MGH Guides: Latinx and Hispanic Health Resources: Providing Healthcare to Latinx/Hispanic Patients

Providing Healthcare to Latinx/Hispanic Patients

Latinx communities in the United States face significant health disparities that stem from a variety of structural, social, and economic factors. Barriers such as limited access to healthcare, language differences, and the social determinants of health, including poverty, housing instability, and food insecurity, disproportionately affect Latinx individuals. Additionally, chronic health conditions like diabetes and hypertension are more prevalent in these communities, often exacerbated by inadequate healthcare access and culturally insensitive care. Understanding these inequities is crucial for healthcare practitioners to deliver more inclusive, compassionate, and effective care, while also addressing the root causes of health disparities.

Social determinants of health (SDOH) also play a pivotal role in affecting health, functioning, and quality of life outcomes and risks (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, n.d.). The 5 domains outlined by the US Department of Health and Human Services are:

Economic stability, which covers topics like food insecurity and poverty.
Education access and quality, which covers topics like language and literacy and high school graduation rates.
Health care access and quality, which covers topics like access to primary care and health literacy.
Neighborhood and built environment, which covers topics like access to foods that support a healthy diet and crime and violence rates.
Social and community context, which covers topics like incarceration and discrimination.

We’ve broken the most common health inequities into different sections, focusing on dermatology, chronic health issues, infectious disease, parental health, and mental health. The articles, videos, and links on the following pages are great places to start to get an idea of many of the most common health inequities faced by Latinx/Hispanic patients.

Welcome to Tabbed Content!

This guide uses tabs to organize content. Follow the instructions below on how to navigate using tabs.

Browse by Category: Click on any of the tabs above to view links categorized by type.
Switch Between Tabs: Simply click on a different tab to explore other categories. The content for each category will appear directly below.
Find What You Need: Each tab contains resources relevant to its category, making it easier for you to find specific types of information.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to one of our librarians!

Use the links below to jump to a specific topic:

Advocacy for the Latinx Community

National Alliance for Hispanic Health
"Today, the National Alliance for Hispanic Health is the premier science-based and community-driven organization that focuses on the best health for all. Community-based members provide services to more than 15 million Hispanics throughout the U.S. every year and national organization members provide services to more than 100 million people annually."
UnidosUS
Formerly, The National Council of La Raza. "Since 1968, we’ve served the Hispanic community through our research, policy analysis, and state and national advocacy efforts, as well as in our program work in communities nationwide and through our network of over 300 affiliates across the country."

Books in Our Collection

Caring for and Understanding Latinx Patients in Health Care Settings by Laura Maria Pigozzi; Teddie M. Potter (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781785928093
Publication Date: 2020-08-21
This concise and instructive guide outlines the specific challenges faced by the Latinx population in US health care, including language barriers, unfamiliarity with the medical system, lack of insurance, access issues, monetary factors, and most importantly the fears surrounding undocumented immigrants. It shows how health care professionals and chaplains can support and care for this population in a way that acknowledges and understands the distinct characteristics of Latinx culture. It offers advice on sensitives within this culture, such as health disparities, the importance of the family, and spirituality and religion in Latinx culture. This inclusive guide improves cultural competency among non-Latinx care staff and offers case studies and practical tips to input straight into practice.
Cultural, Ethnic, and Religious Reference Manual for Healthcare Providers, 4th ed. by Janice D. Andrews
Call Number: DIV CULHU HEAPRO
Publication Date: 2013
The contents of each chapter provide the reader with a quick overview of relative cultural norms, common health beliefs and practices, kinship factors, etc. while reminding the reader that each individual is unique and diverse in the practices of their culture or religion.
Health Issues in the Latino Community by Marilyn Aguirre-Molina; Ruth Enid Zambrana; Carlos W. Molina
Call Number: DIV MUL HEAISS
ISBN: 0787953156
Publication Date: 2001-05-07
Sweeping in scope, Health Issues in the Latino Community identifies and offers an in-depth examination of the most critical health issues that affect Latino's health and health care within the United States. This resource offers a comprehensive approach that informs and promotes the advancement of the practice, program planning, research, and public policy to improve health care of all Latino citizens.
Latina health in the United States: A public health reader by Marilyn Aguirre-Molina (Editor); Carlos W. Molina (Editor)
Call Number: DIV MUL LATHEA
ISBN: 0787965790
Publication Date: 2003-09-29
Latina Health in the United States identifies and offers anin-depth examination of the most critical health issues that affectLatinas' health and health care within the United States. In thiscomprehensive resource, the contributors examine a wide variety oftopics that address Latina women's health concerns such as sexualand reproductive health issues; chronic conditions such as heartdisease, cancer, and diabetes; the impact of alcohol, tobacco, andother drugs; mental health issues; adolescent health; and rural andmigrant occupational health. Latina Health in the UnitedStates is a unique guide to the health and well-being of thewomen in our country's fastest growing population.
Minority populations and health: An introduction to health disparities in the United States, 1st ed. by Thomas A. LaVeist
Call Number: DIV MUL MINPOP
ISBN: 0787964131
Publication Date: 2005-04-11
"Minority Populations and Health is a textbook that offers a complete foundation in the core issues and theoretical frameworks for the development of policy and interventions to address race disparities in health-related outcomes. This book covers U.S. health and social policy, the role of race and ethnicity in health research, social factors contributing to mortality, longevity and life expectancy, quantitative and demographic analysis and access, and utilization of health services."
Salud: A latina's guide to total health by Jane L. Delgado; National Hispanic Women's Health Initiative Staff
Call Number: PHY WELL SALUD
ISBN: 0060006218
Publication Date: 2002-02-01
Drawing on the latest research, this updated health handbook offers detailed information and advice on the specific medical issues and concerns of Hispanic women, furnishing timely facts on the treatment of HIV/AIDS, expanded data on assisted living and nursing home options, and a host of new resources and webpages.
Seeing patients unconscious bias in health care by Augustus A. White & David Chanoff
Call Number: DIV CULHU SEEING
ISBN: 9780674049055
Publication Date: 2011-01-15
This book brings together insights from the worlds of social psychology, neuroscience, and clinical practice to define the issues clearly and, most importantly, to outline a concrete approach to fixing this fundamental inequity in the delivery of health care.
Cocinando para Latinos con Diabetes (Cooking for Latinos with Diabetes) by Olga Fusté
ISBN: 9781580402941
Publication Date: 2012-01-24
People often think diabetes meal plans mean bland, tasteless foods and tiny portions. But did you know that you can still eat tasty dishes from classic Latino cuisine? Enjoy traditional meals from all over Latin America with Diabetic Cooking for Latinos.
Naturally Healthy Mexican Cooking by Jim Peyton
Call Number: PHY NUT MEX
ISBN: 9780292745490
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
In Naturally Healthy Mexican Cooking, Jim Peyton presents easy-to-prepare recipes that have exceptional nutrition profiles and taste delicious. You'll find tasty, highly nutritious, low-calorie dishes from the various schools of Mexican and Mexican American cooking.

Databases

LILACS
(Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature)
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
Searching in English, Spanish and Portuguese in journal collections primarily from Central and South America.

Nonprofit/Educational Resources

The following is a collection of websites and articles that provide an insight into some of the general health issues that can be found in the Latinx/Hispanic community. These typically look at things on a higher level, while the other sections of this guide will go more into details about specific health concerns.

Hispanic Americans’ experiences with health care
Hispanic Americans face a number of challenges when it comes to access to health care and medical treatments. Overall, Hispanic adults are less likely than other Americans to have health insurance and to receive preventative medical care. Language and cultural barriers, as well as factors such as higher levels of poverty, particularly among recent Hispanic immigrants, are among the social and economic dynamics that contribute to disparate health outcomes for Hispanic Americans.

Scholarly Articles

The following is a collection of articles that provide an insight into some of the general health issues that can be found in the Latinx/Hispanic community. These typically look at things on a higher level, while the other sections of this guide will go more into details about specific health concerns.

Fractures by race and ethnicity in a diverse sample of postmenopausal women: A current evaluation among Hispanic and Asian origin groups
"Compared to White women, Black, Pacific Islander, Asian, and multiracial women had significantly lower risk of any clinical and major osteoporotic fractures (MOFs); while only Black and Asian women had significantly lower hip fracture risk when compared to White women. Within Asian women, Filipina women had 24% lower risk of any clinical fracture compared to Japanese women. Hispanic women had significantly lower risk of any clinical, hip, and MOF fractures compared to non-Hispanic women, with no differences in fracture risk observed within Hispanic women. In this diverse sample of postmenopausal women, we confirmed racial and ethnic differences in fracture rates and risk, with novel findings among Pacific Islander women and within Asian and Hispanic subgroups."
Perceptions of and beliefs about stuttering in the Hispanic/Latino community
Common beliefs and perceptions relative to stuttering were identified in the Hispanic/Latino community. The beliefs one holds about the cause of stuttering as well as their negative perceptions of stutterers may contribute to the continued stigmatization of people who stutter. Implications are discussed regarding the need for culturally appropriate education for individuals who stutter, their families, and the general public.
Getting Data Right — and Righteous to Improve Hispanic or Latino Health
There are strong ethical and scientific reasons for such expansion of data collection by public health entities. First, expand data elements can help identify otherwise hidden Hispanic subpopulations’ health disparities. This may promote a more just and equitable distribution of health resources to underserved populations. Second, language access is needed to ensure fair and legal treatment of LEP individuals in federally supported data collection activities. Finally, these strategies are likely to improve the quality and representativeness of data needed to monitor and address the health of all Latino/Hispanic populations in the United States.