MGH Guides: Nursing: Home

Students are practicing how to conduct an assessment.

Nursing Resources at the Bellack Library

This guide highlights selected nursing-related books, journals, and tools from the Bellack and Treadwell Libraries. We have also included links to high quality websites to help you with things like studying for the NCLEX and finding a job after graduation. Explore this guide and see what resources we have for you!

New & Interesting Books at Treadwell

Nursing Practice

General Practice Nursing: Foundational Principles by Deborah Duncan
ISBN: 9781910451212

Publication Date: 2019

This book gives an up-to-date overview of the GPN's responsibilities, providing relevant information about clinical skills and knowledge, health promotion and screening, and the management and assessment of long-term conditions most commonly presented in primary care.
Practice Nursing: Clinical Guidelines and Procedures in Practice by Theresa Lowry-Lehnen
ISBN: 9781999348502

Publication Date: 2018

Written by a Practice Nurse and based on local and national guidelines, this book provides a comprehensive overview and a step by step guide for nurses carrying out a wide range of clinical procedures in practice.
Empirical Nursing: The Art of Evidence-Based Care by Bernie Garrett
ISBN: 9781787438149

Publication Date: 2018-10-26

This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice.
Lippincott Visual Nursing by Debra Kantor
ISBN: 9781496381781

Publication Date: 2018-02-17

Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care.

Nursing Theories and Models

The Essence of Nursing Practice by Hesook Suzie Kim
ISBN: 9780826194282

Publication Date: 2015-03-01

This book provides an in-depth analysis of nursing practice as a concept and area of study, rather than as an aggregation of specific techniques and skills.
Primary Nursing: Person-Centered Care Delivery System Design by Susan Wessel; Marie Manthey
ISBN: 9781886624153

Publication Date: 2015-09-01

This book describes a model of care delivery that while being nearly 5 decades mature, continues to provide the highest level of person-centered care for thousands of patients and their loved ones.
Integrative Nursing by Mary Jo Kreitzer; Mary Koithan
ISBN: 9780199860739

Publication Date: 2014-02-17

This volume is the first complete roadmap to integrative nursing, providing a step-by-step guide to assess and clinically treat conditions through a variety of combined methodologies including wellness, lifestyle enhancement, and nutrition.
Foundations of Professional Nursing: Care of Self and Others by Katherine Renpenning; Susan Taylor; Judith Pickens
ISBN: 9780826133649

Publication Date: 2016-05-28

This is the first text for the Professional Nursing Practice course in RN to BSN curriculum to present a conceptual framework for contemporary nursing practice based on the science of self-care that also incorporates other nursing and multidisciplinary perspectives.
Exploring Rituals in Nursing by Zane Robinson Wolf
ISBN: 9780826196620

Publication Date: 2013-07-01

This text examines a variety of nursing rituals in the context of caring science and evidence-based practice and demonstrates how understanding and incorporation of such rituals can have a transformative effect on contemporary nursing practice.

Nursing Settings

Telehealth Nursing by Dawna Martich
ISBN: 9780826132321

Publication Date: 2016-11-28

This hands-on resource walks nurses through telehealth guidelines and procedures to optimize patient communication, perform assessments, and provide effective care of chronic conditions.
Emergency Nursing by Jeff Solheim
ISBN: 9781940446462

Publication Date: 2016-01-01

This book provides students, new nurses, and existing emergency nurses the tools and information they need to pursue and sustain a successful career in emergency healthcare.
Comprehensive Paediatric Nursing by Rajalakshmi Murugan
ISBN: 9789381159309

Publication Date: 2017

This book presents a balanced and objective description of socioeconomic and clinical problems of children and their remedies.
Home Care Nursing by Tina M. Marrelli
ISBN: 9781940446714

Publication Date: 2016-08-01

This book is a resource for understanding the challenges and complexities of home-based healthcare. Written without jargon or insider acronyms,
Palliative Care Nursing: Quality Care to the End of Life, 4th ed. by Marianne Matzo; Deborah Witt Sherman
ISBN: 9780826196354

Publication Date: 2014-04-01

This book reflects the tremendous growth of this vital discipline into the mainstream of health care and focuses on palliative care that is responsive to the demand for health care reform in America and globally.
Elder Abuse and Nursing: what nurses need to know and can do about it by Carol Miller
ISBN: 9780826131522

Publication Date: 2016-08-28

This is the only research-based and clinically oriented text that applies what is known about different forms of elder abuse in domestic and long-term care settings to the everyday experiences of practicing nurses.
Dermatologic Nursing Essentials by Noreen Heer Nicol
ISBN: 9781451188783

Publication Date: 2016-04-08

This official publication of the Dermatology Nurses' Association offers all the core essentials, from anatomy and physiology to effective treatment of a full range of skin disorders.

Community and Global Health Nursing

Health Literacy in Nursing by Terri Ann Parnell
ISBN: 9780826161727

Publication Date: 2014-07-01

This health literacy textbook provides an overview of health literacy, discusses the magnitude of the issue, and explains implications of low health literacy.
Rural Nursing: Concepts, Theory, and Practice, 4th ed. by Charlene A. Winters
ISBN: 9780826170859

Publication Date: 2013-03-01

This book allows unlimited simultaneous users.
Nursing Rural America by John C. Kirchgessner; Arlene Wynbeek Keeling
ISBN: 9780826196149

Publication Date: 2014-06-01

This book offers an interesting historical backdrop to nursing in rural parts of the US. Each of the nine chapters presents an individual case study from a different geographic area and focuses on a different ethnic population.
Global Health Nursing: Narratives From the Field by Christina A. Harlan
ISBN: 9780826121172

Publication Date: 2014-09-01

This unique book presents firsthand accounts from nurses at all professional levels, who share their life-changing experiences and insights with nurses interested in the global health arena.
Global Health Nursing: Building and Sustaining Partnerships by Michele J. Upvall; Jeanne Leffers
ISBN: 9780826118684

Publication Date: 2014-03-01

This innovative text for graduate and undergraduate nursing students fills a void in global health nursing literature by providing essential tools and strategies for building and sustaining productive international partnerships.

Nursing and Interpersonal Relationships

The Art of Communication in Nursing and Health Care: An Interdisciplinary Approach by Theresa Raphael-Grimm
ISBN: 9780826110558

Publication Date: 2014-09-01

This clear, concise guide to professional communication strategies helps nurses and other health care clinicians to build effective patient relationships and navigate a wide variety of difficult patient and professional interactions.
Mentoring in Nursing by Sheila Grossman
ISBN: 9780826107688

Publication Date: 2012-08-01

This book successfully combines scholarly work with practical, easy-to-understand advice that has appeal even beyond nursing and healthcare.
Toxic Nursing, 2nd ed. by Cheryl Dellasega; Rebecca Volpe
ISBN: 9781937554422

Publication Date: 2013-01-01

This book offers numerous concrete strategies for common employee challenges that nurse supervisors face.
Affective Teaching in Nursing by Dennis Ondrejka
ISBN: 9780826117922

Publication Date: 2013-08-01

This expert resource provides understanding on the importance of affective teaching, what it is, and how to incorporate it into the classroom.

Nursing Student Resources

Nursing: The Ultimate Study Guide, 2nd ed. by Nadia R. Singh
ISBN: 9780826130228

Publication Date: 2015-07-20

This is the ultimate, all-in-one study guide to the core information nursing students need for success in all of their foundational courses.
Nursing: A QuickStudy Laminated Reference Guide by Jill E. Winland-Brown; Julie Henry; Vincent Perez
ISBN: 9781423221616

Publication Date: 2013-12-31

This reference provides thorough coverage of general nursing duties, including analysis and assessment techniques.

Books in the Bellack Library

Check out the following books in the Bellack Library collection!

Community Health and Diversity

Health Promotion for Nurses by Karen K. Paraska; Carolyn Chambers Clark
Call Number: COM HEAP HEAL

Publication Date: 2012
Cultural, Ethnic, and Religious Reference Manual for Healthcare Providers, 4th ed. by Janice D. Andrews
Call Number: DIV CULHU HEAPRO

Publication Date: 2013
Seeing patients unconscious bias in health care by Augustus A. White & David Chanoff
Call Number: DIV CULHU SEEING

ISBN: 9780674049055

Publication Date: 2011-01-15
American Indian Health and Nursing by Margaret P. Moss
Publication Date: 2016

Nursing Practice

Nurses' Guide to Teaching Diabetes Self-Management, 2nd ed. by Rita G. Mertig
Call Number: CHR DIAB NURS

Publication Date: 2012
Focus on Adult Health by Linda Honan Pellico
Call Number: NURSE PRAC MED SURG FOCUS

ISBN: 9781582558776

Publication Date: 2012-02-10

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.
Managing and Coordinating Nursing Care by Janice Rider Ellis; Celia Love Hartley
Call Number: NURS PRAC ADMIN MANAG

ISBN: 9780781774109

Publication Date: 2008-12-30

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.
Nursing leadership and management: theories, processes, and practice by Rebecca A. Patronis Jones
Call Number: NURS PRAC ADMIN NURS LEAD

ISBN: 0803613628

Publication Date: 2007-02-19

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.
Fundamentals of Nursing, 11th ed. by Patricia A. Potter; Anne Griffin Perry; Patricia A. Stockert; Amy Hall
Call Number: NURS PRAC CLININCAL FUNDAMENT

ISBN: 9780323810340

Publication Date: 2022

Find this book on the Course Reserves bookshelf in Bellack Library
OB/GYN and Peds Notes by Cheryl Moredich; Kathie Aduddell; Brenda Walters Holloway
Call Number: NURS PRAC NOTES OBGYN PEDS

ISBN: 0803623321

Publication Date: 2010-11-04

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.
Palliative care nursing: Caring for suffering patients by Mertie L. Potter; Caryn A. Sheehan; Mary K. Kazanowski; Kathleen Ouimet Perrin
Call Number: NURS PRAC PALL PALL

ISBN: 9780763773847

Publication Date: 2011-01-20

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.

Nursing Studies and Theories

Pathophysiology: the biologic basis for disease in adults and children, 8th ed. by Kathryn L. McCance; Sue E. Huether
Call Number: NURS PRAC PATHO UNDERST

ISBN: 9780323402811

Publication Date: 2018-02-01

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.
Educating Nurses by Patricia Benner; Molly Sutphen; Victoria Leonard; Lisa Day; Lee S. Shulman (Foreword by)
Call Number: NURS STUD ED EDUCATING

ISBN: 9780470457962

Publication Date: 2009-12-09

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.
Case Studies in Nursing Ethics by Sara T. Fry; Robert M. Veatch; Carol R. Taylor
Call Number: NURS STUD ETHICS CASE

ISBN: 9780763780319

Publication Date: 2010-08-20
A History of Nursing Ideas by Linda C. Andrist; Patrice K. Nicholas; Karen Anne Wolf
Call Number: NURS STUD HIS AHIST

ISBN: 0763722898

Publication Date: 2005-10-12

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.
Nursing, the Finest Art by M. Patricia Donahue
Call Number: NURS STUD HIS FINEST

ISBN: 9780323053051

Publication Date: 2010-03-12

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.
Ninth Street Notebook by Veneta Masson
Call Number: NURS STUD MEMOIR NINTH

ISBN: 0967368812

Publication Date: 2001-02-01

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.
Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care, 10th ed. [print] by Jacqueline Burchum; Laura Rosenthal
Call Number: NURS STUD PHARMA PHARMA

ISBN: 9780323512275

Publication Date: 2018-04-05

Find this book on the Course Reserves bookshelf in the Bellack Library.
Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 9th ed. by Martha Raile Alligood
Call Number: NURS STUD THEOR NURSTHEOR

ISBN: 9780323402248

Publication Date: 2017-08-15

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.

Physical Fitness & Wellbeing

Self-Care for New and Student Nurses by Dorrie Fontaine; Tim Cunningham; Natalie May
Call Number: MEH STR SELF

ISBN: 9781948057813

Publication Date: 2021-04-01

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.
Yoga for Nurses by Ingrid Kollak
Call Number: PHY FIT YOGA

ISBN: 9780826138323

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.

Nursing Policy

Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health Care by Diana J. Mason; Judith K. Leavitt; Mary W. Chaffee
Call Number: POLICY NURS POLPOL

ISBN: 9781437714166

Publication Date: 2011-02-08

Find this book on the Bellack Library shelves.

Nursing

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

Nursing Resources at the Bellack Library

New & Interesting Books at Treadwell

Nursing Practice

Nursing Theories and Models

Nursing Settings

Community and Global Health Nursing

Nursing and Interpersonal Relationships

Nursing Student Resources

Books in the Bellack Library

Community Health and Diversity

Nursing Practice

Nursing Studies and Theories

Physical Fitness & Wellbeing

Nursing Policy