarettes.