MGH Guides: Nursing: Find Articles

Nursing Journals

Popular Nursing Journals at Bellack Library

Discipline Based Databases

Discipline Based Databases

Most databases in Academic Libraries are "discipline based," meaning they specialize in the literature from a specific discipline. The features in these databases can be especially helpful when you need to create complex searches for a more comprehensive literature searches.

PubMed
Includes increased access to full text via MGH Treadwell library and Bellack library. Try our link before Googling PubMed. PubMed includes Medline as well as more life sciences journal and book citations.

Ovid Medline
Medline represents the creme de la creme of health sciences literature, and although it is part of PubMed, some people prefer to search it separately.

CINAHL
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature can be a great supplement to PubMed for health professions literature. It contains a combination of both scholarly research articles as well as articles from trade publications.

PsycINFO
Created by the American Psychological Association, it is the premier database for psychological, behavioral, and developmental topics.

ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center is the premier database for educational literature. Good for information about school based interventions but also useful for information about school aged children, in general.

Systematic Reviews and Research Summaries

Looking for help with Clinical Decision Making? Try these databases.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Provides reviews of research on interventions in health care to provide evidence for clinical care protocols.
Up-to-Date
Available on the Partners Network Only
Research reports that answer clinical questions.
EPC Evidence Reports
from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality