The Janis P. Bellack Library & Study Commons, named for the Institute's 5th President, is located on the entire top floor of Building 38 on 3rd Avenue – one street away from the school's Catherine Filene Shouse main academic building on 1st Avenue in the Charlestown Navy Yard. The Commons has 9,000 square feet where students can study and learn in an interprofessional environment.
The Library features a room for quiet study and a collaborative space for group learning. The library collection includes access to thousands of electronic journals and books and a community health collection that includes anatomical models and patient education materials. Institute librarians are on hand to help students access the electronic collection of the Treadwell Library at Massachusetts General Hospital.
See our virtual tour of the Janis P. Bellack Library and Study Commons.
Our collaborative study space is great for working in teams or for group study. We also have several large monitors you can connect your laptop to and project your screen for others to see your ideas, presentations, and more. Feel free to use the dry-erase markers to write directly on the wall to help you organize information, practice recall, or map out bigger concepts.
Please continue to wear your mask while in this space. We ask you to refrain from eating and drinking here, but you may eat or drink socially distanced in the quiet study room.
Our quiet study room is ideal for independent study. You may also eat and/or drink in this room as long as you are socially distanced from others.
The Community Health Collection contains resources that support health promotion projects and community health outreach programs. Subjects covered include:
In addition to 1000+ books, the collection has
The collection is located on the 4th floor of Building 38 on 3rd Avenue in the Charlestown Navy Yard. It is only accessible by ID badge. For more information about visiting and using the collection, please see the Community Health Collection page of our website
If you need help finding resources Ask a Librarian.
For Mac users, please download this software add-on first before downloading the drivers.
Then, you can navigate to the printer drivers page and download the correct driver depending on your operating system.
Log in to the printer using your MGB credentials and you should be good to go.
If you continue to have trouble, open a help desk ticket with IT.
