MPAS Capstone

Discipline Based Databases

Most databases in Academic Libraries are "discipline based," meaning they specialize in the literature from a specific discipline.  The features in these databases can be especially helpful when you need to create complex searches for a more comprehensive literature searches.

Database Tutorials

If you are unfamiliar with the databases available through the library, we recommend watching video tutorials to see the basics of how they work. The links below will take you to tutorials for the three major databases. That said, librarians are also available to help you make sense of these tools. Just ask us!

Modifying an Unsuccessful Search

If you aren't happy with the list of articles your search brings back, here are some ways you might think about changing your search.

Too many articles / Articles aren't on topic

• Make your topic more specific. You could add words, using the AND connector, to describe the:
  • population
  • setting
  • treatment or intervention
  • outcome
• Make the ideas within your topic more specific. For example:
  • "women" becomes "women over 50"
  • "analgesic" becomes "opioid"
  • "recovery" becomes "length of stay"

Too few articles

• Make your topic less specific:
  • focus on the core ideas (remove unnecessary details)
  • choose less specific terms ("exercise therapy" becomes "exercise")
• Look for different search words:
  • brainstorm synonyms (e.g. "length of stay" = "hospital stay") or different forms of a word (e.g. therapy, therapies, therapeutic) and then use the OR connector to add them to your search.
  • scan abstracts and subject headings to find out which words authors and databases are using to describe your topic.

Photo by Anant Nath Sharma, used with permission under a Creative Commons license

Your Search Worked, Now What?

Congratulations, you found some useful articles that you think you may want to reference in the future. What do you do with what you've found?

Some people print out copies of articles or at least save them to their computers to circle back to at some point. Or maybe they end up lost in your downloads folder, or in your Google or One drives.

It might be better to use a citation manager or reference manager tool to keep track of these things. At the library, we recommend using Zotero, a free citation management tool that easily and accurately imports items directly from the web.

Here are 5 reasons you should use Zotero to help streamline your research process:

1. Efficient Organization of Sources: Zotero helps you collect, organize, and store all your research materials in one place. You can create folders for different projects, assign tags to articles, and keep everything well-organized. This means you can quickly locate any article, book, or study without wasting time searching through countless files or databases.
2. Automatic Citation Generation: Zotero automatically generates citations and bibliographies in various styles (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago, AMA). As you collect references, Zotero can instantly format them for use in your papers or presentations. This saves you time and ensures that your citations are consistently formatted without the risk of errors.
3. Seamless Integration with Word Processors: Zotero integrates directly with Word and Google Docs, allowing you to easily insert citations into your papers while you write. As you add references, Zotero updates your bibliography in real time. This integration eliminates the hassle of manually formatting citations and ensures accuracy as you work.
4. Cloud Storage and Access Anywhere: Zotero syncs your library to the cloud, meaning your research materials are accessible from any device with an internet connection. Whether you're working from home, the library, or on a clinical rotation, you can access your sources anytime, anywhere—ensuring you're never caught without the resources you need for your assignments or research projects.
5. Improved Time Management with Quick Citations and Notes: Zotero lets you quickly capture citation information from online sources (such as PubMed or academic journal websites) with a simple browser extension. You can also add personal notes to each citation to highlight key information or summarize articles. This feature allows you to efficiently track important ideas or findings for future reference, saving you time when writing papers or preparing for exams. No more flipping through multiple sources to remember why you saved them—everything is right at your fingertips with a few clicks!
6. *Bonus!* Collaborative Research: Zotero allows you to create shared libraries with peers, making it easier to collaborate on research projects. You can share folders, discuss articles, and contribute to a collective library of sources. This feature is especially useful for group projects or when working with other healthcare professionals on a clinical research study.

Ready to Get Started?

Use the links below to check out our Zotero Guide to get started or jump to our Ask a Librarian page to request a one-on-one call with one of our librarians.