Skip to Main Content
site header image

Zotero Complete Guide

Exporting Search Results From Various Library Databases

Do you want to export the entire list of results from a library database? If so, follow these simple instructions below.

CINAHL/EBSCO-based Databases

With the new interface for EBSCO resources, the process for exporting results has changed.

  1. Perform your search and add on any filters (like publication year, full text, etc).
  2. In the top left of the search section, you will select the checkbox drop down menu. You may see a hint from EBSCO that you can select multiple results at once by checking the box.
    A screenshot from the CINAHL database search results. In the top left, a pop up hint says 'Select multiple results by checking this box, through the drop down, or by checking the box next to multiple results to bulk cite, save, and more' with a button that says Got it
  3. At this point, either select the articles you are interested in and then select the drop down, or just go ahead and select "Export Results (up to 25,000) to export the entire results list.
    A screenshot from the CINAHL database search results. In the top left, a dropdown box has a blue arrow pointing at it with a line under the text 'Export Results (up to 25,000)
  4. You will be prompted to log in with your myEBSCO account. It is free to set up.
  5. On the Export Results page, enter your email address in the "Email to" space, and be sure to select the button for "RIS Format". Hit Send.
    Screenshot of the EBSCOhost Export Results page
  6. Your email may take a bit to inbox, but you should receive an email from support@ebsco.com titled, "EBSCOhost Record Export" Click on the link to download the file. It will likely come in a ZIP compressed file. You want to extract the file using your file browser. You can rename this file to help keep your Zotero organized; but be sure to not accidentally change the file ending.
    Cropped screenshot of the automated email that you will receive from EBSCOhost Record Export
  7. From there, you can import the results to Zotero.

Select the link below to access CINAHL

PubMed

  1. Perform your search and add on any filters (like publication year, full text, etc).
  2. Select "Send to" button under the search bar. From there, select the last option, "Citation Manager."
    Screenshot of the search results page on PubMed. There are two blue circles highlighting important areas on the screen. One is over the 'Send to' button under the search bar and the other is over the 'Citation Manager' menu option.
  3. In the little pop up, change the drop down Selection option to "All Results." Select Create file. An .nbib file will download to your computer.
    Screenshot of the Selection option for the file type. There is a blue circle highlighting that it should show 'All Results'
  4. Again, you can rename the file to help keep things organized, but be sure not to accidentally change the file ending.
  5. From there, you can import the results to Zotero.

Select the link below to access PubMed

APA PsycInfo, Cochrane, and Ovid Nursing

  1. Perform your search and add on any filters (like publication year, full text, etc).
  2. After the search results appear, select the all button to automatically select all relevant articles. Once selected, click on the Export button at the top right.
    Screenshot from Ovid Nursing, with a blue circle highlighting the 'All' checkbox on the left side of the screen and a blue circle highlighting the export button on the right.
  3. At the top of the search section, choose "Export," a side panel should pop up from the right of the screen, telling you how many results you are going to be exporting. If you have a filter on, it may show a strange range of articles being included, that's ok! Change your format to RIS and make sure to include the citation and abstract in your export fields; alternatively, you can change it to complete reference; either way. Do include the link to external resolver and URL.
    Screenshot of the Export citations option from Ovid Nursing. There are two highlights on the screen. One over the Format drop down with a note that says 'This should be changed to RIS, if its not selected already' and the other highlight is over the Fields drop down, with a note that says, 'This can stay as is, or be changed to Complete Reference'
  4. Now select export, a file will download. Again, you can rename the file to help keep things organized, but be sure not to accidentally change the file ending.
  5. From there, you can import the results to Zotero.

Select the link below to access Ovid Nursing