Occupational Therapy

Selecting a Search Engine

You have many choices for where to search for articles.  Here's a guide to some of the search engines that might be helpful to you.

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is the database with the best coverage of occupational therapy journals. It contains a combination of both scholarly research articles as well as articles from trade publications.  Need help with searching?

The place every health professional and medical research goes to find literature.  It includes Medline as well as more life sciences journal and book citations.  This version will also link directly to Treadwell Library's eJournal subscriptions.  Need help with searching?

The Education Resources Information Center is the premier database for educational literature.  Good for information about school based interventions but also useful for information about school aged children, in general.

Created by the American Psychogical Association, it is the premier database for psychology literature. That includes mental health but also behavioral, cognitive, and developmental psychology. Need help with searching?

This database includes the premier sociology database, Sociological Abstracts, plus a bunch more. Use this database when you are looking for evidence on topics related to the social causes and consequences of human behavior.

Just as the title states, this is a database comprised entirely of full-text systematic reviews.  They are all created specifically for this collection and have not been published in journals.  These systematic reviews are considered to be of a very high standard.

A great place to start your search and to find articles across a wide range of disciplines, especially if your topic is interdisciplinary in nature or has aspects of a discipline not well represented by the other databases on this list (e.g. architecture, engineering, etc.).